We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No peace as promised”
Review of Hotel Arbe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Arbe
Ranked #1 of 4 Mutriku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We had the junior suit, which was a great room. The room had obviously not been use for a time, which is probably why we had to pick up the dead flies on the floor.

We were promised calm and quiet when we booked the hotel, which we did not get. Since the hotel had booked a wedding for 200 people on our second day. The wedding was at the pool area and 200 people make a lot of noise. Since the room was facing the pool area, we hade to close our doors and windows and be in for about 4 hours, still hearing the loud noises from the wedding outside.

The hotel had no food, they tell you to go to another village to eat. There is only the manager working at the hotel and she's mostly running around and not being serviceminded.

The nearest shop is 30 minutes walk or 10 euro taxiride away. The beach is non existing. The view is spectacular though.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kian19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 168 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2009

My wife and I enjoyed a 5 night stay at Hotel Arbe at the end of Oct with the intention of doing some family research and also having an end of season break, the family research soon came to an abrupt halt due to our spanish language shortcomings, but the amazing suki ( the hotel proprieter and her husband ) took up the challenge of helping us with our family research,which resulted in us coming away from Guipuzcoa with more info than we could have possibly hoped for and also enjoyed the great scenery of the area. The coastal scenery is as good as the Californian Big Sur or the Australian seven sisters drive,( we were fortunate to have great weather ).
I'd just like to repeat Suki's multi linguistic skills and personal attention really made this short break.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josemaria51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

What a lovely find Hotel Arbe was for us en route from France to Santander. Modern and stylish, but at the same time very friendly and comfortable. Itzy, the owner couldn't do enough to make our stay a happy one. Wonderful situation on the cliff top. What a joy to fall asleep in a very comfortable bed to the sound of the waves crashing below. Nice pool, and lots of places just to sit and enjoy the view. Good breakfast, and delicious dinner cooked by Itzy with produce from her garden and fish caught that morning. So wish we could have stayed longer than the two days.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2008adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

It with some trepidation I write this review, not because the stay wasn't the most wonderful stay it could be, but just because I want to keep this wonderful secret to myself, so It isn't changed for next time I am able to visit. The reason I am writing it is really only because I want this little dream of itzy and her husband to be a roaring success.

Itzy and her husband were the fabulous owners of this fantastic modern, 5 month old hotel. The accoomdation was spotless, of 4-5 star quality, the only queen size bed we had during our spain trip (most of the others were 2 single beds pushed together - even in 5 star hotels). Modern bathroom, great shower, you cajn step right from your room to the pool. The rates were very very reasonable. The water view and pool can be seen from all rooms. Internet was free to hotel guests. It felt more like we were staying with a family friend than a hotel.

Like most of the Basque territory, they spoke very little english, but itzy's english was much better than our spanish which was non existent. (except for our phrase book and my husbands few words from his mexico trip 15 years ago) I wish I would have been able to communicate better, then we could have realised that in addition to breakfast, they could make the most wonderful dinners. (i'm still not sure if they served them by request or every day (as we didn't see it happening every day) - (not that you need them as the Basque territory is certainly a gourmet paradise).

Itzy and her husband made for us on our last night the most delicious, simple salad, bread and cheese supper. If we had of been earlier we would ahve been able to share in the fabulous looking mussel dish she made the other guests who were in that night. Breakfast is included, like most of spain its very very sweet. (dounuts, croissants, cake, etc) but do try the local dish of bread and tomato jam like spread.

Itzy helped us with restaurant recommendations and bookings, directions, laundry, nothing was too difficult.

Finiding it wasn't hard once we drop past (coming from Deba) and turned around a Mutriku, the sign is visible only coming from the direction of Mutriku. Arbe is about 30 mins from Bilbao and 30 mins from San Sebastian on the highways. However if you take the coast road from Arbe to San Sebastian (which I highly recommend) it would take you over an hour. Goregous coastal and rural views.

I could go on and on and on, but instead I'll post some pictures so you can see for yourself.

I'd go back again in a heart beat. thank you Itzy and everyone at Arbe for the best stay of our trip.

Nicole & Troy

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fireywombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sukia, dueño at Hotel Arbe, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2008

Hello From the Hotel Arbe,

First of all many many thanks for your great recommendation. We do appreciate it!

You will always be well received in our hotel in the basque country.
Hope to see you soon.

Best Regards,

Hotel Arbe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pedimos planta superior para tener vistas y no nos la dieron. Las de planta baja tienen acceso dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar S, Propietario at Hotel Arbe, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
Thank VERODEBTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar S, Propietario at Hotel Arbe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Michel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itziar S, Propietario at Hotel Arbe, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutriku
1 mi away
Hotel Zumalabe
Hotel Zumalabe
#1 of 1 in Mutriku
40 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel San Prudentzio
Hotel San Prudentzio
#1 of 5 in Getaria
219 reviews
8 mi away
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
Saiaz Getaria Hotel
#4 of 5 in Getaria
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Gaintza
Hotel Rural Gaintza
#3 of 5 in Getaria
165 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Itxas Gain Getaria
1.5 mi away
Haitzalde
Haitzalde
#2 of 4 in Mutriku
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arbe

Address: Laranga Auzoa, 20830 Mutriku, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Guipuzcoa > Mutriku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mutriku
Price Range: $104 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arbe 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has a meeting room equipped with state-of-the-art technology, ideal for holding work meetings, lectures, presentations, etc. The ground floor also houses a sauna service and two thermal lounge chairs with a spectacularly-designed shower.Halfway between Deba and Mutriku … Over the spectacular bay that bathes the coast of Guipuzkoa, between the cliffs and pine and holm oak forests dropping down to the coastline, lies the Hotel Arbe with its lovely views that pay witness to the beauty of its settingThe spectacular picture window that envelopes each of the 11 rooms in this avant-garde building in decorated red, white and black tones provide the feeling of literally hanging out over the Cantabrian Sea.11 rooms, 10 of them double, one totally handicapped accessible and one for individual use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Arbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing