We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mirador de La Franca
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Franca
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but not perfect”
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Having just returned from this hotel I have to say that most of the reviews I've read are accurate but there are a few flaws that can spoil the experience a little.

The car park has some very deep drainage channels running through it that makes parking a vehicle rather awkward and uncomfortable. The room keys are very heavy and, in the days when many hotels use swipe cards, these are just cumbersome and not possible to carry around comfortably. The restaurant serves breakfast from 8.30 until 11.00 am and likewise dinner is served from 8.30 until 11.00 pm which for me and my wife was a bit too late. As the hotel is a bit remote it is not that easy to dine elsewhere either.

We went for breakfast one morning at 9.30 to find that there was very little food left as a bus party had stayed overnight and eaten early. Another day we asked for some sandwiches at five in the evening only to be told it wasn't possible despite a snack menu saying that they were available.

I don't want to sound like a moaner but these niggles, which for the most part could be easily resolved, did spoil our stay a little. Despite that the location of the hotel and the ambience makes up for a lot. Recommended but with some slight reservations.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    49
    33
    3
    9
See reviews for
33
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Do you want a location from heaven, the beach was just under our bedroom window.
You will need transport to get the best from this Hotel as it is a bit of the track, although it is only 100 from the main road. The beach is ideal for children, a nice easy slope, all soft sand. Hotel dinning room, provides an excellent breakfast, and if you can eat all that is brought out to you for Dinner, you will be doing very well, as you get FOUR big coarses, Would recommend this Hotel as five star

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john-ives4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed only one night while driving from Bilbao to Galicia. It was exactly as expected from other reviews and the hotel website. Despite the room and bathroom being small we had a nice stay here. It was our impression that some of the guests were returning year after year and if you want a secluded hotel right on the beach this is the place. The breakfast service is nothing to write about for food nor service, but the evening dinner service was excellent and of course with the same good view as from the rooms.

Eventhough it is a bit like stepping into the old time of full board guests year after year the hotel is modern with free wifi working very well in our room.

Personally I would only recommend it for short stays but as it is right off the highway between Bilbao and Santander it is a good choise for such stays.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPHworldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

This was our fifth visit to the Hotel Mirador and the best to date. We discovered it one year on the last night's stop before getting the ferry from Santander and vowed to return again, which we have on a regular basis. The position is spectactular - on the most beautiful horseshoe shaped bay with golden sands. Even in the busiest time - the beach is never overcrowded and as a hotel guest, you only have to descend a few steps to the golden sands. The hotel is comfortable, calm and the staff and service are excellent. The dining room walls are covered in pictures of the hotel dating from back in the 1920's and show guests and the owners having many happy times. There are few English guests - mainly Spanish families at this time but the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. It is a great place to base yourself for visits into the Picos or for discovering some of the other coastal and inland villages and towns. Not all the rooms have a sea view but I would recommend reserving and paying the additional supplement for the pleasure of opening the curtains each morning to such a spectacular view.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SallyPMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

My group had very little spanish but we had no problems with the extremely helpful staff in this great hotel. Website pictures don't do the location justice, it is simply breathtaking, but make sure you pay extra for a sea view room.

The rooms were fine and the food was excellent oncluding a buffet breakfast which had everything. If you are looking for fish and chips and real ale you'll be disappointed (thankfully). The food is all local although the menus have english translations. It's about an hour from Santander ferry port so handy enough for the brit traveller. Llanes is 20 km down the road and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piebaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornish
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2008

We booked a golfing break through Brittanny Ferries with whom we have used before.
We found our selves having been provided with good diirections at this most fabulous location.
This really is on a parr with the best coves and beaches that cornwall or devon can offer.
The hotel aws clean, quiet and well managed. The food was beautifully cooked, exquisitely presented and a joy to consume in fantastic surroundings. What a fantastic place to take the kids. Lovely fine sand in a safe environment. Great golfing nearby with spectacular views at the municipal course.
I highly recommend this to all except single sex groups of youngsters looking for a lively time.

  • Liked — It's fantastic location right on the beach
  • Disliked — the door to the bedroom difficult to unlock
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CornishNimblefingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

This was the first holiday abroad that my partner and I have taken my four year old son on. I dont think i could have picked a more family friendly hotel! The staff say that they dont get many British families, mainly spanish, or older couples from the UK. The staff went out there way to accomaodate us in a suite with two bedrooms over looking the wonderful beach. The rooms were kept extremely clean and tidy, the food was wonderful, the breakfast was a feast in itself! My only problem was that there were no window locks on the windows in the room, enabling a four year old to think it might be a good idea to step out of the window onto the tiles of the roof over the restaurant area! However one strict warning and he didnt attempt again! May is a quiet month in Asturias and we mainly had the daily cleaned beach to ourselves most of the time, the caves and rock pools kept my son, myself and partner occupied for hours! We will be back! The funny smell mentioned by previous reviewer might be the trees outside, when it had been raining there was a musty smell from them which lingered in the room if the windows were open, other than that we didnt notice any other strange smells!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyneth73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Franca
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Valleoscuru
7.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de la Cuesta
8.9 mi away
Hotel Faro De San Vicente
Hotel Faro De San Vicente
#2 of 10 in San Vicente de la Barquera
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hotel Miracielos
Hotel Miracielos
#1 of 2 in Barro
151 reviews
2.1 mi away
El Molino de Tresgrandas
El Molino de Tresgrandas
#1 of 2 in Tresgrandas
123 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bufon de Arenillas
Bufon de Arenillas
#1 of 1 in Riego
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirador de La Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirador de La Franca

Property: Hotel Mirador de La Franca
Address: Playa de la Franca, 33590 La Franca, Spain (Formerly Arcea Hotel Mirador de la Franca)
Location: Spain > Asturias > Ribadedeva Municipality > La Franca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Franca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mirador de La Franca 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mirador de La Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing