We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stop travelling through Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ciudad de Burgos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rubena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were travelling from France to Portugal and had an overnight stop in this hotel. We had stayed before and were pleased to remember exactly where it was - on the AP1 about an hour over the Spanish border. Reception welcoming, room clean and roomy. Restaurant was very good, with a good choice of local wines and a 10% discount given on meal. Discount vouchers were also given at check out valuable for one year so we stayed again on our way back. This time there were three coaches of retired people but they were catered for in a different part of the hotel so no problem finidng a table in the restaurant. Garage or monitored parking.

Room Tip: Most rooms have twin beds so worth asking if a double bed is preferred. Close to motorway but no noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 275 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Santander. The hotel is clean, quite comfortable & conveniently placed next to the A1 motorway (Km 251 from Burgos to Vittoria or AP1 junction 2). Despite being so close to the motorway, our room was relatively quiet. Large single beds with bolster pillows (I'm sure normal pillows could be requested if you don't like bolsters), plenty of space & a decent bathroom (bath with shower over). The room was good value, but they charge a little over 9 euros for secure garage parking (be careful they don't try to charge you for open air parking) and the restaurant & bar are quite expensive. Having said that, the food was good & the bar /restaurant staff were very friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker, they do have smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Middleageexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way through Spain as the location was good, close to the motorway, and it was pet friendly.

A very large hotel, which I'm sure wasn't full, our room was a huge disappointment. 1: it had twin beds when we had requested a double and 2: it was dark, dingy, didn't have a mirror in the room, and needed decorating. I asked the chap on reception if we could move to another room, one with a double bed, but he told me all the rooms were fully booked!!! He wasn't very helpful.

The evening meal was delicious; we both had salad starters, I then had the lamb - delicious, and my husband had the salmon - extremely good. We finished with the creme caramel puddings - home made and one of the best we've had. The meal was 22.45 per head, which was reasonable. However, be warned, included with the meal is either; a drink, water or bread. We were offered bread as soon as we sat down, which we accepted. It was only as we read through the menu, and halfway through the bread, we realised we could have had a drink instead. So, don't accept the bread as soon as you sit down. Breakfast was extremely good, and the lady who served it was very, very helpful.

On arrival, we were asked if we wanted to use the underground car park. We were not told there was an additional charge of 9 euro 17 plus tax! We were also charged for our two small dogs.

Would we stay there again? No - there's better around, with much better rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annabellc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were en route to the UK and find ourselves here again. Same everything,, same friendly reception, same functional rooms all clean and tidy and all at a reasonable price. But, once again we do not like the restaurant and it is expensive - for all that, I expect we will visit again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nerjanits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is right next to the motorway, excit 2 by Burgos. Rooms are nice, service is good and price is acceptable. We always stop here at our way to Finland and the North or coming back.
There is also a underground garage available and this is good for the hot summer. We have had no problem in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lasiesta4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Having spent Christmas week in Central France (Les Sequoias, Chabris), we traveled down to Almeria in southern Spain for New Year, a two day car journey. Ideally placed by the motorway, but with quadruple glazing and extensive gardens to disguise traffic noise, we found this to be a perfect stop-over after 8 hours driving.
Amazing decor includes Chinese sculptures, artworks and fossils. Staff were friendly and the evening meals were more than adequate. Free WiFi was appreciated and they were fine with our dog in the room (but not the restaurant). Breakfast coffee quality was my only complaint.
We stayed again on the way back and will use it in the future if the need arises.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkHostLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent one night in the "Ciudad de Burgos" after an exhausing trip of about 1500 km on one day. We found Exit 249 but there was no hotel to be seen. Thus, we drove further and lost more than 2 hours by driving through Burgo and back to find the hotel. Finally, we had changed our driving direction and, suddenly, we saw the hotel - but there was no exit. We understood our mistake - a clear instruction by HRS might have been helpful.
The Reception was kind and helpful - one of the employees spoke English and, what we did not know before: there is even an underground garage, which gives a feeling of security (a small charge applies). We had a very peaceful night. The room was comfortable and we can only recommend this hotel if a decent accomodation between France and Madrid is needed.

Room Tip: Stick to "Exit 249" - even if the hotel is on the opposite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choerig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rubena
0 mi away
Domus Buenos Aires Hotel
Domus Buenos Aires Hotel
#30 of 50 in Burgos
24 reviews
2.5 mi away
Las Vegas Hotel
Las Vegas Hotel
#21 of 50 in Burgos
84 reviews
7.2 mi away
HQ La Galeria Hotel
HQ La Galeria Hotel
#10 of 50 in Burgos
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Camino de Santiago
Hotel Camino de Santiago
#37 of 50 in Burgos
47 reviews
6.8 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
7 mi away
Abba Burgos Hotel
Abba Burgos Hotel
#6 of 50 in Burgos
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciudad de Burgos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciudad de Burgos

Address: Carretera de Madrid Irun | Kilometre 249, 09199 Rubena, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Rubena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rubena
Price Range: $59 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciudad de Burgos 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sercotel Ciudad de Burgos Hotel is a very comfortable 3-star hotel located in Rubena, only 10 minutes from the centre of Burgos. It is located in an area crossed by the Camino de Santiago and next to the renowned Atapuerca archaeological site. The Sercotel Ciudad de Burgos Hotel has 126 fully equipped rooms and free WiFi Internet throughout its facilities. It also has 6 function rooms with seating for 300 people and equipped with lighting and audiovisual equipment, to guarantee the success of your business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ciudad de Burgos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ciudad De Burgos Province Of Burgos, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing