We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, elegant surroundings”
Review of La Bonne Etape

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Bonne Etape
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chateau-Arnoux
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A very stylish and friendly hotel - the rooms were cleverly designed and very pretty. We had dinner in the Brasserie - the food was hearty and delicious - and extremely reasonable. It's worth splashing out on the breakfast, we ate ours on our little private terrace.

The pool was calm and sunny - the sunbeds were taken by other guests before we arrived but there were chairs and you can lie poolside. The kitchen gardens were worth wondering about in too.

The rough and ready village bar up the road is quite good for people watching if you want a break from the refined comfort of your hotel. We wandered around the village a bit but it did feel a bit deserted.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Delilah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonneetape04, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to share your satisfaction specially about the design of the rooms and style of the hotel, as I know British Citizens are very demanding and famous for their sharp taste about decoration . (I worked at the Connaught Hotel during my apprenticeship).
Your compliments about our “English style garden with a provençal accent” are very much appreciated, too, and everyone knows gardens are a way of life in Great Britain.
Wandering around the hotel can bear more different aspects, from hiking in the herbs scented hills (very different levels of difficulty and time) to strolling under a calm forest path from the castle in front of the ancient entrance of La Bonne Etape.
One can also enjoy walking around the lake to build an appetite before dinner .
Massages are now available and a room dedicated to these has just been remodeled (for those who more sportively mountain bike or simply in need of cocooning)
Thank you again for sharing your experience
Sincerely
Jany Gleize Chef de cuisine, Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 294 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were on holiday in Provence, and I wanted a pleasant hotel to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary. I picked "La bonne etape" mostly for its central location, but it turned out that I could not possibly have made a better choice for such an occasion.

It started when we arrived. The hotel is located centrally in the village, but in a quiet location. We were greeted by a very friendly staff who spoke English perfectly. The room was very nice, with a view on the garden, the swimming pool and the distant mountains. Everything was perfect; even the wifi worked fine. And, finally, in the evening we had the dining experience of our lives. The food was really excellent, as were the suggested wines, and the staff very attentive and friendly.

In conclusion, this has been one of our most memorable hotels. We'll certainly come again if ever we are in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dag L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonneetape04, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
What a pleasure to have enriched the memory of your wedding anniversary.
Thank you for sharing your feeling which exceeded your expectations.
This is our goal : giving the best of our land to make you live the best of your experience.
Last summer a large number of visitors extended their stay from one or two days to a week or a fortnight. It is a nice reward for us.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you very soon as you wish to.
Very sincerely, thank you again,
Jany Gleize Chef de Cuisine Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We recently stayed here to attend a wedding in the area. What a wonderful find! Our room (31) overlooked both the pool and patio, and our terrace was a delightful place to have breakfast. And what a breakfast - lots of pastries of varied types, breads, fresh fruits, yogurt, even eggs - much more than your usual continental breakfast. The best part of the stay was definitely the delicious meals at the two restaurants on the property. Do not miss a meal - the food was amazing and the service was earnest and attentive. The pool was also a gem. The only downside is the town itself - a good base from which to explore the region, but not terribly interesting in and of itself.

Room Tip: Higher floor and a corner room has best ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isla18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonneetape04, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for taking Time to share your compliments relating your time in La Bonne Étape.
"what a breakfast ! , do not miss a meal ! Pool was a gem !" Thank you !
About "the town itself" : I was born in this village, it is a very nice village indeed, although not well highlighted ; the managing elected team of Château Arnoux are now conscious of the importance of the charm and decor. They started working on improving it all.
The region is really worth spending time to be discovered, you are right, thank you for being an ambassador of this.
Hoping to welcoming you again soon, best regards

Jany Gleize Chef de Cuisine Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel which looks the part and has a lovely swimming pool area. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, however our room, which was a ground floor one had a damp weird smell to it. It was very cold even with the airconditoning turned off and had no windows. It felt a bit like a basement dungeon. The bathroom was well equipped and nicely done but ice cold as well, and this is Provence in July, 30+ C outside. On top of this the bedding was something you would expect in a much cheaper hotel. A real shame because the staff and the setting of this charming hotel get top marks.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Eatthemeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonneetape04, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to share the compliments about hotel, staff, bathroom…
I am really sorry that the problems encountered have not been solved during your staying with us ; the hotel was fully booked as you know and the proposal we made upon arrival (proposing another upgraded room for the same price by 6pm if nobody showed at this time) did not seem to meet with your approval, as we did not see you at that time (and we then thought you did not want to change your room).
An arrival was made later for other customers and the room which was proposed to you was no more available at night.
I have personnaly investigated on the problems you are talking about and will explain to you in details when you come back (relatives of yours live nearby, if I remember well).
Could you please be so kind as to let me know when you visit them again so that I arrange accomodation for you in order to make you enjoy the right experience in La Bonne Etape.
Thank you again.
Best regards
Jany Gleize Chef de Cuisine Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Pleasant accommodations far from the glamorous towns on the Riviera, about an hour and a half on the highway from the Marseille airport. The original house dates from the eighteenth century, roses were in the bloom on the trellises and the young staff tries hard to please.
The room was comfortable if not fancy, just enough storage in one dresser and two small closets, spacious bathroom with side-by-side sinks. The shiny Grohe fixtures in the walk-in shower are probably the only touch of modern.
Our window opened to the garden where M. Gleze, the owner and chef, grows his herbs and flowers, and our door opened onto the outdoor pool. Be sure to dine at La Bonne Etape every night, the fine dining restaurant is worth more than its single Michelin star. Every dessert we sampled was outstanding, and so are the breads and pastries at the breakfast buffet.
This is a good base from which to travel through the small towns of the upper Provence; the highlight for us was Moustiers, a spectacular little village built on a sheer rock wall about an hour's drive east, renowned for its ceramics.
And finally the rates at La Bonne Etape were the best value of any of the four hotels where we stayed on this trip to France. Great little getaway, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 19 is by the pool and the garden and away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonneetape04, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for the time you spent sharing the sharp details which highlighted your staying with us in Haute Provence, area where many assets we are proud of cannot be found on the Riviera, as you noticed.
Every recommendation you posted is so concise and precise, thank you !
Should the restaurant.michelin.fr read your rating and agree with you !
As you might have noticed during your stay, every room is different and can be felt more or less “fancy” according to everybody’s taste, you are right.
Thank you also for underlining the perfect position of La Bonne Etape for travelling around.
Château Arnoux is so near to the Aix en Provence tgv station and the Marseille airport as well, you are more than right !
Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again for another “great little getaway”, thank you again !
Best regards
Jany Gleize, Chef de Cuisine, Maître de Maison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend to celebrate a birthday and enjoyed it very much. We were very well looked after,Thank you .and also very lucky with the weather and were able to enjoy swimming in the pool.Hopefully we will come again one day,The offer was from Groupon,which was very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antonia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonneetape04, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Thank you for taking time to post a comment on this site.
I am glad to know you thoroughly enjoyed your staying with us (you live in Var not far from our place, if I remember well) ; we all will be happy to welcome you again, as you intend to come back.
Best regards
Jany Gleize, Chef de Cuisine, Maître de Maison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently stayed three nights in a junior suite at La Bonne Etape. We had a wonderful stay! The town is very quaint and the hotel is lovely! We appreciated the exceptional service provided by the hotel staff. Special thanks to Nicolas on the staff who really went above and beyond to make our vacation there special!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMillerNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonneetape04, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
Sorry for not answering before,
I am very happy you were thoroughly satisfied with your staying with us in La Bonne Etape.
The whole staff and Nicolas join me to thank you for sharing this advice on Tripadvisor.
Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again for another “special vacation, above and beyond…”
Best regards
Jany Gleize, Chef de Cuisine, Maître de Maison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chateau-Arnoux
16.0 mi away
Le Couvent des Minimes Hotel & SPA L'Occitane
1.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant la Magnanerie
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 3 in Chateau-Arnoux
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
La Bastide St Georges
La Bastide St Georges
#2 of 3 in Forcalquier
275 reviews
23.9 mi away
Villa Borghese
Villa Borghese
#1 of 14 in Greoux les Bains
501 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ibis Sisteron
Ibis Sisteron
#1 of 7 in Sisteron
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bonne Etape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bonne Etape

Address: Chemin du Lac, 04160 Chateau-Arnoux, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Chateau-Arnoux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chateau-Arnoux
Price Range: $206 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Bonne Etape 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your La Bonne Etape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bonne Etape Hotel Chateau-Arnoux
La Bonne Etape Chateau Arnoux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing