We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent beach side hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Moriaz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Moriaz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cavaliere
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent beach side hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We spent the last night of our holiday at the grand hotel moriatz and were so glad we did! We arrived very early expecting to only leave our bags but our room was available and we'd been upgraded to a beach side room. The ground floor room was delightful. Very comfortable bed, great wet room style shower. We had drinks at the beach side bar in the evening, very relaxing end to the day. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant throughout. From the road side this hotel doesn't look much. The real front to the hotel though is the beach side which is just lovely. We will stay here again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    43
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
51
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Family owned and run hotel, great location, great attention to detail and just very easy to totally unwind and relax by the Med.
Three generations of the same family have run this hotel and its just very charming. The 70's look of parts of the hotel actually give it it's charm, it it full of tradition and at first you wonder why don't they modernise this or that but then after a few days you realise that this is what makes this hotel special.
You could not wish to stay in a better location if you just want to chill out, a private beach in a beautiful bay, your own pre-allocated sun loungers every day. You even get promoted from the back row of the sun loungers to the front as you stay there over a few days!
My only frustration would be the fact you have a wonderful terrace area and yet dinner is only served inside in an air conditioned dining area overlooking the Med. I would like to have the option to sit outside and eat under the stars in 28 degrees.

Definitely a great hotel and one we will no doubt visit again

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Var
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Chain hotels with their ever changing staff, talking lifts, clinical rooms and unattractive situations have their uses but how they lack character or soul. The Grand Hotel is the antithesis of all that. Set right on the beach in the delightful bay of Cavalière, family owned and not built yesterday, this hotel oozes charm and a feeling of things were somehow better when we were all younger.
On its roadward looking side it overlooks a delightful tree shaded boules court and on its seaward side a fine sandy beach with views of the Hyères and Lérins Islands.
Our bathroom had the dreaded plastic shower curtain ( a thing of mine ) and was maybe in need of a little lifting. That said our room was wonderful with its balcony and superb view, oh the view, an extremely large and comfortable double bed, it was everything we had hoped for.
Included in the room rate was breakfast, literally served on the beach, offering a wide choice of fresh bread, pastries, fruit, jams & so forth accompanied by a generous pot of tea or coffee.
The free WiFi connection was simplicity itself, no passwords, it just connects. If only all hotels were like this.
These are nice people and this is a nice hotel, it’s worth a drive. No complaints either with the view from the bathroom window directly through the bedroom to the balcony

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bienterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is the fifth time we have spent a week at this hotel in September, That makes us very nearly newcomers compared with a significant number of our fellow guests. I have not in the past written a review primarily I think because apart from extolling its perfect position there was little else to say. But now there is. A fourth generation of the Moriaz family is now at the helm. They have changed the atmosphere to one which is more customer facing, the best rooms have beed refurbished clean sheets and towels daily (rember this is 3 star), improved menus in the dining room while still maintaing a family welcome We will return agaim.

Room Tip: Sea facing a must if you are on holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billytwotimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We chose this hotel on our way to Nice as a stopover for 3 nights. We were pleasantly surprised. The location is exceptional, directly on a wide cove sandy beach. The restaurant overlooks the water and is a great venue for breakfast in the morning. It is a family run business and has been a hotel for over a hundred years, our welcome by Axel was delightful and he was a wonderful source of information re restaurants, places of interest etc. We had booked a modest room at the rear of the hotel and it was indeed modest but very clean. Quite a good size with an ensuite but the furnishings were not in keeping with the remainder of the hotel. No tea/coffee facilities in the room and no hairdryer. However this was minor compared to the location, the service and value for money, We were told that they are gradually updating parts of the hotel - I presume the beachside rooms are already up to scratch. Cavaliere is a small village and very different to Le Lavandou up the road - great family and get away destination.

Room Tip: Beachside would be exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TerrywithaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.yorkshire uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

A friend and I stopped over en route from Pau to Monaco. The favourable room rates probably reflected the fact that the restaurant was not due to reopen till early June. However the owners were hugely charming and helpful and the rooms and ensuites very large and immaculate as was the entire hotel. We were not at all surprised to learn that guests return year after year nor that ownership is now moving to the fourth generation. All this and direct access onto a beautiful beach. So good we stayed an extra night! Helped b y the exceptional La Fagouilette restaurant nearby! Will return soon

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank teddyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

this hotel is the perfect get-away from it all - the food, the attention and the incomparable situation directly on its own beach is truly unsurpassable...we have been three times and look forward to our fourth trip next year....I first came here over 40 years ago and it still came well up to my high expectations on my return....

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavaliere
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Cavaliere Sur Plage
2.6 mi away
Roc Hotel
Roc Hotel
#7 of 39 in Le Lavandou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beau Soleil
Beau Soleil
#2 of 39 in Le Lavandou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Le Bailli de Suffren
Le Bailli de Suffren
#2 of 5 in Rayol-Canadel-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de la Plage
Hotel de la Plage
#4 of 39 in Le Lavandou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Club De Cavaliere & Spa
Le Club De Cavaliere & Spa
#3 of 39 in Le Lavandou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Moriaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Moriaz

Property: Grand Hotel Moriaz
Address: 4 avenue du Cap Negre, 83980 Cavaliere, Le Lavandou, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Le Lavandou > Cavaliere
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cavaliere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Moriaz 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Moriaz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing