We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Traditional country style food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papacqua

Papacqua
Price range: $11 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: restaurant, wine bar, snacks, culture, Music, Tobacco.
Sydney
Level Contributor
166 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Traditional country style food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We came across this restaurant totally by accident driving the back roads between the coast and Volterra. The external appearance is very " rural village " and we were unsure what we would find on the inside-but it turned out to be very nice. The staff made us welcome and we had a very tasty basic, typically local meal. We were not offered a written menu,the food of the day was given verbally so it was a bit of fun figuring out what was on offer, but it was all done with good humour.
The only note of caution is beware of the toilet...apart from the pictures on the wall-it is of the squat ( hole in the ground )variety...but that is a minor inconvenience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geebee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    66
    12
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good, very traditional, but limited menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice traditional Tuscan restaurant. Small, not at all pretentious, and the food is excellent. But th menu is limited, and is heavy on meat dishes. So vegetarians have little choice. But the place is friendly, and the food is great.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in Castellina for a long time and had the chance to have dinner at Papacqua many times.
I can say it's the best in the region, with fresh food, good wine, fantastic staff (Tatiana is a special young lady!)!
We went to one special night with live music and candles. It was one of the most special nights in my life! The couple sang many tipical italian songs which really moved me.
Dario and his father are fantastic people who will welcome you at any time.
I definitely recommend!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mtomasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Thought this would be a basic bar but had a marvellous meal with good wine and excellent service. Staff happy to translate menu into English. We were made to feel very welcome.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rjhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papacqua also viewed

Castellina Marittima, Province of Pisa
Castellina Marittima, Province of Pisa
 
Castellina Marittima, Province of Pisa
 
Santa Luce, Province of Pisa
Castellina Marittima, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Papacqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing