We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mirador de La Franca
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Franca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a stunning location”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I have just come back from a week at this hotel and I must say its one of the best holidays we have had. I emailed them before we went to tell them it was our anniversary and to ask if they had any really special rooms. When we got there they had upgraded us to a terraced room leading onto the beach. To say it was lovely is an understatement, the beach was stunning, clean white sand and crystal clear sea it was absolutely stunning. The hotel staff were lovely and friendly and the room had everything you could ask for. The breakfast was great, the only draw back was the food in the restaurant. It was fine if you like fish but we found some lovely places to eat in Llanes and Ribadedella ( which has a great market on a Wednesday ). If you want a relaxing holiday away from the tourist places in Spain this is the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie9mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    53
    35
    3
    9
See reviews for
40
74
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights during a golfing visit to northern Spain. Fellow guests included well-behaved bikers from UK on a rally. The hotel buildings are located right by a pristine cove/beach facing the sea. Had three good dinners in the evening. Decent breakfasts. Attentive staff. Quite a find if you're in this part of the world (about 90 minutes on a good road west of Santander). Recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Having just returned from this hotel I have to say that most of the reviews I've read are accurate but there are a few flaws that can spoil the experience a little.

The car park has some very deep drainage channels running through it that makes parking a vehicle rather awkward and uncomfortable. The room keys are very heavy and, in the days when many hotels use swipe cards, these are just cumbersome and not possible to carry around comfortably. The restaurant serves breakfast from 8.30 until 11.00 am and likewise dinner is served from 8.30 until 11.00 pm which for me and my wife was a bit too late. As the hotel is a bit remote it is not that easy to dine elsewhere either.

We went for breakfast one morning at 9.30 to find that there was very little food left as a bus party had stayed overnight and eaten early. Another day we asked for some sandwiches at five in the evening only to be told it wasn't possible despite a snack menu saying that they were available.

I don't want to sound like a moaner but these niggles, which for the most part could be easily resolved, did spoil our stay a little. Despite that the location of the hotel and the ambience makes up for a lot. Recommended but with some slight reservations.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Do you want a location from heaven, the beach was just under our bedroom window.
You will need transport to get the best from this Hotel as it is a bit of the track, although it is only 100 from the main road. The beach is ideal for children, a nice easy slope, all soft sand. Hotel dinning room, provides an excellent breakfast, and if you can eat all that is brought out to you for Dinner, you will be doing very well, as you get FOUR big coarses, Would recommend this Hotel as five star

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john-ives4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed only one night while driving from Bilbao to Galicia. It was exactly as expected from other reviews and the hotel website. Despite the room and bathroom being small we had a nice stay here. It was our impression that some of the guests were returning year after year and if you want a secluded hotel right on the beach this is the place. The breakfast service is nothing to write about for food nor service, but the evening dinner service was excellent and of course with the same good view as from the rooms.

Eventhough it is a bit like stepping into the old time of full board guests year after year the hotel is modern with free wifi working very well in our room.

Personally I would only recommend it for short stays but as it is right off the highway between Bilbao and Santander it is a good choise for such stays.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPHworldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

This was our fifth visit to the Hotel Mirador and the best to date. We discovered it one year on the last night's stop before getting the ferry from Santander and vowed to return again, which we have on a regular basis. The position is spectactular - on the most beautiful horseshoe shaped bay with golden sands. Even in the busiest time - the beach is never overcrowded and as a hotel guest, you only have to descend a few steps to the golden sands. The hotel is comfortable, calm and the staff and service are excellent. The dining room walls are covered in pictures of the hotel dating from back in the 1920's and show guests and the owners having many happy times. There are few English guests - mainly Spanish families at this time but the atmosphere is relaxed and welcoming. It is a great place to base yourself for visits into the Picos or for discovering some of the other coastal and inland villages and towns. Not all the rooms have a sea view but I would recommend reserving and paying the additional supplement for the pleasure of opening the curtains each morning to such a spectacular view.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SallyPMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

My group had very little spanish but we had no problems with the extremely helpful staff in this great hotel. Website pictures don't do the location justice, it is simply breathtaking, but make sure you pay extra for a sea view room.

The rooms were fine and the food was excellent oncluding a buffet breakfast which had everything. If you are looking for fish and chips and real ale you'll be disappointed (thankfully). The food is all local although the menus have english translations. It's about an hour from Santander ferry port so handy enough for the brit traveller. Llanes is 20 km down the road and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piebaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Franca
7.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de la Cuesta
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Valleoscuru
8.9 mi away
Hotel Faro De San Vicente
Hotel Faro De San Vicente
#2 of 10 in San Vicente de la Barquera
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hotel Miracielos
Hotel Miracielos
#1 of 2 in Barro
153 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bufon de Arenillas
Bufon de Arenillas
#1 of 1 in Riego
115 reviews
2.1 mi away
El Molino de Tresgrandas
El Molino de Tresgrandas
#1 of 2 in Tresgrandas
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirador de La Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirador de La Franca

Property: Hotel Mirador de La Franca
Address: Playa de la Franca, 33590 La Franca, Spain (Formerly Arcea Hotel Mirador de la Franca)
Location: Spain > Asturias > Ribadedeva Municipality > La Franca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Franca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mirador de La Franca 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mirador de La Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing