We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Provence”
Review of Moulin de la Roque

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Noves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moulin de la Roque
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in Provence”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the Moulin for one week in August and had a wonderful time. The estate is even more beautiful than the pictures; it is impeccably maintained and our two units were charming, perfectly clean, and well-equipped for cooking. Guy and Gaby were helpful with travel information, made a few phone calls for us and spoke on our behalf, and welcomed us in every way. The charming local town of Noves is a short walk from the estate and is close to major roads and many interesting travel destinations. I will definitely stay there again if I am lucky enough to be back in that area of France. The Moulin is pure paradise!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
94
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband, three children (10, 10 and 7) and I stayed at Moulin de la Roque for a week in July and had a fantastic time. Guy and Gaby were the perfect hosts and provided a warm welcome with as much information as we needed for our week exploring. The estate has 9 lodgings, but we always felt that we had privacy and as much space as we needed. The grounds are beautifully kept with lovely gardens, patios and huge lawn for the kids to run around on. The pool was a big hit for cooling off and a relaxing place to spend some quiet time.
Our accommodation in the old mill was perfect. The kitchen was well set up and even had olive oil and balsamic vinegar (the small things make a big difference to me!). We had a remote outside eating terrace which we used every day.
We highly recommend Moulin de la Roque to anyone, and hope to return their ourselves one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I spent a week at Moulin in a beautiful apartment in the old mill building. Gaby welcomed us, even helped with our luggage after showing us around the fantastic property. The apartment was well appointed with two bedrooms, separate living and dining rooms and a well appointed kitchen. The master bedroom was airy with an opening skylight for good ventilation and cooling. There was a clothes washer and outside access to clothes lines for drying.

The property was gorgeous, with a large swimming pool, a private terrace for each unit, with its own grill and seating area. The views in all directions were spectacular. Located less than a half hour from Avignon Moulin was well situated for our plan to visit throughout the Provence.

Gaby assisted with directions and restaurant reservations, setting us up our first night, after having been traveling since the previous morning, with a local pizzeria that served a great grilled duck breast and frites- Pizzeria Rocas.

Out only regret was that with our busy itinerary traveling throughout the region we only got to use the pool once. If we have the opportunity to return to this area for another visit (there is still plenty to see) we will allow more time to enjoy the facility during the day.

Thanks to Gaby and Guy for being the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: A variety of choices including for larger groups - all the free standing apartments are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have now stayed with Guy and Gaby 3 times, and each time is better than before. We had 9 with us this time (6 adults and 3 children) and once again the 3 granddaughters were allowed the run of the grounds in complete safety while we had local wines and cheeses on the patio. The pool area is expansive with nice furnishings and a ping-pong table as well foosball so the adults can sun while the children play or swim.

Guy and Gaby are wonderful hosts and the Moulin a great venue. The village of Noves is very close by and has all of the necessary shopping for the stay. The town of St-Remy-de-Provence is a short drive and worth the time to see.

Room Tip: All of the various sized gites are suited to specific sized groups and the Owners can guide you as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbrooksr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful weeks in June at the Moulin de la Roque. The situation exceeded our expectations - beautiful facilities and grounds, delightfully welcoming and helpful hosts, fantastic location, and a charming Provencal town right there. All ages loved the beauty of the place. The kids (11 and 7) had a wonderful time swimming, playing badminton, petanque and jumping on the trampolines. They loved having the freedom to run and play without constant adult supervision.Young adults enjoyed the hiking trails above the property, and older folks loved strolling into town for daily croissants and baguettes. Each "villa" is situated in such a way to give everyone privacy, including separate patios for each house. Oh, and the landscaping is magnificent! Both grandchildren said, in slightly different ways, "I wish I could live here!" Me too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had been staying in Relais and Chateau properties for several days during this two week trip to France. We had a group of four couples and had stayed in Paris, Dijon, Lyon and Avignon as we worked our way toward Provence. We stayed at the villa, Les Cigales. The grounds are beautiful and they are adjacent to a state park for hiking. The villa was clean and up to date. Ate many meals we made ourselves and in local restaurants. The location was perfect to explore all of Provence and was barely 90 minutes from the Cote Azur. Guy and Gaby were great - providing suggested day trips and providing a tour of the property and the old mill. A wonderful week and we plan to return.

Room Tip: Les Cigales villa is the largest but these are other size options on the property. I think there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnboy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We typically stay in Relais Chateaux affiliated hotels when in Europe. Decided to go the villa route and stay in one place for a week this time, and worth every moment. Gaby and Guy are wonderful hosts, the villas are superb, and the grounds gorgeous.
They have done marvels with an old mill grounds full of history. One thing of joy superbly done is each villa having it's own patio totally secluded from the other villas. We spent many wonderful hours sitting, drinking wine, and enjoying perfect weather and friends.
It's a 5-10 min walk into a small village that is quaint but has what you need. And a perfect location for seeing the sights of southern France, many, many things are within an hr or so.
I highly recommend Moulin de la Roque, you will have a superb time without any regrets. You must get the tour and history of the site from Guy, that alone is worth the trip. It's a very special place, for them to have the vision of transforming this place into an experience they share with each of us is a treasure.
A special place with special people and worth sharing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noves
9.6 mi away
Moulin de la Roque
Moulin de la Roque
#1 of 1 in Althen-des-Paluds
112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge de Noves
Auberge de Noves
#1 of 2 in Noves
224 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Paradou
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
262 reviews
5.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
958 reviews
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Le Lavarin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin de la Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin de la Roque

Property: Moulin de la Roque
Address: Chemin de la Roque, 13550 Noves, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Noves
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Noves
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOULIN DE LA ROQUE - Noves is a stunning historic twelve acre gated estate situated between Saint Remy de Provence and Avignon, in the heart of Provence, South of France. We are a charming hammeau (little village) with several farmhouses all renovated from historic buildings that once served the old mill. We are the owners, Baron Guy Fallon and Gaby and are passionate about Provence and our mill. We live in the manor house on the property and are here for you for whatever you may need. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing