We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect vacation in Provence”
Review of Moulin de la Roque

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Noves
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moulin de la Roque
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“A perfect vacation in Provence”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We had the best time in this beautifully restored site. Each accommodation is independent, fully furnished, perfectly equipped and spotless. We had our own terrace with outdoor furniture, umbrella, and the option of using the BBQ to grill out.
The grounds are perfectly landscaped with a great - and also extremely clean - pool. A set of trampolines and a "piste de boules" make it complete for outdoor fun for the kids. It's an ideal spot for a family vacation or a group of friends who want to keep some independence as well as vacationing together.
It is also the perfect base to explore Provence as it is very central. And it is walking distance from the village of Noves.
Gaby and Guy are very welcoming, friendly and caring. They are very dedicated and will always make sure you get everything you need, including all the information necessary to make the best out of your stay in Provence. That is priceless, especially if you're not familiar with the area and/or the French language.
Highly recommended!

Caroline

Room Tip: Apartments around the main building are probably quieter than within the mill building itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
92
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2011

What a perfect vacation. Absolutely charming, complete with most attractive accomodations in a lovely setting. We could walk into town, enjoy the vistas from out patio, sit by the pool, and travel all over Provence as it is all so centrally located, I hope to take my family of 24 to Moulin de la Roque in 2013!! I have never written a review before but I could not resist after visiting this special place!!! Nancy Revercomb

Room Tip: All those I saw are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed in one of the beautifully restored units in the old mill. Our apartment was enormous, with a living room, separate kitchen and dining area, 2 bedrooms and a large bathroom. Everything was beautifully furnished to a high standard and incredibly clean. We also had access to a terrace area complete with BBQ which is set in the beautiful gardens.

Guy and Gaby are wonderful hosts - very friendly without being intrusive at all. They have produced a guide to the local area which includes a list of all the daily markets and suggested itineraries for your stay - really very useful.

The mill is about a 10 minute walk from Noves which, whilst small, has a a selection of delicious bakeries where you can buy your morning croissants from. It is also very easy to travel to the surrounding towns to visit sites, markets and restaurants.

All in all we had the most fantastic week at moulin de la roque and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 268505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2011

My second trip only made me want to visit again. Moulin de la Roque is a perfect setting and location for a visit to Provence. It has all the charm and beauty you could ever want - plus the convenience of a lovely small village .Guy and Gaby add much to the wonderful atmosphere and are most helpful with your day trips. They have created a real gem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I have been on trip advisor for years, my husband & I are well traved and have always said we were going to write a review, but this is the first time we've actually felt compeled to do it. Guy and Gaby have lovingly restored the ""old mill'' to make it a romanitic getaway in the heart of Provence, not more than 30 minutes from anything we wanted to see. Gabby was so helpful on places to visit that we changed our itinenary and we're glad we did. Nice to go out all day and come back to a wonderful setting. The pool was lovely at sunset.

We stayed in Petit Moulin which was a two bedroom, two bath, one toilet with full kitchen, which was perfect. Rooms were nicely furnished and had eveything you needed. Also had a great outdoor space.
Accomadations fit large groups or a couple. Gaby was kind enough to show us an unoccupied house - we would love to bring friends or family back with us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueKach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcheseuil, France
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2011

The perfect holiday. Guy and Gaby have created an oasis in the heart of Provence. The high standards of every gite, the gardens, the pool and the locality make it a great place to stay and, at the same time, enjoy everything that is on offer in the region. All up, it is excellent value for money and would complete easily with any 4 star accommodation. While no one can guarantee the weather, we have found Moulin de la Roque to be relaxing regardless of the weather. Fortunately this year the weather was perfect so it was a double bonus.
Having visited Provence many times, we have come to realise that it is far better to stay in one place and do day trips from there rather than move from hotel to hotel. Moulin de la Roque is a great place to return to at the end of a busy day and enjoy a home-cooked meal and a glass or two of the local wine in such picturesque surroundings.

Room Tip: Select from the Moulin de la Roque website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 598Peter1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Moulin de la Roque provides the ideal base from which to explore the South of France from Montelimar nestling in the Rhone valley in the North of the region to the picturesque fishing village of Cassis situated on the Mediterranean coast in the South.
The self-catering accommodation is of the highest standard and you will receive a terrific welcome from Guy and Gaby who will ensure your stay will be as enjoyable as possible. The gites are spacious, extremely comfortable and well equipped with everything you might need. Onsite there is a large playing area with facilities for boules, badminton and kids trampolines and a superb outdoor, heated swimming pool. The village of Noves is a short walking distance away and there are number of walking and cycling routes which will allow you to see the local countryside in detail.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noves
0.6 mi away
Auberge de Noves
Auberge de Noves
#1 of 2 in Noves
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
9.6 mi away
Moulin de la Roque
Moulin de la Roque
#1 of 1 in Althen-des-Paluds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
8.3 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue
La Maison sur la Sorgue
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Bastide de Boulbon
La Bastide de Boulbon
#1 of 1 in Boulbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
5.2 mi away
Les Carmes
Les Carmes
#1 of 14 in Le Thor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moulin de la Roque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moulin de la Roque

Property: Moulin de la Roque
Address: Chemin de la Roque, 13550 Noves, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Noves
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Noves
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOULIN DE LA ROQUE - Noves is a stunning historic twelve acre gated estate situated between Saint Remy de Provence and Avignon, in the heart of Provence, South of France. We are a charming hammeau (little village) with several farmhouses all renovated from historic buildings that once served the old mill. We are the owners, Baron Guy Fallon and Gaby and are passionate about Provence and our mill. We live in the manor house on the property and are here for you for whatever you may need. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing