We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
R2 Bahia Playa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tarajalejo
Needham Market, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Different but nice”
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Modern Hotel with a slightly corporate feel in a quiet town. Never stayed anywhere quite like it but it had it was great for one night. Murial on the bedroom wall would have pleased Hilda Ogden! Food was fine and the service pleasant if a little amateurish. Only real no no was the "Bar" area, no furniture to speak of and a very bleak feel in general...maybe to discourage too much all inclusive drinking?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    360
    152
    45
    31
See reviews for
75
601
53
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

The hotel is a nice modern property, built in the last few years, and is aiming at a boutique/design look, and mostly pulling it off.

A couple of points to cover that have already been mentioned in other reviews -

Firstly there is not a great deal in Tarajalejo, just a few bars and a black sand / pebble beach, but it served my purposes of a few days quiet break. People staying for a week, or those with teenage families will get bored quicker.

Secondly this is not a 'British' hotel, it is largely German but with a good international mix (we were the only British people staying, and were outnumbered by the French and Swedes). Personally I find this to be a good thing, as it drives up the quality, but I know it impacts on some peoples decisions.

The hotel itself is very comfortable, modern furnishings, two pools (a quiet heated one, and a livelier unheated one where all the activities take place), and free WiFi in public areas (ask for the password at reception). The hotel also has a spa (sauna, steam room, pool, heated plank tables, etc) which we had free entry to for one occasion during our three day stay (or two occasions for one person), which my partner thoroughly enjoyed. People staying for longer seemed to be given more free access tokens. There is also a well equipped gym, with more than the usual sad lonely cycle machine, but as I was there to relax I didn't investigate further.

The food is OK for an all-inclusive place, not gourmet cooking, but perfectly acceptable (unlike the Barcelo in Jandia Mar that was unfortunately my next stop), with plenty of fresh and hot food being provided throughout the opening times, and the restaurant manages to avoid the 'canteen' look. Drink service was also OK, with a slightly better mix of drinks included than some places, but still the usual pre-mix cocktails.

If you are looking for a modern, comfortable place to chill for a few days, at a very reasonable price, this is it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Visited the hotel one week in november 2010. Great weather and a nice hotel but nothing at all to see on walking distance from the hotel. The center of Taralejo is lika a ghost- town. The food could be better and the wine that was included was not so good as I expected when you are in Spain. Nice staff, helpful. Though not so good in English.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Batmcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

the hotel is in a quiet tranquil spot 8miles from costa calma , good bus service to take you too nearby beautiful beaches, sadly the beach here is black sand and stones, but is peaceful , no chance of a sunbed towels on every day and not enough for clients. the hotel is a nice modern design , food average and variable. staff are excellent and ylena in the bar provides an excellent personal service, as do all the staff who are over worked the disco opens sometimes , entertainment the usual bingo and kariokee, no english couples but still had a lovely time socialising with friends we made, the hotel is modern and had no complaints about rooms reasonable maid service. however we had booked for 2 wks. and I had bites on my arms and odd spots on my body which after 11days became even more numerous and inflamed we were in room 238 and after finding 3 crawling bugs in the bed , proceeded to search bedding finding nothing turned the matress on its side and searched under the bed frame were we found numerous bed bugs which explained the bites, We complained to reception who organised a move to another room we were upgraded to a sea view with abottle of cava and wine. But the holiday was ruined I spent the last week walking round with itchy scabby arms which looked a mess and have still not healed 6 days after our move . so dont go there xxxx you have been warned . and this is an honest review, withouy the bed bugs would have been an average experience could be a good hotel

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dianethompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Stayed at the Bahia Playa for 2 weeks in October. It is in a fishing village, there are only a couple of bars there so not much to do in the evening. The hotel itself is very clean and modern. The food is fine, they have themed nights and i think the best was oriental night, the barbecue night is not so good. We hired a car as we have been to Fuerteventura many times before, we also took the bus to Gran Tarajal which is about 7 miles away, it is a nice little town with many shops. The staff are polite and friendly.We had such a relaxing time at this hotel we didnt want to come home, just the place for getting away from the rat race and really unwinding.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawns186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I was at the R2 for a week in late April and it was probably the best value-for-money Hotel I've ever stayed in. I paid €300 (plus flight) for a week in a single room, all in.

This Hotel is really "primera linea", i.e. right on the beach. I had the perfect sea view from my room. The black beach is a bit stoney, but was good enough for me to go there every day. It is quite deserted though, most people spend the day at the pool, which is just not my cup of tea.

Rooms: Great rooms, funny bathroom with glass walls, huge balcony, minifridge, amazing view.

Food: good buffet. Not a crazy amount of choice, but of decent quality.

Drinks: usual all inclusive no-name drinks. Included until 2300, then decently priced service until 0100 at the hotel's "disco". No self-service, so sometimes you'd have to wait 5 min for your turn, but no big deal at all.

People: rather diverse for Fuerteventura - people of all ages, the biggest groups were Germans and French, but there were also some English, Polish, Spanish, Russians. Nice atmosphere in general. Not too great for families, I would guess, but there were still some children.

Nightlife: the animation team did try, but come on, this is Fuerteventura, you don't go there for partying.

Service: No complaints. Impeccable cleanlyness, some waiters were really lovely, some just doing their job.

Surroundings: Not too much. There are like two restaurants and two bars in walking distance, a small shop. Rental car recommended.

Bottom line: this is a great design hotel, with a very laid-back touch to it.

I would definately go again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xxmchxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oostvlaanderen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

we (me, mother, sister) went to this hotel in april for one week and we had a very pleasant stay.

+ The service: the whole staff was friendly and kind but in a way it didn't look forced or just for fees. It was so nice that everyone of the staff was so polite and kind. From the reception to the housekeeping: everybody was nice and helpful.

+ The spa: in most hotels you need to pay and the spa is not very accessible, but in this hotel we got 6 free entrances for the three of us. Every sunday is 'Spa Love Night' and everybody can go to the spa for free en get champagne.

+ The infrastructure: it is of course a design hotel but it is still so pleasant that everything is so well done. You see everywhere that it was well thought. The rooms are quite big, very good equipped and comfortable.

+ The animation: for children until 13 i admit that this hotel may be boring because they want more animation. But for me(15) and my sister(20) it was fine. Every day i did volleyball or football and aquagym, and i liked it very much. My mother also loved the morning stretching.

+ the food: the food was rather simple but the quality was excellent. Great fish(i think right from the village), tender meat, fresh vegetables, and lots of juicy fruit. Though the food is simple there still is a lot of variation(from paella to french fries, but also squid, tuna, or simply pork)

+ pools: there are 2 pools outside: one lively(with music and a beachbar) and another one very calm, with absolutely no noise and a pool that was warmed.

+ beach and village: though the beach is not very nice, it is easy accessible and, with some wind, the waves are amazing. The village is small and i have the impression that a lot of people didn't like it that much but when i walked trough the little, quite, sunny streets i liked the village very much. There is also one hill behind Tarajelejo (see picture)
which i have 'climbed' (=walked) and on which you have an amazing view of the city and hotel.

- sightseeing and adventure: the island itself is not a big deal. It's actually a desert. If you want to hike or climb then you'd better go to La Gomera. But if you want to do something, it's very nice to rent bikes and explore a little bit of the island.

- nightlife: for so far i know, there is not much of nightlife in the fishing village, which is rather normal. But the disco under the hotel is very agreable and we spent there some evenings.

it's a wonderful hotel and i would definitely recommend it to other people

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank camillagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarajalejo
5.8 mi away
R2 Rio Calma Hotel & Spa & Conference
15.8 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
21.3 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Spa
TUI SENSIMAR Calypso Resort & Sp...
#7 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
248 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel Elba Palace Golf
Hotel Elba Palace Golf
#1 of 23 in Caleta de Fuste
1,120 reviews
40.4 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R2 Bahia Playa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R2 Bahia Playa Hotel & Spa

Property: R2 Bahia Playa Hotel & Spa
Address: Ctra Tarajalejo, 35629 Tarajalejo, Tuineje, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Tuineje > Tarajalejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tarajalejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — R2 Bahia Playa Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your R2 Bahia Playa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
r2 Bahia Playa Hotel Tarajalejo
Bahia Playa Hotel
Bahia Playa Tarajalejo
R2 Bahia Playa Hotel & Spa Fuerteventura/Tarajalejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing