We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not for the discerning”
Review of Girona Aeropuerto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Girona Aeropuerto
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Definitely not for the discerning”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I cannot believe most guests seem to think this is the "perfect place for a stopover". I would rate it between poor and average, and mark it up to average overall because there are a few positives and I don't want to be unkind to the staff, who are very nice (apart from the man I spoke to regarding a wake up call!) I suppose it depends on the sort of hotels you tend to stay in. In my opinion, this is an adequate place to rest your head if you really have to stay somewhere near Girona airport in order to catch an early plane. I certainly wouldn't like to stay here on my honeymoon.

The plus sides are as follows: the approach to the hotel is pleasant - nicely cared-for gardens and a good sized outdoor swimming pool at the rear. There is very little airport noise, even with the train running close by. First impressions are good, but unfortunately the positive impression does not last too long.

The rooms are of a good size and have a separate lavatory to the bathroom. Unfortunately that's about where the pluses end - I can honestly say this loo did not smell clean at and I was very squeamish about using it. While the communal areas of the hotel are pleasant enough, the room itself was very institutional feeling, with a long desk area which was more like a room at a boarding school than a hotel. Contrary to what was advertised, there were no tea and coffee facilities in the room and these did not seem to be offered in the room service menu (which was expensive, I thought) either.

On to the quality of sleep. Well, the big minus for me was the square pillows. If you are more a normal sized person, the bed simply becomes too short as you shuffle down the bed to get to the right part of the pillow to be comfortable! Also there was only one sheet on the bed and when I went to find additional bedding, the blanket (which would have been the thing to choose, weight-wise) smelt HORRIBLE so I had to go for a winter duvet, which meant I baked all night long. This did not have a cover on, so I was reluctant to put it on the bed as I wasn't sure how hygienic it would be. Disappointing, as it is September and nights can get chilly in Girona province. But the most annoying thing about the room is the fact that there are two lights positioned directly above the bed, which flash every SECOND - presumably smoke alarms - and really, honestly, they are intrusive, even when you have your eyes closed. I'm all for safety, but this is really annoying and really did keep me awake, which was not part of the plan!

The hotel is a few minutes' drive from the airport and all the staff I came into contact with were polite and friendly. The shuttle bus did seem to be free, although there were rumours of charges. This runs every half hour and was very prompt.

I did not have experience of breakfast, so can't comment, but overall I'm not sure I would choose to stay here again. It wasn't bad value for money, but they need to clean the bedding and bathrooms much more thoroughly. And make sure that they deliver what they are actually advertising.

Room Tip: The separate loo in Room 108 smells unpleasant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    159
    63
    23
    11
See reviews for
153
100
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
242 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

One of the worst 4-star hotel i have been.
They renovated the lobby to make the entrance look good, but the rooms are very old.
The sheets feel so dirty. The drainage in the WC smelled awful, the carpet floors were very dirty, the staff had attitude and horrible manners. The breakfast wasnt bad, but after a night sleeping on smelly sheets, it didnt felt so good.
Now the pool area wasnt bad and the location near the airport of girona, but still, i would rather spend a night in the airport than this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelos_Christou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0503GM, General Manager at Girona Aeropuerto, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por comentar sobre nuestro hotel ,
Realmente siento mucho que su experiencia en nuestro hotel fue tan mala como lo comenta ,
Tomo nota de toso sus comentario ya que estoy muy preocupado por la calidad de servicio y el bien estar de mis clientes,
Esperando poder recibirle de nuevo en nuestro hotel
Cordialmente
B. Larroque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. The location itself is pretty remote but the shuttle bus from the airport was ideal. Facilities were basic but we found the hotel to be clean and the staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMODNET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0503GM, General Manager at Girona Aeropuerto, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por comentar sobre nuestro hotel ,
Esperando poder recibirle de nuevo en Girona
Cordialmente
B. Larroque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a great hotel if you are looking for peace and quiet, it also has a pool and a life guard. The hotel was never overcrowded and very professional service at all times, there is a free shuttle service to pick up and drop off to the airport during check in and check out. The location is very close to the airport but you cannot hear any air plane noise at all in the hotel, it has no local amenities or shops so you arrange for the hotel to drop you at the bus station at the airport where from you can then commute to other areas. Service was excellent especially Adrian on reception who was very accommodating all the time and very professional

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dghhkkll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
0503GM, General Manager at Girona Aeropuerto, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por comentar sobre nuestro hotel ,
Esperando poder recibirle de nuevo en Girona
Cordialmente
B. Larroque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I booked this hotel after a lot of research. We needed to transfer to Barcelona the next morning so we booked it because of the free shuttle bus to and from the airport, which would allow us to get back to the airport in the morning.
When we arrived at Girona airport, there was another family ahead of us who had requested the airport transfer so we had to wait a while. The profuse apologies of the driver and his friendliness were the only reason I gave this a 'poor' rather than a 'terrible'.
When we went to check in, we had to wait for at least 15 minutes before we were seen to. When we gave our names, we were told "Ah, there is a big problem" and then nothing else as the receptionist (also our transfer driver) typed on the computer.

We were then told that the hotel was overbooked and there was no room for us to stay there.

I had booked directly with the hotel so they had my email and contact. In this day of internet, there is no excuse for not contacting us before our arrival.

The hotel did arrange another hotel for us, in the centre of Girona. However, this was more stressful as we had to rearrange plans. Fortunately, the replacement hotel had wifi which allowed us to do some research and we were able to get a train to Barcelona the next day.

So, poor communication, poor service at the desk, but one extra star for the hotel managing to arrange us alternative accommodation.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScottishTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here on July 30 2013, I booked two rooms. I had mistakenly entered the incorrect date on one of the bookings. The receptionist was amazing she sorted the problem( which was entirely my fault) and even provided us with adjoining rooms. This positive attitude continued with all staff we encountered , the pool, the excellent restaurant , the shuttle bus service. This was the first night of a three week stay in Spain and it created a super first impression. This is an airport hotel with great customer care.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

+ cosy, elegant and quite atmosphere, automatic vendors in the hallway with a variety of products, really nicely decorated common areas, superb food, kids menu more than satisfying, bowls with water and food for the dogs, very well maintained lawn, not embarassed to share their disadvantages(a leaflet in each room warning you about a plague of flies and ants that has benn taken care of), individual brass teapots for your tea in the breakfast counter along with local delicacies, no aeroplane noise.
- although it is pet friendly, they did not specify, in the initial agreement, the extra amount that charged us for our dog (10 euros for a 6kg dog, fair enough). The parking area is outdoors, which means that you might get a bit anxious if you have a fully loaded car, like we did, parked in the open, although it seemed quite safe. The room was packed with beds, but for 80 euros we all got our own individual bed (I don;t know how much they charge the family room they advertise)

Room Tip: the ones on ground level really give you the impression you are staying in a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justmefoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riudellots de la Selva
0.2 mi away
Salles Hotel Aeroport Girona
Salles Hotel Aeroport Girona
#1 of 3 in Riudellots de la Selva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vilobi
Hotel Vilobi
#1 of 1 in Vilobi d'Onyar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
4.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Girona 3
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
#2 of 20 in Girona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eden Park Hotel
Eden Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Riudellots de la Selva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.4 mi away
Melia Girona
Melia Girona
#5 of 20 in Girona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Girona Aeropuerto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girona Aeropuerto

Property: Girona Aeropuerto
Address: Autopista A7, Salida 8, 17457 Riudellots de la Selva, Spain (Formerly Novotel Girona Aeropuerto)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Riudellots de la Selva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Riudellots de la Selva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Girona Aeropuerto 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Girona Aeropuerto is located close to Girona Airport, 12 km from the centre of Girona, only 30 minutes from the famous Costa Brava and 45 minutes from Barcelona and the French border. This 4 star hotel is ideal for business and leisure travel, featuring 81 rooms, a restaurant, bar, an events room, terrace area and a recently renovated swimming pool. Free secure outdoor parking. Free shuttle service to and from the airport (phone 972477100 to request this service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Girona Aeropuerto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Girona Aeropuerto Hotel Riudellots De La Selva
Novotel Hotel Girona Aeropuerto
Girona Aeropuerto Novotel
Riudellots De La Selva Novotel
Girona Aeropuerto Province Of Girona/Riudellots De La Selva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing