We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beachside hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Moriaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Moriaz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cavaliere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Overall we liked the hotel and it was good value. The staff were pleasant and helpful, it was clean, the bed was comfy and being right on the beach had a great view of the sea. There is no fridge in the room but staff were happy to let us put our cold goods in their fridge. Breakfast which was included was typical continental, croissant, fresh bread and jam, yoghurt, tea or coffee. Sometimes a little noisy but overall we had a great time swimming in the azure blue of the mediterranean and eating in their restaurant which was good. Another very good restaurant is the hotel Cavalier next door. The general store across the road is excellent. We would definitely stay again as we loved France.

Room Tip: Room 14 and numbers either side would face directly onto the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent the last night of our holiday at the grand hotel moriatz and were so glad we did! We arrived very early expecting to only leave our bags but our room was available and we'd been upgraded to a beach side room. The ground floor room was delightful. Very comfortable bed, great wet room style shower. We had drinks at the beach side bar in the evening, very relaxing end to the day. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant throughout. From the road side this hotel doesn't look much. The real front to the hotel though is the beach side which is just lovely. We will stay here again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Family owned and run hotel, great location, great attention to detail and just very easy to totally unwind and relax by the Med.
Three generations of the same family have run this hotel and its just very charming. The 70's look of parts of the hotel actually give it it's charm, it it full of tradition and at first you wonder why don't they modernise this or that but then after a few days you realise that this is what makes this hotel special.
You could not wish to stay in a better location if you just want to chill out, a private beach in a beautiful bay, your own pre-allocated sun loungers every day. You even get promoted from the back row of the sun loungers to the front as you stay there over a few days!
My only frustration would be the fact you have a wonderful terrace area and yet dinner is only served inside in an air conditioned dining area overlooking the Med. I would like to have the option to sit outside and eat under the stars in 28 degrees.

Definitely a great hotel and one we will no doubt visit again

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Chain hotels with their ever changing staff, talking lifts, clinical rooms and unattractive situations have their uses but how they lack character or soul. The Grand Hotel is the antithesis of all that. Set right on the beach in the delightful bay of Cavalière, family owned and not built yesterday, this hotel oozes charm and a feeling of things were somehow better when we were all younger.
On its roadward looking side it overlooks a delightful tree shaded boules court and on its seaward side a fine sandy beach with views of the Hyères and Lérins Islands.
Our bathroom had the dreaded plastic shower curtain ( a thing of mine ) and was maybe in need of a little lifting. That said our room was wonderful with its balcony and superb view, oh the view, an extremely large and comfortable double bed, it was everything we had hoped for.
Included in the room rate was breakfast, literally served on the beach, offering a wide choice of fresh bread, pastries, fruit, jams & so forth accompanied by a generous pot of tea or coffee.
The free WiFi connection was simplicity itself, no passwords, it just connects. If only all hotels were like this.
These are nice people and this is a nice hotel, it’s worth a drive. No complaints either with the view from the bathroom window directly through the bedroom to the balcony

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bienterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is the fifth time we have spent a week at this hotel in September, That makes us very nearly newcomers compared with a significant number of our fellow guests. I have not in the past written a review primarily I think because apart from extolling its perfect position there was little else to say. But now there is. A fourth generation of the Moriaz family is now at the helm. They have changed the atmosphere to one which is more customer facing, the best rooms have beed refurbished clean sheets and towels daily (rember this is 3 star), improved menus in the dining room while still maintaing a family welcome We will return agaim.

Room Tip: Sea facing a must if you are on holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billytwotimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We chose this hotel on our way to Nice as a stopover for 3 nights. We were pleasantly surprised. The location is exceptional, directly on a wide cove sandy beach. The restaurant overlooks the water and is a great venue for breakfast in the morning. It is a family run business and has been a hotel for over a hundred years, our welcome by Axel was delightful and he was a wonderful source of information re restaurants, places of interest etc. We had booked a modest room at the rear of the hotel and it was indeed modest but very clean. Quite a good size with an ensuite but the furnishings were not in keeping with the remainder of the hotel. No tea/coffee facilities in the room and no hairdryer. However this was minor compared to the location, the service and value for money, We were told that they are gradually updating parts of the hotel - I presume the beachside rooms are already up to scratch. Cavaliere is a small village and very different to Le Lavandou up the road - great family and get away destination.

Room Tip: Beachside would be exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TerrywithaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

A friend and I stopped over en route from Pau to Monaco. The favourable room rates probably reflected the fact that the restaurant was not due to reopen till early June. However the owners were hugely charming and helpful and the rooms and ensuites very large and immaculate as was the entire hotel. We were not at all surprised to learn that guests return year after year nor that ownership is now moving to the fourth generation. All this and direct access onto a beautiful beach. So good we stayed an extra night! Helped b y the exceptional La Fagouilette restaurant nearby! Will return soon

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank teddyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavaliere
2.6 mi away
Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli
Hotel Les Terrasses du Bailli
#3 of 5 in Rayol-Canadel-sur-Mer
271 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Cavaliere Sur Plage
2.6 mi away
Le Bailli de Suffren
Le Bailli de Suffren
#2 of 5 in Rayol-Canadel-sur-Mer
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Auberge de la Calanque
Auberge de la Calanque
#8 of 38 in Le Lavandou
140 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Espadon
Hotel Espadon
#13 of 38 in Le Lavandou
124 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Pavois
Hotel Le Grand Pavois
#6 of 38 in Le Lavandou
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Moriaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moriaz

Address: 4 avenue du Cap Negre, 83980 Cavaliere, Le Lavandou, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Le Lavandou > Cavaliere
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cavaliere
Price Range: $219 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Moriaz 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Moriaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing