We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing historic Posada” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Posada de Palacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Posada de Palacio
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An amazing historic Posada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were delighted to make a return visit to this amazing, family hotel. Tastefully furnished and decorated with some exquisite period pieces combined with more modern features, it stands out from the hotel chain experience. So much has improved including extending into the next building to create a second charming entrance and hallway. The new gastropub adjoining the hotel adds to the facilities. The chef is charming and helped us to choose a delicious lunch, served elegently and with some style. The bar manager ensured efficient breakfast service.The evening meal we enjoyed offered a unique contrast to the local bars and restaurants. There are lots of nooks to hide in and idle away the time, in or out of the sun. All in all, this is a special and unique place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimihop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    34
    25
    15
    11
See reviews for
14
77
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Gastor, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed for only one night with our daughter and son in law who were visiting from Australia. We love Sanlucar de Barrameda and wanted to introduced them to the place. Our normal hotel was full but I found this beautiful alternative - boy, am I glad! I want to say "shabby chic" but that really doesn't do the place justice. The internal courtyards are beautifully decorated with an eclectic mix of old and new. Our room was absolutely huge with views onto the roof terrace and across town. The staff were exceptionally good even though we kept the bar staff busy well into the early hours. An fantastic find and we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Room 12 is at the back of the hotel overlooking the roof terrace - no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMcA007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Wish we had stayed longer! Loved the mix of old/recycled and new. Everything was high quality and the bed was spectacularly comfortable. Interior patios and roof terrace were lovely and quiet with plants and seating. Great tapas bar/restaurant attached to hotel that had A/C! Everyone was helpful and kind. Definately on our list of "must returns".

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winebore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

We visited this hotel for a 4 night stay,our suite was not ready on arrival and not worth 147 euros, no breakfast included, no fridge for drinks, towels not changed all 5 days. Bathroom not upto standard with sink coming away from the wall shelf hanging onto wall by a hook.Bath tatty with showerhose and handle broken. I asked to see another suite to compare but none was available and asked for a reduction due to poor standard to no avail. The Hotel could be excellent but the structure like its staff past their best.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sanlucar de Barrameda hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

A beautiful and quiet hotel slightly off the beaten tourist track. Our room was lovely and very comfortable, off a small courtyard.

We were the only guests, and arrived late so the dining room was closed - but we got directions to a spectacular seafood tapas bar called Casa Balbino.

Sanlucar's one-way system was confusing and we had a wonky GPS, so it took a little travelling around to find the place.

Staff very pleasant, breakfast okay for Spain

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KjartanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

What an ace hotel! It was rather difficult to find and only has limited (on-street) parking, but it was well worth the journey when we finally got there on a dismal, wet December evening. We were the only guests but the staff were friendly and helpful and the chef cooked us a lovely dinner to order. The earliest you can eat, by the way, is 2030, which is normal for Spain, but may not suit some travellers.

Yes, the walls were a little mouldy in places and the odd floor tile was cracked or dingy, but what an experience - just like staying as a guest in a historic house. The heating was efficient and the room had hair dryer, modern TV and lots of coat hangers. I say room, but in fact we had a sitting room, bedroom and large bathroom.

In spite of the fact that we loved this hotel, I hesitate to recommend it for everyone. If your idea of a perfect hotel is a bright, modern, chain or business hotel, you would probably hate it. If, on the other hand, you are a seasoned traveller who likes individual hotels with lots of character, then you would probably love it. I do not know if the staff speak any English as we speak Spanish.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SherwoodSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
188 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Really enjoyed a 3 night stay here at the end of trip touring Andalucia.
Some staff do speak good english & are helpful. Good location above the town.
Room was huge (as was the bed!) & the whole place is filled with beautiful furniture (looks like a National Trust property except you are actually allowed to sit on the seats/sleep in the beds etc).
Didn't have breakfast here as seemed too expensive - plently of cafes nearby that provide good & cheap breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanlucar de Barrameda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Alcoba
Hotel Boutique Alcoba
#1 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
abba Palacio de Arizon Hotel
abba Palacio de Arizon Hotel
#8 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barrameda
Hotel Barrameda
#2 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Macia Donana
Hotel Macia Donana
#6 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Guadalquivir
Hotel Guadalquivir
#5 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa Sanlucar
La Casa Sanlucar
#3 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada de Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada de Palacio

Property: Hotel Posada de Palacio
Address: Calle Caballeros 9, 11540 Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sanlucar de Barrameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Sanlucar de Barrameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada de Palacio 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former palace of the eighteenth century located in the historical and artistic center of the most beautiful cities in the South: Sanlúcar de Barrameda , filled with noble buildings and beautiful wineries set ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Posada de Palacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Palacio Hotel Sanlucar De Barrameda
Posada De Palacio Sanlucar Barrameda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing