We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horror Film Campsite”
Review of Camping Paris-Est

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camping Paris-Est
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Horror Film Campsite”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent one night here whilst cycle touring the Western Front and in to Paris.....the worst campsite we have ever stayed on and without doubt the most filthiest.

Given a pitch that was terrible and all tents seemed to be rammed in to a spare space and classed as a pitch. We were allocated a pitch that once we seen it refused it and they provided another, about twenty minutes later another couple turned up who had been given the previous pitch...customer service terrible.

Showers and toilets Bangkok Hilton style.

And don't forget the motorway that the campsite is right next to, that they don't mention on there site.

AVOID IF YOU CAN AND SLEEP ROUGH...IT'S SAFER.

Room Tip: Go to Camping Bourlogne on west side of France
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DJFreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    37
    44
    29
    25
See reviews for
98
29
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed there 4 days with my family (4 adults). We stayed there with a camping car; we only used camping showers (not so clean). We bought at the reception 4 days 'Visit Paris', essential to explore the city and use freely bus, RER (train) and metro. The bus just at the gate of the camping took us to the station, where we could always find a train to Paris.
On site there is a shop, a restaurant and a play area for kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wings_green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregorylecoutre, Responsable relations clients at Camping Paris-Est, responded to this review, July 30, 2015
Hello,

thanks a lot for your interesting review. We are glad to know that you had globally a nice stay and will forward the information about the showers.

Kind regards,
Gregory Lecoutre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We ( 2 adults and one 9 yr old) are just back from a great week in Paris. Campsite played a large part in both the good and bad of the trip. Firstly the good bits - Bellini was a good size for us but wouldn't want more than four in it. Bus at the campsite took us straight to the station in ten minutes and runs every half hour. From there we were twenty minutes into central paris on the RER/Metro. Parc du Tremblay with loads for the kids to do is five minutes walk away and you are right on top of the river with nice walks/cycle paths in both directions. As the title says we used this as a base for Disney (1/2 hr drive) and to explore paris for which the site is perfect. It does have some bad points and these should be noted if you wish to use the site for anything else. Checking in/out is a disaster and not enjoyable after a ten hour drive. The receptionist cannot multitask so you wait in line for ages before you are even acknowledged. Beware on checkout your van will need to be checked by the cleaning staff so allow time - this is not explained at any point and anyone rushing to get to Calais may struggle!! The shop does have a basic offering and I mean basic - no fresh meat/veg or basic dairy ( milk is available ). Baguettes are available every day (shop open at 8) but allow time for them to be cooked!! General appearance of the site is appalling - you enter via a building site and then under a flyover which doesn't set a great scene - to then be faced with a site which has clearly spent more money on the bar/spa and none on a lawn mower or groundskeeper is disappointing to say the least. There is a basic play area for the kids but again all is overgrown and unkempt. If this was the first week in march I could understand it but in the season there is no excuse.

This is an honest opinion of the site from some frequent campers. It is a disappointing site in a great location that with some tlc could be a great experience but at the moment is missing the mark somewhat!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank Aneres30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays Customer Service Team at Camping Paris-Est, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi,
It's great to hear you had a fun week in Paris, this site is a perfect value option for exploring Paris and Disney.
We advertise and sell this site for this reason as it doesn't have the same facilities as other campsites, although they are making improvements to the facilities they offer with the new spa and wellness area.
The gardening has been addressed with the site in order to improve customer experience.
Thank you for you for taking the time to provide us with your comments.
Many thanks
The Al Fresco team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband & I stayed here with our 2 teenage sons (aged 13 & 14) in April 2013. The sat nav got us here sucessfully from our drive from Calais.
The accomodation is a basic mobile home, very compact but clean & tidy & excellent value for Paris. The cooking facilities consist of 4 gas rings & a microwave. A large fridge freezer was also available. We didn't plan on cooking so it was fine for us. The bedrooms are tiny but fine for a few nights stay. Beds were quite comfortable. Heating worked very well, which was good as it was quite chilly.
On site restaurant & shop are handy, Prices are quite high in the shop so buy things in a supermarket before you get here if you can. However, very handy to have somewhere to eat when you arrive if you don't fancy going out after a long drive.
TOP TIP: There is a general store near to the RER station which was well stocked & cheaper than the site shop.
I think the transport links into Paris is the USP for this camp site. We bought 2 day 'Visit Paris' passes for around 15 euros each. We could use these on buses, RER, Metro & the funicular at Sacre Coeur. There are 2 buses an hour from the campsite & they always ran to time when we were there. Really easy to use the RER & Metro. You can also download apps on your phone with all the maps on before you go.
Remember to check the times of the last bus though, as we did miss it one night & had to get a cab.
We paid for 4 days wifi while we there for 18 euros, which I thought was a reasonable price.
The site was quiet being out of season, but I would imagine it would be buzzing in the summer. The spa wasn't open. The staff in the office were very helpful with regards to purchasing travel tickets & wifi. We were asked if we wanted to pay extra to clean the mobile home before leaving or if we wanted to do it ourself. We opted to do it ourself, which was easy enough to do. As we chose this option we had to leave 1 passport at the office for the duration of our stay, but you can leave a credit card deposit if you don't want to do that.
There are riverfront restaurants you can walk to & bowling, but these weren't open when we were there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaidstoneHolidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays Customer Service Team at Camping Paris-Est, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi,
I think the title of your review sums up Paris Est perfectly, we introduced Paris Est as a good value option for customers to visit Paris and Disney. The site has great transport links, with the bus leaving from the site straight to the RER station - you can be stood in the centre of Paris in under 45minutes.
We're really glad to hear your comments and thank you for your feedback.
The Al Fresco team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We've stayed here last October 2012 for 3 days and 2 nights. We are 7 family members and the house is just right for us. We have 2 rooms, kitchen, refrigerator, bathroom, dining area and a veranda. The camping site / house is made of wood and it's really refreshing in the eyes and we were also surrounded by trees :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregorylecoutre, Responsable relations clients at Camping Paris-Est, responded to this review, July 30, 2015
Dear Robelle,

thanks a lot for this nice review. We are glad to know that your had a nice stay in Paris.

Kind regards,
Gregory Lecoutre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in low season in our campervan for 3 nights.
It isn't that easy to find but there are small signposts all the way to the site. It's quite a long way down what seems like residential roads.
The receptionist was friendly and helpful.
Toilets were clean, free showers.
Good value but as low season the spa etc was closed. Shop slightly expensive, but It is Paris ce la vie!
This site is clean and we felt safe, but as it was quite busy we did lock our van when walking around the site (something we didn't do elsewhere). There's nothing particularly special about it but if you just want to visit Paris the bus stops at the front gate every 30 mins and takes you straight to the RER train, so can be at the Arch de Triomph in 40-45 minutes. You can buy travel passes at reception (23 euro for 3 days bus, train and metro). Worth doing.
Very convenient no frills launch pad into a great city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregorylecoutre, Responsable relations clients at Camping Paris-Est, responded to this review, July 30, 2015
Hello Charlie,

thanks a lot for this interesting review.

Best regards,
Gregory Lecoutre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We booked into Paris Est for 2 nights in February 2013 prior to our visit to Disney. This allowed us to travel out on Sunday (roads nice and quiet), visit Paris on Monday, and check out and drive the short distance to Disney on Tuesday.

Our concerns prior to arrival that the unit may be cold were quickly forgotten. All Thomson Al Fresco units are modern, with electric heaters in both bedrooms, bathroom and living room. I assume that the park staff had turned these on some time before we arrived, and the unit gave us a nice warm welcome whilst the temperatures froze outside.

Other reviews have stated that the units are small - and they are rather comfy. You would struggle with 6 people, but it is manageable. There is no toaster, but a kettle to use on the hop is provided. There was no oven in ours, but we did have a microwave with an in built oven. Plenty of crockery and utencils etc. Reasonable amount of storage space (pretty good in the main bedroom), and bathroom and shower were quite spacious, whilst the shower was nice and warm.

The location is great to visit Paris, allthough we had no time to visit the local area during our short stay. Facilities are a little limited and the on-site shops etc were not open form what we could see. There was an outdoor play area for children, and I Imagine that there was more to do in the nearby Parc. Otherwise, you could take a stroll along the Seine which flows by next to the parc.

We bought the day travel passes from reception (around €10 per day per adult) and caught the bus right outside the main gate which took us to Joinvile Le Pont RER Station, with regular trains into central Paris stopping off near to many of the main sites. Despite having a double buggy we were able to take it on the bus and throught the RER without folding, leaving our youngest daughter secure and snug. Some stations will have stairs, so you may need to carry the buggy at times. Otherwise, we found no issues with getting around Paris on the RER or Metro.

Some directions show that you go around Parc De Tromblay, but once you exit the motorwaty junction you can take the road for the Parc which runs along the river (some maps show that the road terminates before you reach the campsite - not true). Plan your journey ahead, and you should have no problem. On exit, you simply follow the signs from the parc that take you back to the motorway junction. From there, Disney is only some 20 mins.

Staff were very helpfull with advice, directions etc.

We would certainly consider staying here again. It's a great place to combine a Paris trip with Disney.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dai47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays Customer Service Team at Camping Paris-Est, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Paris and Disney, thank you for providing the feedback on your stay with us. We hope to see you again, Al Fresco Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champigny-sur-Marne
Passy
Camping Indigo Paris Bois de Boulogne
Comfort Hotel Champigny sur Marn...
#1 of 2 in Champigny-sur-Marne
51 reviews
Ibis Budget Sucy en Brie
#1 of 1 in Sucy-en-Brie
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Nogent Sur Marne
#4 of 4 in Nogent-sur-Marne
158 reviews
Campanile Nogent Sur Marne
#1 of 4 in Nogent-sur-Marne
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Paris-Est? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Paris-Est

Property: Camping Paris-Est
Address: 23 boulevard des Allies, 94507 Champigny-sur-Marne, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Val-de-Marne > Champigny-sur-Marne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Champigny-sur-Marne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Paris-Est 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from the centre of Paris... On the banks of the River Marne, this holiday park is a breath of fresh air in the midst of a busy urban setting - 20 acres of wooded park land less than 10 km from Paris. An ideal spot for visiting Disneyland(R) Paris(1) or simply relaxing in this old village, home to market gardeners and craftsmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, PitchUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Camping Paris-Est reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing