We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Esterel Caravaning. Be Back Soon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esterel Caravaning

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Esterel Caravaning
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Agay
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Esterel Caravaning. Be Back Soon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

I've been doing French camping holidays with my family for around 43 years now, man and boy! Been all over the country and always loved it.
I love France and French people. They are often opinionated and contrary but proud of it. It appears that they would eat anything, and they're proud of that too! But if you're interested, and you want to know their ways, they'll take you in. They'll enjoy you, and you'll enjoy them.
I remember many happy times with my mother and father on camping holidays in France, the fun, the sun and the people. Sadly, as you get older, moving into adulthood, things get more difficult. Generally campsites can't cope with the demands of young adults. Let's face it, it's not easy. Young adults either go elsewhere or end up with trouble.

Eleven years ago I arrived, with my own family, at Esterel Caravaning. When we first arrived at the site it was for a three day stopover on the way to Italy. We stayed for three weeks! The facilities were excellent. Beautiful clean pools. The toilet and shower blocks were excellent. The on site entertainment, with bands like "Oncle Sam" and, later, Objet Trouvé, offered real quality. The Animators, that first year, were extraordinarily talented.
At that time our children's ages ranged from 6 - 16. They just couldn't get enough of it, we had to keep coming back!
A few years later the older kids discovered the nightclub and the international social scene that they are now all part of, on the site.
The lovely thing about the site is that the children have been allowed to grow up with us on holiday. They all still come while we are there, with only our 27 year old son taking a break to do his own thing this year.
It's a complicated job to run a site that offers a secure environment to such a wide range of people. I believe that the management cope very well. They have a good security team and carefully monitor their performance. Bar staff great! Nightclub awesome! Restaurant excellent. Jimmy and his carryout a perennial favourite!
There are wild boars that occasionally get into the site; some times there are grouchy people who think we should all be in bed by 8; there's the odd boundary dispute at the emplacement, night reception offers assistance by way of a Gallic shrug.....but hey it's France for goodness sake! Get used to it! It's something to talk about over a few glasses of wine!
I love the place. We really look forward so much to what is now our annual jaunt. Vive la France!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ciaransmyth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    301
    129
    74
    42
See reviews for
573
156
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic week's holiday at the Esterel campsite. My first comment regards the overall attitude of all the site staff. During our entire stay not one member was ever rude to either myself or my girlfriend.In as far as the site's facilities are concerned. First the negatives:- wifi reception not up to scratch (perhaps can be attributed to the site's strength of connectivity to broadband signal); lack of the site's public lighting system. When returning to the U.K. we had to leave site at 4am to catch our flight. We had to ascend Cardiac Hill in the pitch black on foot with our luggage in tow (4am 23/7/12); Site security (night shift) unprofessional. I know this for I was on nightwatch for a public utility back in the U.K. Once we reached the main reception area we were "greeted" by the recumbent security guard who merely grunted at us and silently sloped off into the dark. Well I say..... Hope you're reading this M Le Directeur! Now the positive points of the site:- the views of around the site are agreeable and picteresque ; the site's shop even if a little on the pricey side was always well stocked and very convenient to have for incidental shopping. We used Leclerc five mins down the road for our weekly shop; we had a meal in the sites main restaurant and found it to be very professionally run as well as any other free standing restaurant in France. The menu at 22 euros was of excellent value and quality; the sites repertoire of evening entertainment can be commended. We went to CirkAzur which we found to be an evening's ageeable light entertainment. We were on an Al Fresco package and found that the Thomson reps most helpful. Thank you Simon, Gemma and team for all your help and advice. Last but not least the site's taxi/ navette service run by a friendly chap. He can be strongly recommended due to his comfy carriage and ability to ferry you to the local Tabac shop for a nominal charge of a packet of Marlborough Red.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have just returned from Esterel Caravanning! Agay. We also used Al Fresco. The site is lovely and well kept, we have been to numerous campsites in France over the past 15 years and this one is certainly good, especially for this area.
It is quite steep in parts & we were half way down what is known as 'Cardiac hill' Probably did us all good but if you have a young family, infirm or elderly family members it could be difficult.
We have 2 comments about the site.
Firstly the saving sunbeds with towels, at the pool, is extremely irritating, at other sites we have been to in the area the towels are removed if their owners are obviously not present, we spent many hours looking at empty sunbeds.
Secondly the wifi/3G reception is terrible, the wifi codes cost upwards of €3 for an hour and it was constantly cutting out. I didn't mind too much, but my teenage kids were fed up with it.
One other comment was that they refused to show the Wimbledon tennis final, apparently the 'button was broken'? Seemed to show the cycling ok! The Tv room wasn't set up for it & a member of staff started trying to sort it, but then dissapeared.
All in all though it was excellent.
As for Al Fresco, we did not have the same experience as the previous reviewer, we had a lovely clean caravan, the staff were very pleasant & helpful. We had a problem with the decking (gap which chair legs got caught in) & it was fixed immediately & the rep & Maintence bloke came to check we were happy afterwards.
So we were happy & would recommend Thomson Al Fresco. Previously we have used, Canvas Holidays, Keycamp & Eurocamp. The AlFreso reps seemed a little older, we have had problems with inexperienced reps used by other companies. However, I feel they are really they are all much of a muchness.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank S J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Esterel staff and facilities are excellent

The Thomson team have no interest, skills or evidence of being trained in customer service, if travelling in 2012 do not expect the service, friendliness, efficiency offered by Eurocamp, Keycamp and Canvas representatives.

First time with Thomson Al Fresco - the product is as good in terms of the caravans offered and the site but if goinf to Esterel go Eurocamp. Don't book your holiday to put up with bad service from staff more interested in blaming the resort for their own inability to communicate basic information to each other. Don't go Thomson Al Fresco at this site if you want the caravan to be cleaned to the standard of competitors van.

The first basic lesson the most senior rep requires is the need to listen to customer feedback and not to argue back and say I find it strange you think there is an issue with Thomson reps here because we have had 5 good reports on tripadvisor this season. I am still at a loss at to how 5 other experiences nullify my experience as an individual.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Thomson Al Fresco

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband, 2 daughters and I stayed at Esterel Caravan site April 2012. Our daughters are 16 mths and 3 1/2. We had a brilliant time. Caravan site and setting is beautiful, staff are very friendly and speak fantastic english. Very clean site and caravans, no concerns over ants or wild boars!!! In April only the main pool was heated so the girls couldn't use the slide as they said it was freezing! However still a great place to sunbathe. We went to Agay and had a great meal at Maobi Plage. A great base. We visited St Tropez, Cannes, Nice, Monaco. All amazing and very accessible.

Room Tip: We booked with Thomson Al Fresco
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegHolly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

It is a few years scince I Travelled this far with my tourer and it was well worth it,this site has a well deserved 5 star rating, large but not crowded,ok I went just out of high season, but it was busy,the pitches are large and more or less flat, and are divided by trees or bushes,very clean facileties,good resturaunt and take away, reasonably priced,very well stocked shop,WiFi throughout the site at 20 Euros for 24 hours actual use, so good for skype and just keeping up with whats happening. If you like a drink then there is a happy hour each day when drinks are then cheap, however outside this hour they are quite expensive, So it's back there next year and we can't wait.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just returned from a week at esterel with my wife and 9 yr old daughter. we all had a great time. Site is lovely, facilities good. we were out of season so much of entertainment and activities are yet to start but that suited us. the location is breath taking, the esterel mountains are amazing but not for the faint hearted if you drive up yourself.
Great beaches just down the road, ideal for visits to Cannes, monte carlo.
Mobile home was brand new, we were the first ones in it - booked through thomson al fresco.
Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: try to ask for a mobile home with a good parking space if you have anything bigger than a mini
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agay
2.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Cap Esterel
2.1 mi away
Le Domaine de l’Esterel
Le Domaine de l’Esterel
#5 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Villa Mauresque
La Villa Mauresque
#1 of 39 in Saint-Raphael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude
Camping Sandaya Douce Quietude
#2 of 22 in Saint-Raphael
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
5.5 mi away
Camping La Baume - Residence La Palmeraie
1.6 mi away
La Vallee Du Paradis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esterel Caravaning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esterel Caravaning

Property: Esterel Caravaning
Address: avenue des Golfs, 83530 Agay, Saint-Raphael, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael > Agay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Agay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Esterel Caravaning 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Esterel Caravaning is a 5-star campsite on the French Riviera. Located in Saint-Raphael, between Cannes and Saint-Tropez and only 3 km from the beach of Agay, Esterel Caravanning is a privileged place for greatest holidays. New in 2016: Water park with slides and pentagliss to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the campsite ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS and PitchUp so you can book your Esterel Caravaning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esterel Caravaning Hotel Agay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing