We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't stay anywhere else!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Clos de Mutigny

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Clos de Mutigny
Certificate of Excellence
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't stay anywhere else!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is a lovely hotel set in a beautiful garden. The food is absolutely stunning. A large group of us stayed for an Easter break on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis, it was excellent value for money. The three course evening meal we had each night was exceptional and the hotel catered for the likes and dislikes of those in our group. It is very conveniently located for exploring the whole of the champagne area and close to the champagne houses in Epernay as well as being convenient for Challons en Champagne and Reims and the Champagne tourist route. The hosts were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, if you are looking for somewhere to stay in this region make it here! To be in France and woken with the smell of freshly baked croissants each morning was heaven!
We were a group of mature motorcyclists, the carpark is packed gravel and is safe and secluded.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    78
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
23
98
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
puerto calero
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Peaceful country house type establishment; comfortable beds, pleasant staff, beautiful gardens for a calming stroll after a hard day's driving. Breakfast not brilliant but adequate. I felt someone here is trying very hard to keep standards up in difficult times....really appreciated!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guggy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have stayed at the Clos de Mutigny several times en-route to the French Alps. It has a tranquil setting with large garden, and yet has the covenience of being very close to the autoroute. In the past we have stayed in the main hotel, but nowadays tend to opt for the pavillion which is perfectly adequate and slightly cheaper.
Our main reason for using this hotel regularly though is the quality of the restaurant. Really good food, great ambiance, without costing silly money.
The proprietors are charming and provide a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eddy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

A peaceful location a few minutes off the main road. Right by a small river which our room overlooked. Smallish, but good sized bathroom.
Well maintained grounds, and enabled us to stretch our legs after a reasonably leisurely 4 hour drive from Calais. If you're travelling down this way and you've got into Calais in early afternoon, then give this a shot. It just looks quality from the moment you arrive.
Lucky with the weather, and sitting outside the front of the hotel with many others for our very well presented evening meal, was a great way to start a holiday. Not a cheap menu, but great quality, and the very cheap( and good) house wine, gavegreat value for money.
And a great little buffet breakfast in a tailored breakfast room.
Will stop here again sometime.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TNDSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

A great estalishment to stay at following 10 days in the swiss alps. This was the most relaxing environment, with a very pretty terrace and garden to sit and have a drink in. the rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was devine and beautifully presented. We went for the half board plan which was really good value for money, and what a great end to our holiday. The rooms could be noisy with other guests as the walls were quite thin, but a majority of the guests were OAP's so turned out to be a quiet nights sleep which is never certain when staying in hotels. Breakfast was self service but plentiful and catered for everyone...... tea, coffee, cereals, yoghurts, bread, croissants...very varied indeed.
will definately stay again and well done to the team running this estalishment.

Room Tip: Room at the end of a corridor overlooking terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doodah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

This was a wonderful overnight stay in the French countryside. It is a chateau with a bed and breakfast charm. The breakfast was very good. The French cuisine dinner restaurant was reasonably priced and excellent. The area is surrounded by old small towns and farms. There is no elevator and the rooms are on the second floor(ground floor is 0) The grounds are nice and the hosts were fantastic. We would definitely stay again. The area does not have enough to offer for an extended stay but it was a delightful and restful experience after a hectic week in Paris and London.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ProMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

This was our third stay in this hotel. i must say it is a wonderful hotel in a fantastic locaiton. it is a family run hotel and all the staff are very friednly. The resturant has a great choice and is of a very high standard but affordable prices

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandIMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Chaussee-sur-Marne
8.1 mi away
Hotel De La Poste
Hotel De La Poste
#3 of 5 in Vitry-le-Francois
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Pasteur
Hotel Pasteur
#3 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel D'angleterre
Hotel D'angleterre
#2 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
B&B Hotel Chalons en Champagne
#4 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Le Montreal
Hotel Le Montreal
#6 of 17 in Chalons-en-Champagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 1 in Fagnieres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos de Mutigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de Mutigny

Property: Le Clos de Mutigny
Address: 17 avenue du Docteur Justin Jolly | 17, Avenue du Dr Jolly, 51240 La Chaussee-sur-Marne, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Marne > La Chaussee-sur-Marne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Chaussee-sur-Marne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Clos de Mutigny 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant residence where fresh air and tranquillity offer the perfect setting for relaxation. Perfectly located for surrounding vineyards. Our restaurant offers a nice view on the river and fine cuisine, interesting wine and Champagne list ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos de Mutigny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos De Mutigny France/Champagne-Ardenne - Marne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing