We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bandolero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bandolero
Ranked #1 of 1 Juzcar B&B and Inns
Ewing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a wonderful place in the mountains of Andalucia. I wish we'd been able to stay longer, but we had to move on to the house we rented in Ronda. The food was out of this world - we drove back from Ronda for dinner one night, and our group of 4 feasted on Chef Ivan's celebrated suckling pig, which was excellent. Everything we ate here was superb. Andalucia is full of restaurants that serve similar dishes, but Ivan takes them all to a higher level, with perfect flavors and textures. He's also an accomplished visual artist, and has added very nice touches to the hotel and restaurant. The rooms were lovely and clean with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, ever, anywhere in the world. David is a charming host, and provided us with suggestions for places to visit and restaurants to try in the area. We didn't get to use the pool, but hope to return and take advantage of everything this terrific place has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaHereAndThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    19
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
26
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benalmadena, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I visited Juzcar for the day with a group from Benalmadena, organised by the Foreign Residents' Department. Our guide to the village (and later fantastic chef) was so friendly and helpful, as were all the staff at Hotel Bandolero where we enjoyed lunch - good food typical of the region.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night to looked at the Smurf town and would have stayed anywhere clean.
To our surprise we found the jewel of the town: the Bandero hotel.
At the east entry of this 100+sole blue village. Beautiful view of the valley, great balcony, large rooms, old look but recent construction, all the comodities, excellent hosts, great info package, great food, rooms immaculates, comfortable beds etc
Actualy worth the detour from Ronda. David was so nice to answer all our questions about the town and was brought him here from NewYork.

Nice base for visiting/hiking the nearby serias.
Highly recommanded.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ducke514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopsteignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place gets full marks. It was the most relaxing, comfortable and agreeable place I stayed in during my trip to Andalucia. The glorious heat, the mountains with their deeply wooded valleys and the hospitality of David and Ivan made this the perfect place to stay (I wish we had booked for longer). The hotel itself was quirky, intriguing - a bit like the Old Curiosity Shop - and deceptively large, as were the rooms themselves. The swimming pool was a most welcome innovation and we used it every day. The food, beautifully prepared included a variety of soups, salads, steaks and fish together with a mouthwatering array of puddings. It was almost impossible to pick my favourite meal, but I think the pork tenderloin just nudges ahead.
This is a wonderful, unique place with French bulldogs, geckos and old sofas.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor have fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Williams348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

The best part of this small hotel is the very helpful hosts. They had loads of well organized material of really interesting things to do and restaurant suggestions in the area. They even gave us a list of some of their favorite restaurants for when we moved on to Seville.
The food was great at the hotel also-we ate there twice and those were the best meals we had in the area.
We had a very large room with french doors opening out onto a lovely terrace-very quiet and comfortable. We had a very nice stay and hope to return sometime!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in late April, Hotel chosen because of location in quiet village in scenic location. Excellent hosts puts us in a very generously-sized room. Evening meals were all excellent - we went through most of menu - and tested Ivan's strawberry tomato gazpacho which sounds a strange combination, but was delicious. Breakfasts were a bit uncertain - no menu as guidance, but what was suggested and provided was fine for us, especially the coffee. Dark interior was perhaps major drawback, felt sorry for the aviary birds. As for the surroundings, very attractive countryside of steep valleys and narrow often twisty roads, but dont be put off by the Smurfication of Juczar. Not sure it has improved appearance, although certainly seems to be a draw for visitors.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We picked the Hotel Bandolero because it was off the beaten path but also central to exploring the nearby sites (Ronda, Zahara and the prehistoric cave paintings at the Cueva de Pilata) . It is located in a beautiful valley that is dotted with white Spanish hill towns and wild flowers. Our hosts, David and Ivan, were friendly, charming and SO helpful. Our HUGE room was both rustic and comfortable and had plenty of space for me, my husband and our two kids. The food, especially the roast pork, was delicious! My daughter and I were lucky enough to take a cooking class with Ivan and learned how to make an amazing paella. Our kids fell in love with David and Ivan's dogs and had fun helping Ivan in the kitchen. We really enjoyed our stay and felt like we were leaving old friends when it was time to go. We hope that we will be able to return again soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WendyLise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juzcar
1.7 mi away
Hotel Los Castanos
Hotel Los Castanos
#1 of 1 in Cartajima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Sierra Hidalga
Hotel Sierra Hidalga
#33 of 39 in Ronda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel San Cayetano
Hotel San Cayetano
#17 of 39 in Ronda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Buitreras
Hotel Rural Buitreras
#3 of 4 in Gaucin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
10.4 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
8.1 mi away
Hotel Ronda
Hotel Ronda
#9 of 39 in Ronda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bandolero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bandolero

Property: Hotel Bandolero
Address: Avenida Havaral 43, 29462 Juzcar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Juzcar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Juzcar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bandolero 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique rural hotel & restaurant found in the only Smurf village in Europe, Júzcar, formerly a typical Andaluz white village. Júzcar remains a charming, beautiful & peaceful spot in the Serranía de Ronda, Malaga. Ideal location for a weekend escape (or longer) alone or with friends and/or family. Gorgeous cuisine, stunning views, outdoor pool; ideal for walking, birding, mushrooming, painting, photography, relaxation. One hour from the Costa del Sol, Júzcar is the perfect central spot to visit Andalucian points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bandolero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bandolero Spain/Juzcar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing