We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,391)
Filter reviews
1,391 results
Traveler rating
508
524
215
78
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
508
524
215
78
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black sand nice hotel bahia playa sea view small village hotel is located animation team at lunchtime nightly entertainment hotel facilities relaxing holiday heated pool junior suite get away from it all quiet place ping pong lobby bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 1,391 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We have stayed in R2 Bahia Playa for a very nice week, enjoying the sun, nice food (with really _minor_ exceptions...) and water.
The hotel is very clean, with extremely helpful staff incl international); it is located very close to the beach but one must remember this is Canary-style black, volcanic sand that not all are fond of. There are two pools, one with salty water and animations (although not very invasive), the second one is sweet water with blessed silence to rest in sun :)
Regarding food, it was very good although two times we have found not too fresh vegetables... and from the alcoholic drinks most were undrinkable, pure mix of water, ice, unknown and untasty juice plus a shade of memories of trace of (promised) alcohol - well this makes my review 4-star for food.

Internet access is free in one part of lobby, although in the evening it is severely overloaded and does not work; works quite fine in the daytime.

We have not checked the spa/massage offering as all the schedule was already booked on our arrival!

There is water sports center in the hotel, with very helpful staff I recommend.

Overall, I recommend this hotel very much, we have really enjoyed the stay.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Protagonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We booked in August to stay here in January but we got informed that they had overbooked just 4 days before our departure!

We did get offered another hotel but obviously we had not time to check it out (fortunately the other hotel was great!)

Out of curiosity we visited the Bahia Playa to see what we were missing and were glad we had been moved. Although the hotel was nice it's communal spaces were very overcrowded and sunbathers were packed around the pool like sardines!

Date of stay: January 2011
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank Ewan456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Modern Hotel with a slightly corporate feel in a quiet town. Never stayed anywhere quite like it but it had it was great for one night. Murial on the bedroom wall would have pleased Hilda Ogden! Food was fine and the service pleasant if a little amateurish. Only real no no was the "Bar" area, no furniture to speak of and a very bleak feel in general...maybe to discourage too much all inclusive drinking?

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

The hotel is a nice modern property, built in the last few years, and is aiming at a boutique/design look, and mostly pulling it off.

A couple of points to cover that have already been mentioned in other reviews -

Firstly there is not a great deal in Tarajalejo, just a few bars and a black sand / pebble beach, but it served my purposes of a few days quiet break. People staying for a week, or those with teenage families will get bored quicker.

Secondly this is not a 'British' hotel, it is largely German but with a good international mix (we were the only British people staying, and were outnumbered by the French and Swedes). Personally I find this to be a good thing, as it drives up the quality, but I know it impacts on some peoples decisions.

The hotel itself is very comfortable, modern furnishings, two pools (a quiet heated one, and a livelier unheated one where all the activities take place), and free WiFi in public areas (ask for the password at reception). The hotel also has a spa (sauna, steam room, pool, heated plank tables, etc) which we had free entry to for one occasion during our three day stay (or two occasions for one person), which my partner thoroughly enjoyed. People staying for longer seemed to be given more free access tokens. There is also a well equipped gym, with more than the usual sad lonely cycle machine, but as I was there to relax I didn't investigate further.

The food is OK for an all-inclusive place, not gourmet cooking, but perfectly acceptable (unlike the Barcelo in Jandia Mar that was unfortunately my next stop), with plenty of fresh and hot food being provided throughout the opening times, and the restaurant manages to avoid the 'canteen' look. Drink service was also OK, with a slightly better mix of drinks included than some places, but still the usual pre-mix cocktails.

If you are looking for a modern, comfortable place to chill for a few days, at a very reasonable price, this is it.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Visited the hotel one week in november 2010. Great weather and a nice hotel but nothing at all to see on walking distance from the hotel. The center of Taralejo is lika a ghost- town. The food could be better and the wine that was included was not so good as I expected when you are in Spain. Nice staff, helpful. Though not so good in English.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Batmcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews