We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid 2 star property”
Review of L'Acqua Viva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Acqua Viva Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calacuccia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is why we stay at 2 star properties. This one is family owned/operated & spotlessly clean. Basic rooms, but all you need & in a spectacularly scenic area. Four generations when we checked in - grandfather/grandmother, mother/father, son/daughter & grandchild were in the lobby with a fire in the fireplace. What is not to enjoy about this atmosphere? A very beautiful drive from Cortes. This is why you visit Corsica.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 140 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2009

This is a must stay for Corsica. Situated on one of the must do road trips ( we were on motorbike) from Portu in West to Corte in Centre. The gorges are unforgettable. This hotel is truly a gem. If you are a hiker, it is a premier spot. If you, like us, just like peace and beauty then its still a must do. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful, really lovely. the Bar is lively and busy with a huige slice of local flabour and life morning and evening, for the observber of culture - what a gem. The secenery is gentle and wonderful, the rooms are very comfortable and have nice balconies but what makes this hotel so memorable apart from the local friendliness is their invitation to dine at a local restaurant where you are fed what is from the farm today. Mum is a fabulous cook, the service is friendly, and you only get there by invitation. What an experience, and go hungry because you will explode otherwise. This was one of our best memories of an otherwise usual lack of warmth and welcome in Corsica!
They also made our wee chihuahua very warmly welcome, which we appreciated.
Le premiere hotel du Corse!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruatara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2008

We stayed here for two nights while walking with Sherpa Expeditions. The hotel is at the top of the town and doubles up as a petrol station and local meeting place in the bar. It was really clean with really pretty rooms with balconies overlooking those wonderful mountains. Breakfast was served on a lovely outside terrace- again lovely views. Peronally we would have liked more food because we were walking - and the bread was a little tough... I think you are supposed to dip it in your drink - but not bad) The staff were lovely - so friendly even though we hadn't got much French. There was a fab little shop next door that sold picnic stuff and pastries. We ate twice at U Valldoniellu in the centre of town - which was good - we recommend the set menus - better value. Calacuccia hasn't got much going on but that's not why you go there.... the walking around here is fanatstic. We walked from Corte to here which was over 9 hours but with views to die for. Then we walked to Col de Vergio the next day -again with beautiful scenery - the pine forests were welcoming in the heat. The dam and the lake were worth a visit even though the locals say that the lake has changed the weather and we did have one spectacular thunder storm on one afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chorleyreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank val_gaillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres sont calmes parce que l'hôtel est niché dans la nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domilalandaise40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hikingjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Felix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calacuccia
7.5 mi away
Les Jardins De La Glaciere
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Balduina
Hotel Casa Balduina
#2 of 3 in Calacuccia
68 reviews
7.3 mi away
Dominique Colonna
Dominique Colonna
#1 of 9 in Corte
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hotel U Frascone
Hotel U Frascone
#1 of 3 in Venaco
144 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Duc de Padoue
Hotel Duc de Padoue
#4 of 9 in Corte
162 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel E Caselle
Hotel E Caselle
#2 of 3 in Venaco
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Acqua Viva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Acqua Viva Hotel

Address: 45 Village, 20224 Calacuccia, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calacuccia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calacuccia
Price Range: $73 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Acqua Viva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Acqua Viva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Acqua Viva Hotel Calacuccia, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing