We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison du Paradou
Ranked #4 of 4 Paradou B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed one week in the three-bedroom, three-bathroom, self-contained villa on site with its own pool. The property is fantastic and the owners, Nick and Andrea, have thought of everything. No expense has been spared. This truly is a wonderful property from which to explore the area. I would have no hesitation in recommending it for couples and families. The owners are charming and very welcoming. We were sorry to leave and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    5
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
15
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We enjoyed a great holiday at La Maison in 2011 and so for the first time we returned to the same place in consecutive years. We had a wonderful relaxing five days at the end of June 2012. We stayed in Emeraude which was sumptuous with an exquisite bathroom. However, our stay in Citrine last time was equally lovely. The rooms are a testament to Andrea and Nick's design and colour skills which makes the bedrooms, and indeed the whole of the house, so inviting and warm. La Maison is fascinating and has been painstakingly restored. The ground floor is a multi-arched room with calm, cool, comfortable areas to sit and admire the art. Andrea's great breakfast awaits with a beautiful melon and berry laden fruit salad.
It is the welcome, the hosts and the ambiance that really make this place so special. Nick and Andrea work endlessly to ensure that guests needs are catered for with help, advice and maps on a days activities over breakfast (which is a very flexible affair) while enjoying the relaxing atmosphere of the garden and poolside with other guests. Nick will help with recommendations and bookings for any evening restaurant or bistro. They make it as stress free as possible. We are not at all surprised that they won the 2011 Hospitality Award - they will take a lot of beating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docs-DandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Beautifully restored former coach house in the pretty village Le Paradou just outside of St. Remy en Provence. We stayed in "La Maison Bleue", a pretty three bedroom stand alone house on the property. While not quite as gorgeously designed as the rooms inside the main house, it is very tastefully decorated and worked very well for our family of four. The owners, Nick and Andrea, are a lovely couple and very warm and welcoming hosts. Nick has fantastic recommendations for dinner and made us a reservation for the night of our arrival at the wonderful Bistrot du Paradou, an experience not to be missed. Sundowners with Nick and Andrea and the other guests before heading off to dinner are fun, but nobody has to join if they don't feel like it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank like2cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We are well seasoned travellers, we liked the other guests who were a very international bunch, which suited us as we are of an Indian background, born and bred in London. We stayed at La Maison Paradou last year. We thought the property itself was quite nice, not immaculate, but very good.

Unfortunately, we found the owners, stand offish, unhelpful and not inclusive of us, we couldn't explain why, as we are normally seen as a nice family who are very well liked.

They did not warm to us and especially to my 4 year old daughter, Nick (The owner) called her a "pest"! She was only playing and some small stones went in the pool. They moved us 4 times in a weeks stay! We did book fairly late, but this was unacceptable. We had also booked through Splendia. Nick himself stated on many occasions that he lost out financially because of this, which obviously was not our issue!

The pool is not heated and very cold, one can barely swim in the pool, even if it's scorching outside.

We felt the owners made little effort to talk to us and as we chose not to partake in their cold breakfast buffet (a great french patisserie was just round the corner, which a great petit dejeuner at a third of the price!), they accused us of not wanting to join in with the other residents? They apparently told people what to do in the area at breakfast time, when we asked why they did not give us any information on what to do in the area, they said they mainly tell people at breakfast.

They also have an honesty bar, I felt that we were being very closely monitered when we took things, why the owners wife was so on edge is beyond us! This place if it had more sensible owners, could be fantastic, but it falls well short of that.

We came away feeling thoroughly disappointed and would never return to this place again.

My opinion is that these owners will please who they want to please, and those people will come away feeling this place is really great, however, unfortuantely we were not those people.

I was in two minds whether to upload this review, however, after some careful consideration I feel there is another side to this guest house, where all is certainly "not" perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chilop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at La Maison du Paradou, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We are astounded that these guests have waited a year to post a review which we consider to be at best misleading.
1. The booking was indeed made very late through Splendia. Given that we could only accommodate these guests by having them change rooms (even spending one night at a neighbouring hotel) we informed them of this through Splendia and offered them the option of cancelling the reservation they had made through Splendia.
2. The financial "loss" was in the cost to us of the external room for the one night, clearly not for the entire stay.
3. Our pool is heated when necessary but in mid-July in Provence, this is clearly not required when a pool temperature of 28C is maintained!
4. The breakfast buffet we offer includes bread, pastries, meats, cheeses, eggs, cereals, fresh fruit salad, freshly pressed orange juice, tea, coffee, etc... At the local baker they will have had coffee, pastries and little else for their money. By being absent, these clients missed out on the chat, the briefings and the camaraderie that develops between us and the other guests but this was their choice.
5. All our guests tend to gather for drinks in the early evening and this is a friendly and chatty time. Mr K and his family were also invited to join us but chose to avoid this opportunity to join in as well.
6. Contrary to what is said, we felt sorry for their daughter G who we liked very much but who was ignored while her parents slept in bed on their first afternoon. As she was bored, she played with whatever she could find and did, without realising it, make a nuisance of herself. Indeed, a 4 year-old left alone in a property with many water features is at risk, so much so that my wife spent quite a lot of time entertaining her, even lending her games. Even when the parents were around on other days, G was ignored. My wife therefore considered that she had to make a comment to the parents as the throwing of stones and some of her other behaviour was disturbing our other guests. Neither of us called her a pest - it was the parent's fault not hers!

Our impression was that Mr K had stretched his budget and that he could not really afford to stay with us: the cost of breakfast, the absence for evening drinks, his 4 yr old daughter sleeping in the parent’s bed, rather than in a child's bed which we can provide, were all indications of this. He even sought to cover his embarrassment by claiming we were racially prejudiced rather than admitting that he sought isolation.

We have many guests of every race and creed all of whom have thoroughly enjoyed their stay with us. We are of course disappointed that Mr K feels the way he does but suggest he tries to be a little more realistic and honest with himself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Thinking about this year's holiday somehow had neglected to write how excellent our stay was at the Maison Bleu. This cottage in the grounds of the main Maison had been recently converted to a very high specification with its own pool and we even had fresh bread delivered each morning. Our hosts were marvellous helping with places to visit and finding us tables at outstanding local restaurants - which we would never have tracked down. But best were the candle lit dinners with all the guests under the trellises on the Patio. Go if you can. Tony and Linda Wright

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Positives: Everything about the location, facilities, amenities, service is perfect. The place itself is beautiful and calm, and in a picturesque, well located village. The hosts are friendly and very helpful (if not instrumental) in finding good dinner spots and securing reservations (very important given the short notice they get!). Lots of good tips and written guidance/directions about where to go, what to see. The host checks in you with every morning at breakfast to plan your day if you need help. I didn’t get the impression that the hosts were “selling” certain places and restaurants but that they genuinely had your interests at heart.

Negatives: Very communal feel, so hard at times to feel “alone” if that is important to you (this is positive or negative depending on your preference; both for me with a tendency toward more privacy) . The credit card machine was down which a number of guests were upset about (and crucial for most tourists and given the amounts involved), but I understand this is being fixed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful boutique hotel, lovely rooms, luxury bathrooms big soft comfortable bed, excellent breakfast on sunny terrace. Splendid wine, charming host and hostess, attention to detail amazing. You feel like a guest not a customer. We'll go back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domnsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paradou
0.5 mi away
Hameau des Baux
Hameau des Baux
#2 of 2 in Paradou
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mas de l'Oulivie
Mas de l'Oulivie
#3 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baumaniere les Baux de Provence
Baumaniere les Baux de Provence
#4 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel B Design & Spa
Hotel B Design & Spa
#1 of 2 in Paradou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.3 mi away
Benvengudo
Benvengudo
#5 of 8 in Les Baux de Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Du Cote des Olivades
Du Cote des Olivades
#1 of 4 in Paradou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison du Paradou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Paradou

Property: La Maison du Paradou
Address: 2 route de Saint Roch, 13520 Paradou, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Paradou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Paradou
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a luxury boutique hotel with emphasis on making our guests feel at home. Light lunches can be provided for guests with prior notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Maison du Paradou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Paradou Hotel Paradou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing