We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Mini Break Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Boutique Alcoba
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Mini Break Hideaway”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I must agree with all the other reviews - simply a perfect hotel for a short break in Southern Andalucia. This 'hostel' was without doubt one of the best hotels I have stayed in. It was modern but very comfortable, incredibly stylish, minimal without being stark and the attention to detail was visible in every part of the hotel furnishings, rooms and communal areas. Great location being a few minutes walk from the main square and parking in a nearby underground car park is available to book should you require. We were pleasantly surprised with all aspects of our stay including our friendly host where he has the perfect balance of helping you when needed but staying in the background when you want to enjoy your own space. This hidden gem is not often visited by British guests, nor did we hear many British voices in Sanlucar itself, but that added to the feeling of 'getting away from it all'. We then moved on to quite a top hotel in Seville (which was more than double the price I might add) but Alcoba topped it! Well worth a visit!!

Room Tip: All rooms I'm sure would be of equal quality, however we did notice a handy ground floor room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallynh74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTALALCOBA, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Alcoba, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hostal Alcoba has recently been awarded the prize for Best Hostal in Spain for 2012 by Tripadvisor. You made one of our dreams come true: without your reviews, this would not have been possible. So, thank you very much for sharing your experience and for being honest writing your opinions. You are, without doubt, the architects of the award. Most importantly, your comments are a reward that will help us move forward with the same enthusiasm and try to improve every day. Really - thank you.
Best wishes
Manuel, Pepa, Miguel, Victor, Pepi and Ana mari.
The Hostal Alcoba team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    23
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
263
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have just returned from our 2nd visit to Hostal Alcoba (don't let the word hostal mislead you!) and it was equally as good as the first time. From the minute that you set foot into the hotel, you are in a refuge of tranquility. Manolo, his wife and team run the 10 roomed establishment like clockwork but always inobtrusively. Breakfast can be continental or you can help yourself from the buffet. There is a good Nespresso coffee machine, a range of juices (or you can have freshly squeezed at a small supplement), a wide choice of cheeses and cold cuts, smoked salmon (lovely with the cream cheese!) and Manolo will also scramble you some eggs - you only have to ask. Once breakfast is cleared away at around 11am, they leave out a kettle, tea bags (yes, they have PG tips!!) and herbal teas so you can help yourself whenever you feel, there is also chilled water too. The only possible drawback which other people have mentioned is the parking, but let them know that you need a space when you make your reservation and you will get a private parking space just a few minutes away for 6eur a day. Beds and pillows super comfortable, design is second to none and the lift is the quietest I have ever come across. When you check in, Manolo will give you a leaflet with recommendations of bars and restaurants, some of which are off the usual touristic beaten track - try them (particularly Caracoles), you won't be sorry. We will return again just as soon as we can. Gracias Manolo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTALALCOBA, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Alcoba, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hostal Alcoba has recently been awarded the prize for Best Hostal in Spain for 2012 by Tripadvisor. You made one of our dreams come true: without your reviews, this would not have been possible. So, thank you very much for sharing your experience and for being honest writing your opinions. You are, without doubt, the architects of the award. Most importantly, your comments are a reward that will help us move forward with the same enthusiasm and try to improve every day. Really - thank you.
Best wishes
Manuel, Pepa, Miguel, Victor, Pepi and Ana mari.
The Hostal Alcoba team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

What a lovely hotel, calm, clean, comfortable; what lovely hosts. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for the Alcoba team. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left three days later, we felt like honoured guests. This beautiful place is a tribute to modern design, but with form never leading away from function.

Room Tip: I wouldn't worry about it.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTALALCOBA, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Alcoba, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hostal Alcoba has has recently been awarded the prize for Best Hostal in Spain for 2012 by Tripadvisor and without you who had written comments would not have been possible. Thank you for sharing your experience, and your honest words. You are without doubt the architects of the award. Most importantly your comments are a reward to help us move forward with the same enthusiasm and try to improve every day. Really, thank you.
Best wishes
Manuel, Pepa, Miguel, Pepi and Ana Mari
The Hostal Alcoba team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just cannot express in words the way I feel about this little HOME AWAY FROM HOME ..........Just returned from our second visit within the space of a few months ,this time accompanied by our daughter and her friend,who are also fans now..........
This little 10 roomed(very unfairly named Hostal)is equal if not superior to many so called boutique hotels where we have stayed worldwide............fabulously decorated ,extreemly comfortable,so very clean,and with owners who are always on hand and seem to know exactly when they are needed for assitance but always take a step back when they feel thier guests want to 'go it alone'!!!!!!!
Amazing in the summer with thier 'chill' area and plunge pool,and very cosy and welcoming in the cooler months....
somethng to take into consideration is that the hotel is in a narrow back street and although this adds to the 'quiet 'factor,this could be considered by some as a problem where parking is concerned as you cannot park your car outside and leave it there,but there are arrangements for parking nearby for a small cost.
San lucar a fantastic area for 'foodies' like us with some terrific restaurantes and bars a mere stones throw away from your accomodation......one great choice for tapas BALBINO in the plaza of the town (you will not believe the variety of tapas on offer ,especially indicated for sea food lovers)and also for a slightly more formal meal CASA BIGOTE in the Bajo de guia area ,(around the beach).Again sea food and locally freshly caught fish..............all absolutely DELICIOUS .............
There are many towns within a short car journey which are well worth checking out,Chipiona,Jerez,puerto de santa maria,etc etc etc
Manuel (owner of our second home!!!!!!) will be only to please to assist if you need any help at all on where to go or what to do during your stay,and he and his family and staff will make your stay truly one to remember.............................
Thank you so much Manuel ,and here to the next visit !!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorkfreak61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTALALCOBA, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Alcoba, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hostal Alcoba has recently been awarded the prize for Best Hostal in Spain for 2012 by Tripadvisor. You made one of our dreams come true: without your reviews, this would not have been possible. So, thank you very much for sharing your experience and for being honest writing your opinions. You are, without doubt, the architects of the award. Most importantly, your comments are a reward that will help us move forward with the same enthusiasm and try to improve every day. Really - thank you.
Best wishes
Manuel, Pepa, Miguel, Victor, Pepi and Ana mari.
The Hostal Alcoba team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We decided to book the Hostal Alcoba following the glowing reviews and could not have been happier with our decision. The word 'hostal' is slightly misleading in the sense that the place has more the feel of a small boutique hotel. Built over a year ago, it feels brand new and the rooms are bright and airy. Manolo and his wife have renovated this traditional house beautifully, with quality fittings and materials. The central patio/garden with the small pool was also a pleasant surprise and a great place to cool down and read in the afternoon.

Manolo was the perfect host - helpful and very friendly, but never intrusive. He gave us great recommendations to eat and drink and also helped us book visits to some of the fabulous sherry bodegas in the area. The continental breakfast buffet was delicious and the hostal location could not be better, 5 to 10 minutes walk from all attractions in Sanlúcar. In terms of the hospitality and 'feel-good' factor, this is a special place in the league of some of the best hotels in the world. Yes, it is a hostal (2 star), but truly first-class and incredible value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTALALCOBA, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Alcoba, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hostal Alcoba has recently been awarded the prize for Best Hostal in Spain for 2012 by Tripadvisor. You made one of our dreams come true: without your reviews, this would not have been possible. So, thank you very much for sharing your experience and for being honest writing your opinions. You are, without doubt, the architects of the award. Most importantly, your comments are a reward that will help us move forward with the same enthusiasm and try to improve every day. Really - thank you.
Best wishes
Manuel, Pepa, Miguel, Victor, Pepi and Ana mari.
The Hostal Alcoba team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for 1 night and wish we could have spent more time there. Made very welcome as soon as we arrived. Lovely room, beautiful garden, nice pool and interesting furniture and artworks everywhere. Lovely and such good value too. Breakfast was fantastic with great coffee and a good choice of food. Want to go back. Already been recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vejerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTALALCOBA, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Alcoba, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hostal Alcoba has recently been awarded the prize for Best Hostal in Spain for 2012 by Tripadvisor. You made one of our dreams come true: without your reviews, this would not have been possible. So, thank you very much for sharing your experience and for being honest writing your opinions. You are, without doubt, the architects of the award. Most importantly, your comments are a reward that will help us move forward with the same enthusiasm and try to improve every day. Really - thank you.
Best wishes
Manuel, Pepa, Miguel, Victor, Pepi and Ana mari.
The Hostal Alcoba team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed only for three nights and enjoyed it absolutely. The design of the hotel and rooms is brillant. Miguel and Manolo made our stay a pleasure. Buffet breakfast offers very good quality and great variety. The pool is small but more than enough to get a fresh swim.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rheumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOSTALALCOBA, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Alcoba, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hostal Alcoba has recently been awarded the prize for Best Hostal in Spain for 2012 by Tripadvisor. You made one of our dreams come true: without your reviews, this would not have been possible. So, thank you very much for sharing your experience and for being honest writing your opinions. You are, without doubt, the architects of the award. Most importantly, your comments are a reward that will help us move forward with the same enthusiasm and try to improve every day. Really - thank you.
Best wishes
Manuel, Pepa, Miguel, Victor, Pepi and Ana mari.
The Hostal Alcoba team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanlucar de Barrameda
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barrameda
Hotel Barrameda
#3 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Macia Donana
Hotel Macia Donana
#6 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Guadalquivir
Hotel Guadalquivir
#5 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
abba Palacio de Arizon Hotel
abba Palacio de Arizon Hotel
#8 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa Sanlucar
La Casa Sanlucar
#2 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Alcoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Alcoba

Property: Hotel Boutique Alcoba
Address: Calle Alcoba 26, 11540 Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sanlucar de Barrameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sanlucar de Barrameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Boutique Alcoba 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boutique Alcoba, which is a different kind of hostal, is located in Sanlúcar de Barrameda. It offers 14 bedrooms with a simple but rational style, full of details. The hostal can be found in the centre of the city Barrio Bajo, surrounded by monuments and history. It is just a few metres away from the gastronomic and urban centre of Sanlúcar. It is also an eco-friendly hostal, ideal in special for people who are looking for a comfortable, quiet, stylish kind of hostal with kind manners and a relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Boutique Alcoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing