We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“be warned!! awful service experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zuheros
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“be warned!! awful service experience!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The village of Zuheros is lovely, this hotel is in a beautiful location, our room was clean and nice. However, we had a terrible experience when we checked out.

We had originally booked 2 nights, but our plans changed because of an unexpected driving "adventure" - unforseeable circumstance. We called the hotel, and were told that we could cancel the night with no charge, even though it was very late notice, but they needed us to also contact Hotels.com, so that they would not be charged a commission for an empty room. We contacted Hotels.com - no easy thing! - and took care of that as well.

When we checked in, we confirmed that we were staying only one night, and we confirmed that we also cancelled through Hotels.com.

We enjoyed our evening in Zuheros, had a passable dinner and breakfast at the hotel, and went to check out. The person at the desk, who I believe was a co-owner, charged us for 2 nights, even though we had cancelled one.

No matter how many times we explained that we only used one night and were not going to pay for two nights, he continued to insist we pay for two. He became extremely agitated and belligerent.

We asked him to call his partner, who we had spoken to on the phone, and who checked us in on the previous day - and who knew we were staying only one night.

He did call his partner, and after a long, hushed conversation, *continued* to insist we pay for two nights! This went on for a long time. Finally, I had no choice but to say, "Either we pay for one night, or we leave without paying. Your choice." I was assuming that he would not want to call the police and make an even bigger scene. At that point, he rang up one night, and we paid, and left.

Everything else about our stay was fine. But there's no excuse for this.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zuhayra, Gerente at Hotel Rural Zuhayra, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your review and we apoligize for the incident during your stay with us. May be we did not know how to explain you what the situation was.
As you say, you telephoned the hotel to cancell one night stay. During the conversation, we tryed to explain that, as you had made your reservation with hotels.com and not directly with the hotel, we should receive the cancellation from hotels.com. We had no problem in cancelling the reservation if we received it from hotels.com, but we never received anything from them.
Maybe because of the language and because of a misunderstanding between our staff, we were not able to give you a proper explanation and that went on an embarassing situation on your check out.
We will do our best to be sure that a situation like this will not happen again.

Our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    51
    17
    1
    4
See reviews for
21
62
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
229 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Contrary to other reviews we have read on the food of this hotel, our experience has not been good at all. The dinner was well presented by a nice waitress, but quality was poor. One example: the fried potatoes were soaked in oil; after dinner, both my wife and myself had stomach problems. We had already visited about 20 restaurants in different cities in Spain, without any such issue. Then the breakfast, in our experience, had not enough variety; example: salamis and one type of cheese were about the only not-sweet food. In other words, no eggs, no bacon, not even the famous Spanish raw ham (jamon iberico) that had always been available in other breakfasts we've had.
Our room was facing the wall (not a big problem, we expected it from other reviews). But in Toledo center, for a similar room, we paid only 45 Euros... In Granada near the Alhambra we paid about the same amount, for a much better hotel...
To summarize: we think the price we paid (65 Euros/night) is not acceptable, considering the location and the food.

Room Tip: As mentioned by other reviewers: some rooms face the wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zuhayra, Gerente at Hotel Rural Zuhayra, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear guest,
We are very sorry you did not like the food at our restaurant. We always try to do our best but may be this time we did not reach our aim. We also would like to encourage you to tell us any problem you have at the moment you have it, so that we can change your food for something else.
About the price of the room, just let you know that because you stayed in the hotel on a Saturday in May, it is the highest price of the season.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luskville, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Clean, quiet, comfortable and in a great location. Best sleep I've had so far on this trip to Spain. Lovely view over olive groves. Breakfast buffet was delicious with plenty of variety. Great location, close to hiking in the canyon. Staff are friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingWendyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Wouderful. Million dollar view. Clean and beautiful located two steps from Castillo. Pleasant staff, great food. Good value.

Zuhero is a jewel not yet discovered. Can't wait to return. Don't miss the caves also and the canyon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducke514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

First of all the village is a must, especially during semana Santa festival.
We got a room on the second floor, the view of the valley was pretty, the room was good and worth the price. The only problem was the thin walls, but with reasonable neighbours it's ok.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ophir_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was fine. The staff were very friendly. Both restaurants were good. The dearer upstairs one was excellent. Super service and great local food. The best of our trip so far. The room was initially one with no view - 105-109 have the view of a white wall. All other rooms have an amazing view! We gave up the double bed in 109 for the two singles in 204. What a view! The building is constructed of concrete and as such is very echoey. You could here every movement in the adjoining rooms.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in an outstanding little village in Andalucia. It offers breathtaking views and is very close to the little Alcazar from moorish times which serves as the final eye-catcher in this beautifully located mountain village. The hotel stuff is very friendly and helpful, and offers descriptions for a number of hikes to explore the surrounding landscape. Don't miss the restaurant of Zuhayra. We had there our best dinner of the whole journey. The offer delicious local dishes which you probably would not find anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlorianVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zuheros
2.0 mi away
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
#1 of 1 in Dona Mencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Las Rosas
Hotel Las Rosas
#3 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
MS Fuente las Piedras
5.0 mi away
Hotel La Casa Grande Baena
19.6 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Zuhayra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Zuhayra

Property: Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Address: Calle Mirador 10, 14870 Zuheros, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Zuheros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zuheros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rural Zuhayra 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rural Zuhayra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural Zuhayra Spain/Zuheros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing