We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its all a mixture”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Santa Brigida
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Its all a mixture”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We spent a week in Hotel Escuela, its a beautiful hotel, nice gardens and its easy to find if your driving! There is always parking available either at the front or the back of the hotel !!
In terms of its location, you are close to a few restaurants that have international food as well as a supermarket close by. Its quite far from a beach but we had a car and we drove to the south , past Maspolamas which took 40mins , there is a beach called Amodores that had the white sand with turqoise water , we visited a few different beaches , Amodores and Playa de Mogan were our favourites but its a long drive away to do everday.
When we booked we asked for a double bed but we were given 2 single beds pushed together, when we asked at reception, they said that only rooms next to the elavators have proper double beds but can be quite noisy as it was next to the elevator, we found that hard to believe that the only rooms with double beds were next to elevators . The problem with 2 beds pushed together was that the beds were like hospital beds with wheels underneath them and although you could lock the wheels they still moved , you then would wake up to a big hole in the middle of the bed, so my partner and I weren't impressed by that !! The room however was kept clean as we had cleaners coming to clean everyday , they didnt change the sheets but cleaned the room and changed the towels.
The staff were very friendly and efficient so no problem there, especially reception staff.
We had breakfast at the hotel everyday , which was a variety of a continental breakfast which was the same thing everday , we had croissants , cut up fruits , variety of jams , sliced bread and small baguettes as well as variety of cheeses , ham and salami .
Hot breakfast was also available but they cooked everything in bulk and by the time we got there the eggs and bacon were a bit dry so we avoided the hot breakfast, which was a shame.
We also had food at the hotel one evening , they presented us with an over priced menu which only had a few options on there or we had the choice of buffet for 12 Euros , the buffet was alright, it filled a hole, wasn't amazing!!!
The other thing with the hotel was that there was no evening entertainment and I think there were maybe 5 or 6 other couples or groups staying at the hotel so the atmospher was very quiet which was nice, we especially booked this hotel to be away from the typical tourist types that go to Gran Canaria but it was just too quiet in the evenings.
If you hire a car, I would definitley advise you to drive to this town called Teror, its a nice drive up in the moutains, the roads are very narrow and the town has nice architecture, also the drive to Playa da Mogan ( south) was beautifull.
We travelled in March 2013, we had really good weather but unfortunatley where the hotel was we had couple of rainy days but on those 2 days we drove to the south and there was nothing but sunshine and heat so there is a bit of difference in temperature and weather from where the hotel is to south of the island .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panpan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    69
    22
    3
    7
See reviews for
17
98
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
skipton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had a week in February 2013 with my husband.Easy to find and good location to explore from. I would endorse everything in other 3 reviews posted. In summer I think the bar/cafe will be open during the day and early evening.
Food was really good and very very reasonable, great value as great ingredients beautifully cooked and 3 course set menu Euro 11.50 included a glass of wine although limited choice of menu, we were happy with all our meals.There's a short a la carte and some specials each night. Note that catering students plan, cook and serve the meal under the very watchful eye of the maitre d, who steps in when needed. All very charming and tried so hard to get things right. .
Our only niggle was that if you came back to the hotel at 5pm unless you used the drinks in the mini bar or drank in your room there was no bar until the restaurant opened at 8pm (8.30 on Fri and Sat) and no room service until then.
Complimentary Coffee or tea could be served in reception but sometimes you just need a beer or a glass of wine and a sit on the terrace to unwind.
There is a nice bar in the main street only a couple of minutes away and we had a drink and also ate there twice and other restaurants close by.
Gardens lovely very well kept, Parking in side street only- no dedicated parking area.
Wished we had upgraded to garden view room with balcony but told no rooms available on first night so our room was at the back with no view felt a bit claustrophobic.

Spoilt for choice at breakfast during the week.

Pool looked nice, we did not use gym or sauna.

Room Tip: Garden view or room with terrace/balcony. Standard room was very ordinary but bought as a package so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashireladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have just returned from an excellent week at Escuela Santa Brigida. At first we were disappointed not to be in Santa Brigida itself as the hotel is in the suburbs between Las Palmas and Santa Brigida but this was soon dispelled by the very charming welcome and quality of service received throughout our stay. Every single member of staff was so helpful and pleasant to deal with. Of particular note is the fact that the restaurant is attached to the training school for hospitality and catering students who cook and serve fantastic food at an incredibly reasonable price. Its not very well advertised so not overly patronised so can feel rather quiet but deserves much more attention as its the chance to taste great food, beautifully presented and charmingly, if sometimes a little nervously served.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a garden view as the rooms at the back feel a bit gloomy in comparison
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPB465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were not disappointed by this hotel based on the high expectations we got from the reviews of Tripadvisor. Nice and friendly staff, excellent buffet-style breakfast and a restaurant that offers a wide variety of menu options. The location of this hotel is ideal for exploring the island as you can reach nearly every place within one hour by car.
Although we could always find a parking place for our car in front of the hotel, we noticed that there are sufficient opportunities to park your car in one of the side streets.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FransenCo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketingh, Departamento de Marketing at Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would, first of all, like to thank you for taking part of your valuable time sharing your experience through TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your comments. Please, allow us to take this opportunity to inform you that our hotel is a 100-year-old building which has been rated a Heritage building.
It is completely refurbished while keeping the charm of the XIXth century, still seen in our magnificent garden and other ornamental details.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our cuisine, since this is one of our main assets.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Lourdes Barbero Bretón
Departamento de Marketing
HECANSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We chose this hotel because it is not too long a drive from the airport, well located for the Caldera de Bandama and the botanical garden as well as being a short drive into Las Palmas. We were happy with our choice. Stayed two nights. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. There was a wedding party one evening so some music but that did not go on late and it added to the vitality of the place. We didn't have a parking problem - the staff explained to us that we needed to park so that we did not block the pavement which is fair enough. Tried the taster menu - not cheap but it was good value (there is a discount for hotel guests) and it introduced us to Canarian specialities. Excellent breakfast buffet too. The hotel seemed very quiet on the second night.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank doopydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketingh, Departamento de Marketing at Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having taken part of your valuable time sharing your experience through TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and particularly our restaurant, where we always try to offer our customers the essence of Canary cuisine with our chef’s special flair.
We are also delighted to know that the hotel location was convenient for your trips and excursions to areas of interest on the island as the Caldera the Bandama and the Botanical Gardens.

Thank you once again for your trust.
We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Lourdes Barbero Bretón
Marketing Department
HECANSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We went to Puerto Rico for holiday but wanted to explore more of the island so we stayed in Santa Brigida for 2 nights. It was lovely to be in an environment that was completely relaxing and different from a resort. It was very quiet, off season in the hotel. It felt like there were only about 5 rooms occupied in the whole hotel but it suited us. We hired a car and had no problem parking outside on the street or on the back street to the hotel. The gardens and pool area were well maintained and clean.

The rooms were spotless and the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The bed was comfortable. We used the gym, which looked like it hadn’t been used in a few months. It’s in the basement and very eerie getting to it, down a dark silent hallway and into a small room that has everything in it that you would expect in a gym. But if you fainted in it, I doubt you’d be found for a few days. Pity it's so hidden and unused looking.

The breakfast was poor, chopped fruit, toast and the other general sweet croissants with chocolate you get at a buffet breakfast?? On the second day, they had a breakfast menu on the tables offering hot food but we didn't see this until we had eating all the toast and fruit so didn't bother asking for it then. The menu for the restaurant wasn't appealing or great so we didn't eat dinner there. Instead, we went across the road to a fantastic place called Bentayga which had the best pizza and best food in the area for a really cheap price. (Pizza and wine for 2 = €14), worth a visit for sure.

If I were going to Santa Brigida again, I would stay here and I would recommend to a friend for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms look like they would have a similar view and even if they didn't it wouldn't reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketingh, Departamento de Marketing at Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for dedicating part of your time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to know that you were pleased with our hotel. It is an emblematic building with over 100 years of history. The hotel facilities are adapted to the original structure of the building. Our maintenance and cleaning staff make periodical visits to all the facilities, so they can attend any incidents.
We are sorry that you could not enjoy our warm breakfast menu and we hope that you will be able to enjoy our restaurant next time, which offers a great variety of Canarian cuisine.
Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Lourdes Barbero Bretón
Marketing Department
HECANSA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We had a good week's stay at the good hotel. Staff were friendly and food was good. However, 3 months later, back home, we received a traffic ticket saying we'd parked on the pavement and been a danger to pedestrians. Well, the staff told us to park there. In fact we didn't see anywhere else TO park! I'm not sure if the parking fine, 200 euros, is genuine. It looks it, and it looks very harsh in the circumstances. I'm not even sure how I can pay it from England or check whether it is a genuine fine. Can anyone help with this? (rgj32@hotmail.com if you can please)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger_Chris32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketingh, Marketing Department at Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for your kind words published on Tripadvisor. It has been a pleasure to welcome you at the Hotel Escuela Santa Brígida and we are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We regret to hear that you have received a traffic ticket and we will do our best to help you with it.
As our staff told you, parking online is allowed on a part of the main street so that we would like to know more details about the matter to find out what happened. Please send us the documents you have received, (marketing@hecansa.com) and as soon as we have any information on how to proceed in this respect we’ll contact you.

Kind regards,

Lourdes Barbero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Brigida
14.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra
6.0 mi away
Santa Catalina Hotel
Santa Catalina Hotel
#6 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
982 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bandama Golf Hotel
Bandama Golf Hotel
#2 of 7 in Santa Brigida
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
675 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rural El Mondalon
Hotel Rural El Mondalon
#1 of 1 in Marzagan
147 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cantur City Hotel
Cantur City Hotel
#11 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida

Property: Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida
Address: Calle Real de Coello 2 | Santa Brígida, 35310 Santa Brigida, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Santa Brigida
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Santa Brigida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escuela Santa Brigida Hotel
Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing