We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the type of bistro you dream of when you go to France”

Le Bistrot de la Cave
Ranked #4 of 25 Restaurants in Dourdan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: French, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: My restaurant give you the chance to try some good food made freshly every day in our cuisine and to drink at the same time some very good wines selected in our own wine cellars.
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

Delightful bistro in the heart of Dourdan opposite the castle offering wonderful home cooking and a very friendly atmosphere. Good beer excellent food and a great selection of wines. As a bonus the owner speaks good English.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 156 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2017 via mobile

Three visits here, all were very good food very good beer and wine, and excellent staff to help a non French speaking client!
Very busy and Definitely underrated!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank tonykeyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016

We stopped here en route to a gite on the Loire. What an excellent start to the holiday. Even though we were a little early, we were made most welcome and given a window seat, a bottle of ice cold water and clean glasses. At noon, we were told what the menu was and by the time it arrived, the place was almost full. There is no menu but the menu du jour is displayed outside and the staff are happy to explain anything you don't understand, e.g. the ingredients of the sauce. We had fresh tomato stuffed with a tuna rillette for starters and the confit du canard with garlic mash to follow. As this is a cave, the glass of wine was excellent; the waitress was keen to explain its provenance. We'd love to go back here as it remained one of the highlights of our stay in France. Street parking is relatively easy, too.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff_and_Juls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Delightfully informal family restaurant. Each day they offer a simple menu of one starter - ours was rilettes - a type of pate - with rustic bread and salad; a choice of two main courses; chicken or beef for us, and dessert plus wines from the restaurant's selection and soft drinks. Very traditional and relaxed. Really enjoyed it.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2016 via mobile

Polite welcome, fast and smiling service and a good menu to choose from, with always 'le plat du jour'.
Today we had the crumbs-coated chicken served with a few spuds and other sliced veges, and that was pretty good. Well cooked and still tender, tasty, spicy but not hot, a good main course.
Various desserts, the creme brulee was excellent and the apple crumble with a scoop of ice creamreally authentic.
Yummy!
Nice wine list too, but this was business so we did not taste any, but we'll be back.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank ClubGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot de la Cave also viewed

 
Dourdan, Essonne
Les Granges-le-Roi, Essonne
 

Been to Le Bistrot de la Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing