We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcoming, beautiful, peaceful...”
other travelers have booked this property
On the village square, 18th century gite and bed and breakfast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
On the village square, 18th century gite and bed and breakfast
Room with a view - the beautiful old church on the square Summer sunrise
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
On the village square, 18th century gite and bed and breakfast
Room with a view - the beautiful old church on the square
Summer sunrise
Chambre 1 with views of the square and church
Chambre 1
Chambre 1, private bathroom with claw foot tub, rainshower & dual sinks
Twin room with views of the square & church
Adjoining rooms, perfect for families & friends
Barn room with ensuite shower room & tiny balcony overlooking the terrace
Porch leading to roof terrace, a lovely sunny spot for breakfast
Peyrepertuse, medieval Cathar chateau
Potter's Fair, medieval Mirepoix (10mins). Make sure you have room in your case
Lac Montbel, 5km, the wild swimming is a treat
Sandy beaches & turquoise blue waters of Lac Montbel
Cycle Languedoc through vineyards and fields of sunflowers
Surrounded by wildflower meadows
Camon, 5km, a Plus Beaux Villages de France
Buy wines direct from the Vigneron, we can book tours and tastings for you
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chalabre, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
tasteforf...
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming, beautiful, peaceful...”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Chez Maison Bleue is situated in an idyllic part of the French countryside; ideally placed halfway between the Pyrenees and Carcassonne, and only 2 hours from the coast. We stayed in the BnB for 2 weeks with our 3 year old daughter and 1 year old son. Carolyn and Nick are incredibly welcoming and accommodating. The BnB is beautiful, situated in a sleepy village on an even sleepier (traffic free) village square - the perfect place to enjoy your continental breakfast or even a bottle of the local Blanquette in the evening! We had room 1 and 2 - which are interconnecting - perfect for a family. We were able to put our children to bed at night and then relax in our room, or downstairs in the sprawling lounge or in the aforementioned square. Breakfast was lovely - locally produced (as in, over the road!) apple juice, seasonal fruit, pastries from the boulangerie in the local town...Nick also cooked us tea at least half of the nights we stayed. He was happy to cater separately for the children when we fancied a night dining with other adults, or to cook for us all together when an early night called. Meals were delicious - often featuring home grown produce, and if not, then produce bought from the local market! The rooms and bathroom were kept IMMACULATE by Carolyn, who is most likely, the loveliest, most accommodating and friendly lady I have ever met! She even presented our daughter with a handmade 'good-bye' gift when we left. The children were also catered for with toys, a trike, high chair and a the best travel cot I have ever seen (thick, soft mattress!). Carolyn even provided us with things like a fishing net (for fishing in the nearby lake!), a picnic rug and basket to carry all our swimmies in. Nothing was too much trouble. During our stay their friends also came to stay. However, rather than making us feel like we might be in the way, they invited us to join them for evening meals - and we very much enjoyed their company in the evenings. THANK YOU Nick and Carolyn for a very memorable holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The warm welcome
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2016
Gemma, thank you for such a kind and thoughtful review, we are so glad our B&B suited your lovely young family. The pleasure was all ours. We hope to see you next year for more fizz, good food and conversation on the square. A Bientot, Carolyn & Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisknig...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place for walking!”
Reviewed July 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the B&B in it's charming location. We are both keen walkers & Carolyn & Nick were really helpful advising on walks & lending us maps of the area. A great place to stay & a taste of rural France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Help with walking
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2016
Thank you Chris, very glad you enjoyed the mountains, the lakes and the chateaux on our doorstep. We look forward to welcoming you again to our sunny corner of Languedoc. Until the next time, Carolyn & Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11tibet
san francisco
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Most Memorable Medieval Square...Chez Maison Bleue.”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

When I saw the photo of the church and the square with Chez Maison Bleue, I knew that I wanted to stay and experience this charming village south of Carcassonne. Carolyn and Nick, the owners, make you feel at home right away. Nick made dinner for us each night, putting his heart and soul into every meal. He also should patent his wonderful homemade bread. Carolyn is full of joy and just fun to be around. We enjoyed spending time with them and getting to know them. Our room looked out over the square. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well there. The B&B is in the heart of Cathar countr, with its dramatic hilltop castes in Montsegur, Puivert and Puilauren, the ruins of Chateau LaGarde, in the tranquil nearby village of Camon, and near towns, such as Chalabre, Limoux and Mirepoix. We enjoyed the other guests, who happened to be a lively bunch of Canadians who congregated in the square in the early evening.
Now I am home, I think of apple orchards in the nearby valley in the morning mist, which were being picked and stored in the village, the sunflowers, their heads drooping heavily, waiting to be harvested, and the lanes of plane trees lining country roads. I think of all that beautiful countryside.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorettaTw...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What an incredible find, really and truly wonderful in so many ways. From the moment you walk into the little village square and open the door you enter another world created with love and hard work and happiness by Carolyn & Nick. A really lovely friendly couple who enjoy meeting and talking with their guests. Relaxing and comfortable with superb food cooked each evening by Nick and served on the terrace as the sun goes down. The only sound around being the sound of cow bells as the cows return each evening to their cowshed. In the morning breakfast of delicious homemade bread (made by Nick) and also his homemade apricot jam.

We did not want to leave this magical place and really hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: I have to be honest the mattress was rather uncomfortable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SammyJS
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat, with perfect hosts :)”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Chez Maison Bleue. From our arrival to check out, it was absolutely perfect. We stayed in The Barn room, which was enchanting with high oak beamed ceilings, quintessential french furniture and a small balcony window with views to the fields behind, exactly what we had hoped for. The guest house is in a small square with a gorgeous church and fountain and it was like something off a postcard. The surrounding neighbours are equally fabulous and added to our weekend. The location is perfect for exploring the many beautiful french villages, the Chateau at Camon, and beautiful lakes and rivers - which are great for swimming and outdoor pursuits.

The hosts Carolyn and Nick could not do enough to ensure our stay was exceptional and after 1 day it felt like home. We had dinner cooked by Nick on our first night, and it was delicious, a four course dinner with wine, and at the best price. All the food is organic and grown by Nick and Carolyn, and we were lucky enough to have the first figs of the season. We ate breakfast every morning in the square, and Nicks jams and fresh bread were a real treat. They were gracious hosts in every way.

We look forward to returning for a longer period and to explore the area further.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Down, N.I.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vicki P
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Felt like we were staying with old friends or family.”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Carolyn and Nick were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much of a bother. They were welcoming and gracious, helpful in suggesting places to go and see. The house was immaculate, warm and inviting. The bathroom was filled with lovely products to use along with fluffy soft towels. Breakfast was delicious with a mix of home made jam and bread, fresh croissants from the local baker, fruit and juice from local producers. We spent the first week of our holiday in France cocooned in this wonderful environment. When it came to our last morning we were tempted to stay longer. We could not recommend this venue more highly, treat yourself you will not regret a s Tay in this part of France!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2014
Dear Vicki, you all arrived as strangers and left as friends. We hope it will be our privilege to welcome you again to our lovely corner of France, I'll keep the kettle boiling! Warmest regards, Carolyn & Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing