We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly authentic”
Review of Rosso Porpora

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Giovanni Suergiu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosso Porpora
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Rosso porpora's website declares it to be an authentic taste of Sardinia and after spending a week there last summer, I can safely say that not only does it live up to this expectation, it surpasses it! It's a tiny old fishing village which has been carefully restored and the result is really something special. The amount of thought put into every single detail by Antonello and his family is incredibly impressive, as is their genuinely warm welcome and helpfulness. While it's not directly on the sea (but there is a seaview and some beautiful sunsets to behold), it's perfectly situated to explore the south of Sardinia and its beaches at leisure.
We loved this off-the-beaten-track, peaceful oasis and would definitely go back. It really was quite magical.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViveraBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 24 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

Staying at Rosso Porpora is like travelling back in time, since everything is just like it used to be at the beginning of the XX century.
The owners bought this little fishing village years ago and decided to restore it faithfully, using only original materials. Nonetheless it is provided with all modern comforts.
Apart from this, it is a romantic and panoramic place, offering stunning sea views. Excellent location, near some of the most beautiful sandy beaches in South-West Sardinia and just a fifteen minutes drive from Sant’Antioco, Calasetta (Carloforte can be reached by ferry) and all the local attractions.
It’s an exclusive and quiet resort – the ideal place for those looking for a relaxing and unforgettable holiday - surrounded by sea, Mediterranean maquis, vineyards and archaeological-historical remains.
If you’re a foodie, do not miss Da Letizia in Nuxis (especially if you love mushrooms…).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gioman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank laracastiglioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FrancescaFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Conts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fabio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni Suergiu
2.4 mi away
Agriturismo Agrifoglio
Agriturismo Agrifoglio
#1 of 2 in San Giovanni Suergiu
106 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lu' Hotel
Lu' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carbonia
627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Perda Rubia
Hotel Perda Rubia
#2 of 2 in San Giovanni Suergiu
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Is Pabis
Is Pabis
#1 of 4 in San Giovanni Suergiu
49 reviews
3.9 mi away
Affittacamere La Jacaranda
Affittacamere La Jacaranda
#5 of 28 in Sant'Antioco
145 reviews
6.4 mi away
Oasi Blu
Oasi Blu
#1 of 7 in Calasetta
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosso Porpora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosso Porpora

Address: Localita Diana Is Loccis SNC, 09010 San Giovanni Suergiu, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Carbonia-Iglesias > San Giovanni Suergiu
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in San Giovanni Suergiu
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing