We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit the mark” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Du Cours

Cafe Du Cours
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Vacqueyras
Price range: $19 - $25
Cuisines: French, Barbecue, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Hit the mark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

A recent lunch (in the shaded street, under the great lime trees, on a sun filled day) delivered for us in a big way: good food at a great price with a touch of imagination. As my wife observed, she never thought she'd see me enjoying a plate of courgette as a starter, but this one (thinly sliced, with tappenade and parmesan) really hit the mark. Main courses come from the barbecue or not, depending on your choice; my daube was from the kitchen and was exactly what I hoped for. The outside tables, which stretch along the street, were full and tourists were in the minority. Staff were great. Good wine. This is a real value place and a great alternative to the many places around offering a cuisine higher in ambition but also in price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MontrachetJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    97
    15
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Super meal in lovely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a delicious lunch off the 22 euro menu which reflected anticipated good quality local cuisine (wasn't expecting Michelin stars) complete with beer beforehand and a carafe of local rose with the meal. The lunch sitting was busy, but the service was spot on, friendly (without being overly so!) and dealt with our requirement for a vegetarian main course with "pas de probleme". The salade starters were generous (nothing "pover" here), nicely dressed and presented, clearly of local and good quality source (contrary to ardoise08 review - suspect the kitchen is just well prepared!). The brochette de beouf was cooked perfectly au point, moist, tender and tasty. The accompanying vegetable dishes were interesting (grated courgette in a creamy cheesy sauce lovely!), tasty and cooked well. The desserts were also excellent. People watching was fascinating, including plenty of locals taking lunch too. Watched a pleasant couple arrive soon after the advertised fin de dejeuner time, ask the waiter nicely in broken french if lunch still possible - they had a lovely meal too. A couple who arrived just after these, with a demanding attitude, were not accommodated in such a way. Remember this is a Café with a restaurant for lunch (12-2pm) and dinner! We will not only be returning, but also encouraging others do so too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A super meal. Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Just had a meal at cafe de cours in Vacqueyras. Party of eight. Made very welcome. Really good food. Had 22 euro menu. Very good choice. Interesting starters. I had generous portion of asparagus with egg and salad. Main course choice excellent, meat and fish. Between the party we tried 5, all very good. Desserts - again very good. I had ile flottant - one of the best I have tasted. Really amazed at previous reviews. One of the best value meals I have had in France. Full of locals - always a good sign. Wine prices reasonable too. Try Château Montmiral - both red and white Vacqueyras were excellent. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Restaurant in a shady Vacqueyras street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We enjoyed our lunch at the Cafe Du Cours, choosing from the €22 'Menu Garrigues', accompanied by a beautiful Vacqueyras red wine. The service was both smart and friendly; the food, while not of the highest standard, was pretty good. Not a bad way to spend lunchtime in this part of the world.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Acreman38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maastricht
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Deception!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Typical touristtreatment by an arrogant macho host. Pover salade for lunch. Part of our holiday in La Douce France to forget!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 0Robertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Du Cours also viewed

Vacqueyras, Vaucluse
Gigondas, Vaucluse
 

Been to Cafe Du Cours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing