We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling like a part of the family”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alice Bel Colle
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Feeling like a part of the family”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is not modern, it is not sophisticated but it is run by very friendly and warm hearted people in a breath taking environment . They are service oriented and friendly.
We are not denying the fact that the showers are small and have a curtain (instead of a shower cabin) and the rooms could be cleaner. But the view from the balcony is sensational.
Everyone is so friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant is good and again, marvellous view from the restaurant.
We give it an "Excellent" beside the negative points because the service and friendliness was here a class of it's own so that we could oversee the rest.
We will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section facing the front (not piazza).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susi_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    204
    53
    8
    5
See reviews for
64
288
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halle, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was the third time I visited the Hotel, this time with the whole family because I wanted to share the warm and friendly athmosfere of the Hotel with them. The owners take their time to make you feel comfortable and happy. This is not a 5 star hotel where you have to worry about the dresscode, this means that you can enjoy their exellent food!! in their restaurant at your ease. So do not expect a luxury bathroom and a kingsize bed, the standard of the hotel is just normal and good. I will surely come back and want to thank Giovanni and his family for the very pleasant stay in their Hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms on the backsite of the hotel have a stunning view over the surrounding landscape
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A charming lil hotel in a charming town,located in the middle of Piemontais wine country! The view from the room was amazing and food was wonderful!! The people at the help desk spoke english very well! I loved this hotel!! Wonderful for a romantic weekend

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a very lovely and friendly place with beautiful surroundings. The view from our balcony was fantastic. We did a couple of days of walking. Don't miss their own grappa, so fruity and mild. We will definitively return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We chose Belvedere because it is close to Acqui Terme (beautiful place and great thermal facilities) and the positive reviews. We were very disappointed. The hotel is rather a 2,5 stars and the rooms are dated.

Rooms - You could feel the springs in the mattress, the toiletries were below standard, the room wasn't really clean (spider nets, a lot of dust under the bed, we had to kick out two spiders), there was nothing in the mini bar. We perceived some sense of superficiality which should not be the case for a 3-star.

Breakfast - ok, breakfast in italy is not the main asset for hotels. however this was really not up to standard: old bread, only two sorts of cereals, an old multi function coffee/tea maker (please note: if you want proper, i would say normal, coffee you need to pay extra), one type of processed cheese and ham, some fruit. what is interesting is that everything was exactly counted. So if yAou wanted an extra croissant you had to go the bar. You have assigned seats which is not practical at all. Again, big sense of superficilaity - i.e. they know they are the only hotel in the surrounding, so why bother improving....

pool - just disappointing. small. the view is great from there. We couldnt enjoy it as it did not inspire trust re cleanliness.

I dont understand why this hotel is so well reviewed. The staff were nice, but this is normal in Italy.

i will not come back to Belvedere.

Room Tip: try to ask for a room with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We traveled with my in-laws to Alice Bel Colle and booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor's recommendation. Alice Bel Colle isn't much of a town, but it's on the top of the hill surrounded by such beautiful views of the vineyards. Our room had a balcony with a spectacular view and right next to the church's clock tower. The rooms were fine--nothing too fancy. Breakfast was standard continental food. We also ate dinner at the hotel, and our meal was much more impressive and delicious. The staff was very nice and speak English. Acqui Terme, a really cute town, is close-by. Upon departure, they gave us departing present of a bottle of wine! It was a nice end to our visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colliderbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Cons:

Oh lord, where should we start.

* Internet does not work! They say they have free wireless internet but that is simply not true. It´s free alright but it didn't work. We told the reception about this several times but they just shrugged their shoulders.

* Room not cleaned properly. Piles of dust under the bed.

* Beds and pillows were extremely uncomfortable. It felt like they haven't been replaced for 20-30 years or so.

* Tiny rooms

* Heating was not working properly. Room was cold.

* No real lobby in the hotel - just a few chairs next to the reception. Not cosy at all for a late drink or even a coffee.

* Noisy place as you can hear people running in the stairs and in the kitchen even if you stay on one of the higher floors.

* The staff is not exactly rude but they are absent and not friendly either (with the exception of old man who seemed to be the owner).

* The plates for breakfast were not clean.


Pros:

* Fantastic views from the hotel and our room. It´s 5 out of 5. Vineyards and mountains everywhere.

* Breakfast, although limited, was above expectation. Boiled eggs, ham, jam and yogurt. Poor coffee and bred though.

* Easy parking just outside the hotel entrance

* Bath room is ok.

* Dinner in the restaurant was pretty good. You can tell they have a real chef.


All in all, this is a place that you should avoid at all costs if you're not an absolute sucker for splendid views and pretty much don't care about anything else. If you have to be in the area and are on a very tight budget, this could also be a place for you. Alice Bel Colle is a rundown tiny village that seems like a ghost town but is still interesting due to the old church and the architecture. The wine bar on the main square turns into a hot spot once in a while with large crowds of party people popping up from nowhere.

If you're into staying in the Piemonte wine region, I strongly recommend that you stay closer to the La Morra/Barolo/Serralunga area closer to Alba. It is much much nicer and the food is much much better although generally a bit more expensive.

Room Tip: As far away from the stairs and the kitchen as you may experience noise otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Biff-Maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alice Bel Colle
4.6 mi away
Hotel Valentino
Hotel Valentino
#2 of 10 in Acqui Terme
506 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#10 of 10 in Acqui Terme
46 reviews
11.9 mi away
Relais San Maurizio
Relais San Maurizio
#1 of 1 in Santo Stefano Belbo
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Hotel Diamante Alessandria
Hotel Diamante Alessandria
#1 of 14 in Alessandria
673 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Acqui
Hotel Acqui
#1 of 10 in Acqui Terme
381 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Nuove Terme
Grand Hotel Nuove Terme
#5 of 10 in Acqui Terme
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Piazza Giovanni Guacchione 9 | Acqui Terme Alessandria, 15010 Alice Bel Colle, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Alessandria > Alice Bel Colle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alice Bel Colle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing