We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to recommend it”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Xaloa

Xaloa
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Xaloa
Ranked #3 of 3 Orio B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing to recommend it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were put off by the greeting of the manager, who went off to do something else while we were waiting. The rooms are dark and basic. The food is not wonderful - the eggs in particular were, we thought, undercooked. The area in itself was not characterful. I would not stay here again out of choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

With limited choice in Orio to stay, this pension is not only staffed by friendly people but is ultra clean. The room are a litte dark but they are well soundproofed and are all on ground level. The food was basic, but it was well presented and the staff were very helpful. A few minutes walk along the marina brought you to the beach that had several bar/restaurants and within 15 minutes you are in the heart of the town with bus and train connections to San Sebastián. Great location to stay if you don't want the big city scene.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

No value for money. Rooms are dark and small and there is always the noise of the highway. For that money there are a lot better places in that area. From the hotel it takes 5 minutes walking to the ( dangerous ) beach and 5 to the centre of Orio.
The train will bring you in half an hour to the centre of San Sebastian.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matrooskoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orio hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We loved this place. It was clean, cool and friendly. Excellent food too. Would definitely return if we were passing again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orio
0.3 mi away
Hotel Txanka Erreka
2.2 mi away
Hotel Zarauz
Hotel Zarauz
#2 of 5 in Zarautz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Mercure Monte Igueldo
Mercure Monte Igueldo
#19 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Rural Mailan
Casa Rural Mailan
#1 of 3 in Orio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xaloa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xaloa

Property: Xaloa
Address: C/ Estropalari, 26, 20810 Orio, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Orio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Orio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Xaloa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Xaloa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing