We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hospitality.”
Review of Hacienda Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Minerva
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zuheros
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptional hospitality.”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed two nights at Hacienda Minerva as part of a one week bicycle tour of Andalucia. The Hacienda is right on the Via Verde de la Subbetica bike path. We could not have asked for a more delightful place to unwind after a day of biking. The views are spectacular, rooms large and inviting, and in particular the hospitality of Louis, the manager of the Hacienda, was everything one could ask for. Make sure to eat at the Hacienda's restaurant for a taste of Andalucia.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RT0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    72
    34
    6
    5
See reviews for
45
176
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Unfortunately we had only 1 night at this beautiful location. WHen i saw the bird nest in the reception i knew that this place was something special. Great people, great place in a peaceful land. We recommend this place for anyone ...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guzata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de Mazarron, Spain
Level Contributor
168 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Our first impression on arrival exceeded our expectations. The hacienda, courtyards and gardens are beautiful and full of charm. The property has been renovated with a great deal of thought and care. The owners and staff are passionate about their hotel and the service they provide to their guests, nothing is too much trouble. The Arabic baths are unique complimenting the ambiance of the hacienda, the swimming pool has wonderful views of the sprawling olive groves. We dined on the terrace on the first night and the food was exceptional. The views were amazing and we watched the moon rise over the hills. It was so good we dined there for the rest of our stay. A fantastic hotel, we will be returning and recommend that you experience this wonderful Hacienda Minerva.

Room Tip: There are an assortment of rooms and suites to accommodate all tastes and those with mobility diffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marina060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed here for one night in May on a road trip through Andalucia with my sister: we were both raving about the place on departing for Granada the next day. The location is fantastic, set among thousands of acres of olive groves. Close by, the medieval village of Zuheros clings to the hillside.

The hacienda itself has been sensitively restored to retain its charm while the bedrooms have enough mod-con to be very comfortable. The terraces and bar/library areas look out over the rolling terrain and I imagine the former would be a great place to dine if the weather was suitable.

We had a delicious meal in the charming rustic dining room and enjoyed excellent, courteous service throughout. My sister's pescatarian preferences were amply catered for too, not always a given out in the Spanish countryside.

Owner Luis gave us enthusiastic advice for our onward travel to Granada (his recommendations proved to be excellent!), and generally ensured our stay was a pleasant one.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank trotamundan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Pros:

The location is outstanding. 11 out of 10. Olive trees, hills and mountains. The hotel is built like a tiny village with squares, streets and fountains. The architechture and charm of this hotel is amazing. The rooms was spacious and full of charm. Bath room is excellent and fully equipped with all the cosmetics you´d need for your stay. The Aircon is very efficient. Satellite tv with a good choice of channels is provided. There are a couple of roof top terraces on site which are magnificent for a late drink (and breakfast too provided it´s not too hot). There is a restaurant, a bar, a lovely furnished salon and an old library with an excellent selection of books. Breakfast is good (although not great) with jamon serrano, fresh fruit and juices and a huge selection of marmalade. The quality of the food in the restaurant is high - in particular the iberian porc and the rabo del toro blew our minds. There is at least one hours drive to Cordoba, which is a must to visit. However, situated much closer to the hotel is the lovely city of Priego de Cordoba, with a lot of barock churches and old buildings - it´s highy recommended that you visit this city. Hikers will love the Via Verde hiking trail that follows the now decommissioned olive oil trail tracks. The charming village of Zuheros is 2-3 minutes drive and well worth a visit. Don´t miss to take an ice-cream or a dessert in the cafe/restaurant next to the Moorish castle.

Cons: This establishment has a very high rating and rightly so. However, there are a few things you should keep in mind before you book. The pool area was a slight disappointment. Despite it being very nice, it´s just way too small for a hotel of this size. Pool is small and there are only 4 (four) sunbeds. It´s not feasible for more than 4-6 people to be in the pool area at the same time, which could be a problem with 16 rooms and tempratures normally over 35 celsius in the summer. The double bed in our room was too small and not too comfortable. We had barely any views from our room, just a tiny window. This made the room very dark. Parking was not always problem free as there seemed to be more cars than parking spots. The staff is correct and professional although some from the staff don´t speak a word English. Also, the wireless internet worked only close in the reception area and not in our room, The restaurant although good is a bit pricey and perhaps a bit too snobbish for our taste. There is an excellent and good value restaurant just 2 minutes drive on the route to Dona Mencia called La Cantina where all the locals go.

All in all though a very good stay and we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biff-Maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Lovely place, welll rebuilt from an original old hacienda, keeping its values and souvenirs. Wonderfull view in the middle of olive trees near to a tiny place with an old castle and a eco batcave where remains of the past are still present. Excellent guides. Good for couples, family, petfriendly. Excellent food. The only negative point was the pool being dirty and full of mosquitos, even though it had an overwhealming view.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtemaximo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We booked last minute so we had no idea what to expect. Turns out the Minerva is usually booked well in advance so we lucked out. The hotel is rustic but refined. It is situated in the midst of olive groves and has incredible views. Zuheros is about 5 minutes away by car or 15 if you walk the via verde path. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. The courtyards are filled with fountains, flowering vines and old olive presses. We could have spent all day in the library exploring the great collection of books and interesting objects. Breakfast was terrific, fresh and a good variety of items to choose from. Having it on the rooftop terrace overlooking the olive groves made it even better. The restraurant was incredible. Great atmosphere and too many great tasty dishes to choose from for our short stay. Luis the owner was very friendly. He gave us some good tips for a local walk through the hills next to the hotel. He aslways made a point to stop and chat (and he remembered our names) which made us feel welcome and cared about. We wish we could have stayed for a month, but we will be back and we will encourage our friends to go as it was such a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zuheros
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#2 of 2 in Zuheros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
#1 of 1 in Dona Mencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Las Rosas
Hotel Las Rosas
#3 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
7.8 mi away
MS Fuente las Piedras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Minerva

Property: Hacienda Minerva
Address: Carretera Zuheros | Doña Mencía Km 9,8, 14870 Zuheros, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Zuheros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zuheros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hacienda Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Minerva Spain/Zuheros

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing