We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional country style food”
Review of Papacqua

Papacqua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: restaurant, wine bar, snacks, culture, Music, Tobacco.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Traditional country style food”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We came across this restaurant totally by accident driving the back roads between the coast and Volterra. The external appearance is very " rural village " and we were unsure what we would find on the inside-but it turned out to be very nice. The staff made us welcome and we had a very tasty basic, typically local meal. We were not offered a written menu,the food of the day was given verbally so it was a bit of fun figuring out what was on offer, but it was all done with good humour.
The only note of caution is beware of the toilet...apart from the pictures on the wall-it is of the squat ( hole in the ground )variety...but that is a minor inconvenience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geebee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    74
    11
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good, very traditional, but limited menu”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice traditional Tuscan restaurant. Small, not at all pretentious, and the food is excellent. But th menu is limited, and is heavy on meat dishes. So vegetarians have little choice. But the place is friendly, and the food is great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in Castellina for a long time and had the chance to have dinner at Papacqua many times.
I can say it's the best in the region, with fresh food, good wine, fantastic staff (Tatiana is a special young lady!)!
We went to one special night with live music and candles. It was one of the most special nights in my life! The couple sang many tipical italian songs which really moved me.
Dario and his father are fantastic people who will welcome you at any time.
I definitely recommend!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Thought this would be a basic bar but had a marvellous meal with good wine and excellent service. Staff happy to translate menu into English. We were made to feel very welcome.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rjhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papacqua also viewed

Castellina Marittima, Province of Pisa
Castellina Marittima, Province of Pisa
 
Castellina Marittima, Province of Pisa
 
Santa Luce, Province of Pisa
Riparbella, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Papacqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing