We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! This was awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Picomtal
Ranked #1 of 2 Crots B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A very good friend urged us to come here. She said it was an amazing experience AND she was right. From the first moment that we arrived to the last one when we reluctantly left, it was wonderful. Upon arrival we were invited into the breakfast room and offered drinks. We were given our choice of rooms and chose a large room with a canopy bed. We were encouraged to enjoy the common rooms and the garden - which we happily did. The next morning, we took a guided tour of the building and gardens and learned the history of the building and what it took to restore it to it's present glory. It was a memorable experience which I hope to repeat someday!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ella052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 124 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a stopover between Annecy and Nice on our road trip through France. We were offered drinks right away and given a tour of the available rooms. Three couples arrived at once and were all able to choose rooms. The chateau is beautifully restored and has modern bathrooms. Our room was the tower room, and was actually a suite with a little sitting room which would have been great for a family with a child. Jacques and Sharon were wonderful hosts and were happy to show us the gardens. Dinner reservations were made for us in a local restaurant which was obviously a favorite with the locals. We had a very nice meal there. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and included wonderful homemade jams. We wish we could have stayed another night so that we could have taken the official tour of the chateau. One night was just not enough!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The castle is romantic, of course, but also very comfortable and ready for 21st century guests. The hosts, Sharon and Jacque, could not be more helpful. Private tour of the renovated castle, reservations at different romantic dinner spots every night, excellent suggestions of hiking and tourist activities, yummy and extensive breakfasts, cool refreshing afternoon drinks in the garden, wonderful conversation. It was hard to leave ...

Room Tip: We saw every room and they are ALL great. We stayed in the Tower Room (don't remember the name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StradlerUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were traveling with our French friends who had stayed here once before. It was wonderful! We were met by the owners, Jacques and Sharon, and immediately offered a glass of wine. We were given a tour of all the rooms, and given a history of the castle and the restoration. My husband and I chose the L'Illustre Inconnu room as it was the old library and I am a librarian. It was gorgeous. We loved the chapel with the original paintings pained by the grandmother of the last owner. We had a nightcap in the music room. Breakfast included warm croissants and pain au chocolate, yogurt, cereal, fresh fruit, juices, teas and coffee, and homemade jellies from the region. Sharon gave us recommendations for dinner, and we enjoyed pizzas at a local restaurant within a 5minute walk from the chateau. Food was great and the restaurant was filled with locals. The gardens were beautiful with spring flowers and with the 16 kumquat trees that had just recently been moved from their winter home. Before we said goodbye, we watched a short film on the restoration which was very interesting to all especially my husband who loves construction and our friend who is a civil engineer. We all agreed that the attention to details was superb. The next time we come we will stay longer.

Room Tip: You can choose a light and airy room or darker with more wood. All the bathrooms are modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Picomtal castle has been lovingly and meticulously restored to it's eighteen century glory by Sharon & Jacques, the couple who owns and runs it. Every room, both communal and private, will take you back in time a couple of centuries and you will feel like you are living the life of a nobleman. The only concessions to modern times are for the bathroom and the mattresses, to offer the best possible comfort. Every bedroom has it's own unique personality, but they truly are one more magnificent than the other. Castle tours are also available for guests and those who enjoy restoration and DIY will be blown away by the documentary about the restoration of the Castle. Being a family run hotel, service is very friendly, but always impeccable. Breakfast offer delicious local products, both sweet and salty. One final note: if you are an AFS volunteer or former participant, mention that to Sharon & Jacques to hear the story of foreign students living in the Castle!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItaNickBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

In my mind I had conjured up a castle of shiny armour, hidden rooms, dungeons with racks and chains, turretts with winding staircases and damsels in distress! In my dream I had forgotten about the governing regulations required to operate what is essentially a bed & breakfast in a castle eg. plumbing, fire sprinklers, safety signage etc so my initial reaction when entering the bedroom was slight dismay. This was rapidally overcome though as I came back to my senses and just took in the history of what was and the amazing upgrade undertaken by owners Jacque & Sharon to bring it back to its former glory all be it with modifications for us tourists.
We stayed 2 nights but the rooms are not set up for long stays, no fridge, no tea/coffee facilities, no glasses , no TV/ music, no wireless in rms. This is to keep in with the theme of a old worldly castle setting but a glass or two of our "chilled" champagne after a long drive there would have been a nice option. the owners/operators are very welcoming & friendly providing a personal touch to the stay and are happy to share the history and their experiences. Continental breakfast was provided each morning but this was very basic, ok for a 1 night stay not 2. All said the rooms were comfortable and clean, service friendly and a stay here gives you a unique experience of staying in a "real" chateau steeped in history.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Having arrived back in Australia after 8 weeks in Europe we would be remiss in not mentioning this beautiful chateau where we had the privilege of staying for a couple of nights.
This labour of love by its on site owners Sharon & Jacques is something really special. Attention to detail is impeccable and we can only say how fortunate we are that this lovely couple have opened up this amazing chateaux for the public to enjoy.. After pleasant days exploring this beautiful area it was very special to come 'home' to the Chateau. Thank you guys for sharing your amazing home.

Room Tip: Try the little restaurants in Embrun, the one that Sharon recommended was not so good (for us)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian1andlaurie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de Picomtal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Picomtal

Address: Le Village, 05200 Crots, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Hautes-Alpes > Crots
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Crots
Price Range: $171 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Hautes-Alpes, next to town of Embrun, overlooking Lake Serre-Poncon, a medieval castle offers nine charming guestrooms and suites. Your hosts, Sharon, originally from Boston and Jacques, welcome your seminars, conferences, cultural events, receptions and also organize cooking classes, concerts and guided tours in a magnificent setting in the Southern French Alps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de Picomtal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing