We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views....”
Review of Villa Heliotropes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Heliotropes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Engaging hosts and great views of the bay and fish farms. Tranquil setting, but hard to find. About a mile walk to seaside restaurants.They have a large Saint Benard which is very friendly. Very simple breakfast is served at a large round table.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dadx2x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 77 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2010

The weather was overcast and spitting with rain for two of our three nights' stay, which prevented us from enjoying the house and location to its fullest. We had the largest room with a big bathroom and large terrace with plenty of furniture to sit or recline and contemplate the wonderful view, which was also visible from the bed through two sets of French windows. The hosts were very kind and thoughtful. Dinner was not available during our stay. Our accommodation was very clean and comfortable, but not as upmarket as we had expected. Outside facilities were super with lots of places to sit and relax. It's a three minute walk to the seafront. There are lots of interesting boats and ships coming and going. We also walked to look at the old houses in the area, which was one of the first resorts created by the British for their winter holidays. This is a conservation area, so new building is not permitted. A new park is under construction on the seafront. We liked the fact that it wasn't too much of a tourist resort and that most houses are lived in all year round. Visitors were mainly French. For a quality dinner it's worth travelling to Sanery sur Mer or Bandol. We were disappointed with the Vague d'Or, said to be the best restaurant in the neighbourhood, but didn't notice Les Jardins d'Anglise til the day we were leaving. The owners smoke and there are two dogs- one a huge kindly mastif and two cats. Just down the road there was a large sign with the words 'Chopin and George Sands'. It was the name of a block of flats, but they did hang out in this neighbourhood during their long affair and you can understand why!
Those views and the setting.........

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We like staying in B&Bs that are a bit off the beaten path, so Villa Heliotropes was just what we hoped for to kick off our Provence getaway—and feel like we were really away from our US routine. We found the Terre de Provence room very spacious, furnished in comfortable French-country style, with a large, very comfortable bed, adjoined to a large bathroom fitted with a big combination tub and shower. Both the bedroom and bath had French doors that opened onto very large balcony with plenty of lounge chairs, overlooking the sea—beautiful and very relaxing! The house is located in the area of Tamaris, a pretty hillside suburb of Toulon, without the big town hassle. Toulon itself is a neat place to visit for its Port and old town area—and the bonus we found is that you don’t have to deal with the Toulon traffic or parking: just drive 2 minutes down the hill from the house to the Tamaris waterfront, park the car (free), and take the ferry boat (2 each hour) right to the port of Toulon. So easy! While your innkeepers, Isabelle and Phillipe Bertsch, don’t speak much English, their hospitality is clearly evident, and a little work on both sides makes communication no problem. They provide a very pleasant breakfast to get you started each morning, and in the evening, lots of dinner choices are readily available only 5 minutes away by car in the area of Les Sablettes—many are inexpensive , right on the beach and feature great seafood. So if you’re looking for a place to unwind and feel like you’re really on vacation, this house gets two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank froamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isaphib, Propriétaire at Villa Heliotropes, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank leventquipasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isaphib, Propriétaire at Villa Heliotropes, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank noasix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
1  Thank Kidekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Seyne-sur-Mer
Grand Hotel des Sablettes Plage,...
#1 of 9 in La Seyne-sur-Mer
154 reviews
Rives d'Or Hotel
#5 of 9 in La Seyne-sur-Mer
131 reviews
Kyriad Prestige Toulon - L S S M...
#2 of 9 in La Seyne-sur-Mer
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Toulon La Seyne sur Me...
#9 of 9 in La Seyne-sur-Mer
99 reviews
Le Mourillon
Hotel Les Voiles
Hotel Les Voiles
#1 of 16 in Toulon
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Heliotropes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Heliotropes

Address: Villa Heliotrope 295 B avenue de la Grande Maison, 83500 La Seyne-sur-Mer, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > La Seyne-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in La Seyne-sur-Mer
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Heliotropes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing