We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility in Palma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monasterio de San Francisco
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Palma Del Rio
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility in Palma”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As this hotel is just 2 hours drive from where we live, we could hardly refuse to take advantage of their special offer of dinner, bed & breakfast for two people for just €65. The building is impressive and retains the aura and many of the original features of the monastery it once was. As an hotel, it succeeds in being both comfortable and clean, with decent enough service offered from the reception through to the restaurant. Don't expect much English to be spoken and you won't be disappointed, although the Receptionist more than managed, as might be expected. The long, narrow pool is in a sunny spot at the back of the hotel - unusually, accessed through a well-kept kitchen garden - and we spent a delightful couple of hours relaxing and swimming before dinner. The evening meal was served 'tapas' style, which meant there was no menu to choose from - which for a large party of 12 was probably a blessing in disguise - and the food quality was perfectly acceptable, but not exceptional. Breakfast was of a similar standard, with the usual choice of cereals, breads, cheese, cold meats and fruit - althought the freshly squeezed orange juice was divine! Overall, there were no complaints from us about the general standard of the hotel, the service or, least of all, the excellent value for money we enjoyed. However, while drinks could be ordered before and during dinner, there was no hotel bar as such, which for us - and many others like us - is something to be enjoyed as part of a weekend treat. The nearest bar in the village was a mere 100m from the front door of the hotel and was lively, with a warm welcome, decent service and good value for the village location.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms with a lounge/sitting area. The village is very quiet at night, so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    68
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
29
98
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Andalucia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were 2 couples on an overnight stay, with dinner, bed and breakfast, for a fantastic bargain of 65 euros per couple!!
The reception was good, although it may have been so because we speak Spanish.
Yes, it is a converted monastery, but that added to the ambience, and the food was excellent. it has to be said though, that there are signs of severe damp problems in the rooms, so perhaps a winter trip here would not be advisable.
The rooms were large and the beds absolutely huge (and very comfortable). the a/c was necessary with an outdoor temperature never below 25 degrees, but it was quiet and effective.
Thankfully, the church bells do not ring out all through the night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Val P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a very poor reception from the staff on arrival, and were not shown to our room. I went back to the reception and asked for better directions and got another grunt. After finding the room we felt a little disappointed, A/C that barely worked, dark and drab.
We decided to make the most of things, I went back to reception to ask where the bar was located? I was informed there was no bar, but the receptionist did inform me she could get me a drink if required. I went back to the room and got ready for the pool with my family. We walked through the herb garden to the pool on a muddy path, by the time we got there all of us had muddy feet. We tried to get a sunbed around the pool but all six were taken, I went to reception to ask if someone could bring us a couple of sunbeds, and was advised that they only had six for the whole hotel.
We went back to our room packed and checked out without staying.
I went to reception and advised we were leaving, the receptionist ask why? I rest my case.
I advised the receptionist that the Monks would have been better looked after, and that the Monastery would be in better hands if the Monks were still in charge. I don't understand how anyone could give this hotel a good review, it does not cover the base criteria for a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZALC2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were on a cycling tour through southern Spain. As a group we enjoy " different" accommodations. This did not disappoint...spacious rooms, friendly staff. We caught the flavor of the area thanks to the working class/everyman town, PALMA DEL RIO. Traveling luck landed us in a bar/ restaurant that was hosting a bachelorette party on a Saturday night complete with live music, lots of drinks, lots of laughs, and who says cyclists can't dance !!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a disappointment. The 'Monastery; is in a dreadful setting - a ghastly run down town with no soul. The building itself was stunning inside and out but also had no soul. The bedrooms were lovely but my friend was put in a room that aready had someone in - (not good walking in on someone!!) - so she was transferred to another room - much, much smaller but no price reduction. Customer service (which I know the Spanish are not good at generally) was very bad.

The food was also dreadful!! Tough old meat (every nght!!) pork, duck and beef all the same - tough, not well cooked and ghastly!! Looks like it is a struggle to keep this place going and what a shame - but there really are no interesting points. Horrid location, bad customer service and appalling food!! So sad!

Room Tip: The best room in decor is 20 - but very noisy at about 4/5am when the garbage truck chundles and sno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I loved this hotel. So did Christopher Columbus who stayed here when it was a monastery and he was friends with the Franciscan monks. It may be old but it doesn't feel dated. Our room was spacious and bright and overlooked the backgarden and pool. There was a great shower and separate big bathtub and two sinks in the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We chose the Monasterio because we just loved the look of the place. As it happened, it was at the halfway point in our trip and after spending several days exploring Granada and Cordoba we were ready for a day off. Let's get one thing clear straightaway, there's not much to see or do in Palma Del Rio but this was a perfect stopping off point on our trip from Cordoba to Seville. When we are arrived we were greeted by an English speaking receptionist who checked us in earlier than prescribed and showed us to our room. The place is larger than we expected but beautiful and on our way to our room we saw the gardens, courtyards and restaurant that we'd seen in the pictures and were not disappointed. Our room, on the first floor was large with a good sized bathroom containing bath and seperate shower cubicle. Both rooms have valuted ceilings so are cool and airy if a little dark. There is a walkway outside and hence a slight compromise (light versus privacy). During our stay we ate lunch, dinner and breakfast at the hotel and spent the afternoon by the pool. The food is excellent - lunch and dinner we could not praise highly enough and the dining hall is an equisite room in which to be served. We asked the waiter for a recommendation for wine with dinner and he actually recommended the cheapest on the list at around 11Euro's but it was superb and the 5 course tasting menu we had that evening was excellent value. Parking is available in the hotel for a fee but we parked outside on the street and felt perfectly confident in doing so. This place is a wonderful setting for weddings and such events and romantic breaks "getting away from it all"; you might tire of the area after a couple of days but the hotel was just the place for us. One thing to note, not a problem for us and it goes with the territory, is that the hallways are a bit echoey if people walk past or are chatting, but that's to do with the structure and was not an issue for us; afterall how often do you get to stay somewhere that's over 500 years old

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma Del Rio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castillo
Hotel Castillo
#2 of 2 in Palma Del Rio
43 reviews
14.8 mi away
Infanta Leonor
Infanta Leonor
#1 of 3 in Ecija
191 reviews
24.7 mi away
Parador de Carmona
Parador de Carmona
#1 of 7 in Carmona
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hotel Maria
Hotel Maria
#1 of 1 in Posadas
35 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#1 of 2 in La Carlota
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hospederia Convento de Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monasterio de San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monasterio de San Francisco

Property: Monasterio de San Francisco
Address: Avenida Pio XII 35, 14700 Palma Del Rio, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Palma Del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Palma Del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monasterio de San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Monasterio de San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio De San Francisco Hotel Palma Del Rio
Monasterio De San Francisco Palma Del Rio, Spain - Province Of Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing