We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but .......” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Castel Brando

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Castel Brando
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brando
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but .......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lovely hotel but beware rooms near the main road - it is very busy from early on but the worst nuisance was rubbish being collected from bins adjacent to the hotel at 4.30 in the morning every morning we were there! 6 skip type bins were noisily emptied into a refuse truck - why it has to be in the middle of the night I just don't know. When I complained at reception the girl just shrugged her shoulders, so much for customer service! To avoid any noise it is probably best to stay in the superior rooms at the back of the hotel and well away from the road. Breakfast was OK but far better value to cross the road and have it overlooking the harbour for less than half the price the hotel charges. We had more choice for breakfast at a 2* hotel we stayed at previously than we did at Castel Brando. Overall we were disappointed with the hotel but loved Erbalunga - there are 5 or 6 restaurants overlooking the water just across from the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for rooms behind the swimming pool at the back of the hotel grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Testamora, Directeur général at Hotel Castel Brando, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
First we would like to thank you very much to had stay in our hotel .
We feel very sorry that you've been waked up so early but the bin collection is outside the hotel , and we're trying to resolve this little problem wich is not depending on our will.
Concerning the breakfast we understand very well that you had more choice in an another 2 stars hotel, but our choice is not to provide a very big diversity but the best quality . As we' ve choosen to propose a choice of organics products, local, and home made food. Our café is Nespresso

We hope to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    152
    31
    7
    0
See reviews for
90
336
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Charming Hotel well located in this town of Corsica. Swimming pools, clean big rooms,nice welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lil0ux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here last week in May. We had a privilege room in the new annexe with a large balcony looking out across the smaller of the 2 swimming pools. It rained virtually non stop for the first 2 days and we both suffered from food poisoning on the 3rd day so when I say this was a fantastic place you get some idea of just how good it was. We've rarely found a place where it is so easy to just relax and do nothing. (Though there does seem to a be a lot you could do nearby, walking, diving etc and a visit to Basti is well worth while )

The hotel is right in the centre of the small village of Erbulanga and the main building is an (I think) C19th house which has had further rooms built on in nicely landscaped grounds. It is hard to remember that this is a 3* hotel because it feels much more like a 5*. Maybe this is what prompted some of the negative comment in some other reviews. The room was large, very clean, light airy and comfortable. A good buffet breakfast - cereals, croissants, Corsican ham and cheese is served on the terrace or in the conservatory (which can get a bit full) in bad weather. There is a tempting looking mini spa. Across the road and you are within a few metres of the harbour, and a stroll along the beach. The buildings are not poshed up and it is not really pretty pretty but the effect is serene and enchanting. The perfect place to stand and stare. There are a few shops and many restaurants, which should make up for the lack of a restaurant in the hotel. Unfortunately we found them all disappointing - maybe it was because we were off season, as a few get good reviews elsewhere but the food was standard tourist food in all we tried except for a magnificent pizza in the St Antoine just up the road from the hotel. Even Il Pirate a 1* foodie place was more style than substance.

But what really make this hotel is the staff - consistently helpful, friendly, pleasant and nothing seems to be too much trouble. When the internet went down due to a storm one offered me the loan of her i-phone to try the 3 G service. There is a reassuring feel of a well managed business, building confidence that things will run well.

To pick up on some of the negative comments here. I thought the pool area was very attractive, chairs and surrounding area cleaned daily and service available but not pushy. The newest annexe is near a school and you can hear children playing in their break periods, when you are on the balcony. You can also hear a church clock chiming - but the hotel is in the centre of a village its not a resort and we rather liked the happy voices. There was an intermittent slight drainy smell in the bathroom when it rained (we were rm 41 but this was easily rectified by closing the plug/trap on the sink for a few minutes.

There was just one negative - the bath was amazingly narrow - don't try it unless you are a size 10 or below

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ecosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We were dismayed to read the negative reports on Trip advisor of this lovely hotel. There were a few niggles, but overall our impression was very favourable. We had a Privilege room in the newest annexe with private balcony overlooking the quiet pool - spacious and spotlessly clean. No smells, not dated, and a really comfortable bed with linen changed daily. The breakfasts were filling and delicious, exactly what one would expect from a hotel of this class in France, with bread, pastries, eggs, ham and cheese, jams and honey, all sorts of teas and coffees too, and when the weather was fine could be taken on the shady terrace under the palm trees, at tables decked with snowy white cloths. When it rained we ate in the conservatory, which was a tiny bit cramped but still delightful.
There are two pools - one heated and larger, one unheated and smaller and therefore quieter, but both pools had comfortable loungers and umbrellas if the sun was too much. There was also a jacuzzi, but we didn't try that. The areas around the pools were always spotlessly clean, and the full-time gardener kept the flowers and shrubs in good order. The layout of the hotel - three/four separate buildings linked with paved walkways and steps - meant that it alwas seemed very private.
The village itself is just across the road, full of restaurants and cafes serving local food, and with a delightful harbour. There's not much to do in the immediate area, but if you hire a car and don't mind hairpin bends, the local coastal scenery is spectacular. and it's unusual to find a hotel in such a village location with a spacious secure car park, locked at night.
Our only small niggles were: the noise from the two small schools next to the hotel, and the lack of a proper bar/lunch service. Otherwise all was perfect. The chiming of the church bells and some neighbourhood geese just added to the character.

Room Tip: rooms 37 to 42 overlook the quiet pool and have lovely large private balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maisielane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem
Level Contributor
83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

The rooms are dated and there was a odor in the bathroom. The pool area was not tempting. Old chairs no service. The breakfest was on the terrace and the second day because of the weather in a kind of a refectory very unsociable. You have to take everything yourself and the tables are not dressed in, so you feel like in school again.
For the price of 13 euro pp you would like to have at least a cossy atmosphere. So in total 220 euro's pro night for a b&b without any sociability that is way to much. If I compare the beauty and the service with for example the lovely b&b La Dimora in Oletta are the wonderful b&b La Piatatella in Monticello, and not at least the dream of a Lodge Carpalone in Porto Vecchio than I must be honest and say that this is REALLY REALLY OVERPRICED

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerdaEdegem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

The main structure with guest rooms (above the courtyard) is the place to stay in this hotel. There are three "grades" of rooms-- Superior, Charming and another name I can't recall. We stayed in all three types and I can definitely advise Charming is not worth the money. It boasts a terrace which is essentially a space outside of one's room that is used by other guests to get to their rooms. Not ideal and not properly advertised. The few Superior suites are where it's at.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckand
Level Contributor
212 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

The setting and surrounds of this hotel made it for us. Across the road was a little fishing village behind a sea wall, beautiful indeed. Plenty of restaurants and our hotel, tighht there.
.
The staff were pleasant, helpful and welcoming, until it was time to drag the luggage up four stairways. Being Sunday, there was no porter and the staff that were there were not offering help.
Our room was a good size and had everything we needed. Bathroom, on the small size but clean and ok. Toilet, in a cupboard, yes, not kidding. Worked however, and separate from bathroom.
We found out about the swimming pool when we were about to leave the hotel which was a shame, in a separate part of grounds and we didnt even see it.

Breakfast was good, helpstaff boiiling eggs for you, so rare and welcome. Outside sitting in a beautiful setting, unfortunately a wasp problem when we werre there but probably a passing problem.
Wi fi didnt work in room but staff happily set me up with my little laptop in a room down stairs where it worked perfectly.

car parking was good and convenient.

Would recommend this hotel but definately ask for ground floor if you have heavy baggage. Those stairs were a killer.

Room Tip: ground floor if you have heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brando
10.5 mi away
Demeure Loredana
Demeure Loredana
#1 of 14 in Saint Florent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
29.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Santa Maria
BEST WESTERN Santa Maria
#1 of 18 in Ile Rousse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
71.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.6 mi away
Hotel A Piattatella
Hotel A Piattatella
#1 of 3 in Monticello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
94.4 mi away
Hotel Version Maquis
Hotel Version Maquis
#2 of 20 in Bonifacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
94.6 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#3 of 20 in Bonifacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castel Brando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castel Brando

Property: Hotel Castel Brando
Address: route du Cap | Bastia, 20222 Brando, Communaute de communes du Cap Corse, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Communaute de communes du Cap Corse > Brando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Castel Brando 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Castel Brando is a charming boutique hotel located in the splendid Cap Corse area of Corsica and built in a 19th century patrician mansion. With the Mediterranean sea only 100 meters away, the hotel is nestled into the charming village of Erbalunga. At your disposal, private parking, heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam bath and massages, tennis court, Internet point and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Castel Brando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castel Brando Erbalunga
Castel Brando Hotel Erbalunga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing