We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Real Casona de las Amas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Azofra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is beautiful and staff are nice and helpful. Location is very quite, but close to other towns. Pool was an added bonus for the kids after a day of exploring. Breakfast was simple and delicious. They recommended a bar up the road which was again nice and simple for the kids. Only complaint is it is a bit expensive for we're it s located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friar04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    30
    10
    5
    12
See reviews for
22
86
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel after having stayed in a number of city hotel during our trip to Spain. It was a sleepy and peaceful place and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived just before lunch so we had a snack in the bar up the road from the hotel - basic but good.

On recommendation from the hotel we visited Bodegas David Moreno and purchased some really great wine (Red, Rose & White). We also had our evening meal in a small restaurant about 10 minutes drive from the hotel. This was a real highlight to our stay.

It's a shame the hotel doesn't have a restaurant as I'm sure they would do a really good trade from the clients.

We love to revisit this area again and stay more time here. We hope to return sometime to this hotel and the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjamesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donostia-San Sebastián, España
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We've just been in the hotel for the last night. The hotel indeed is awesome but for the really poor breakfast, cafeteria prices (cola 3€), and the room equiment (non equipped with whirlpool baths).
To sum up, very expensive and really calm. Its not worthy

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Degana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great in all aspects, i find the reception staff to be welcoming and the staff very helpful and attentive. There are several restaurants, café and pubs very close to town. Charming and warm place and its people. Generous continental spanish breakfast with tomato and cured ham, confect. and natural orange juice. The hotel has Wi-fi and Parking free beside the hotel. The village of Azofra is easily located to visit the wineries, monasteries and beatiful countryside of Rioja, several open activities and sports like golf, Golf club Rioja Alta 5 km far.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnsulleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Absecon, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Wonderful stay in Rioja wine Region. The hotel is comfortable and peacefulness, the staff very attentive and sympathetic. We stayed on a trip with family and children, children were playing in the charming library and enjoying the cosy garden. Nice to be in family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband, another couple and myself booked two double rooms and spent three nights at this hotel from 8 - 11 August 2012 and spent many happy hours taking advantage of the facilities - the pool, library, bar and lounges whilst exploring the joys of the Rioja Region. Bearing in mind this little oasis is situated in a small village where the community are very obvious from the small shops/cafes that they run, you can't expect to have everything on your doorstep. We were given lots of information and advice from extremely friendly, professional staff - who all spoke good English (although we were prepared to have a stab at Spanish) and recommended many places to visit - the best kept secret being a restuarant just 3 km away where we had the best food we have eaten in years, Our first night in our room proved to be a little stuffy (top floor, velux window only) so we asked if we could change to a more airier one. We were given one on the first floor with genuine apologies from the staff that we had felt uncomfortable. We found, with our limited luggage, that the wardrobe space and various drawers were sufficient - but would like to suggest hooks be installed (on the backs of the doors) in the bath/shower rooms as there is nowhere to hang your damp towel or clothing. There were sachets of shampoo, shower gel, shower cap, toothbrush, razor and a variety of different soaps to try. The rooms we used (and our friend's room) were beautifully furnished and VERY CLEAN. Breakfast was served by delightful people, who, even if they couldn't speak English, smiled and were eager to ensure we were satisfied and enjoying ourselves on the fresh orange juice, yogurt, tea/coffee, cold meats/cheese, light cake, toast and confitures - that's better than we eat at home! With only 13 bedrooms - life in this hotel is quite intimate, and we hardly saw another guest - they were there - but we were earlybirds and late stopouts and they never showed up at the same time as us - even at the pool - so it was a dream to have it all to ourselves more often or not, especially as the weather was in the high 30's. The staff couldn't do enough for us - they booked places for us, they recommended Bodegas to visit (their selection was brilliant) and they gave us crisps/assorted nuts whenever we had a drink by the pool. We were made to feel we could use the whole place as if it was our home.
We ventured into the village frequently, using the little local shop which sold everything (so we could take drink back to our rooms if we wished) and used the local cafes. The villagers congregated each evening around the village square (the women all sitting on chairs from their homes in a large circle and the men sitting in groups outside the two cafes each side of the road). Once we approached and wished them a good evening, they always responded and smiled and we sat nearby drinking and watching life in a small Spanish village - it was lovely to observe - all ages, getting together, chatting, debating, laughing, children playing...... A hostel for the many pilgrims on the Compestela Route is located nearby and provides the cafes and shop with the business they need to survive. The pilgrims - from all walks of life and all nationalities, help to keep this small village alive and vibrant - and the community welcome them warmly. Another 'best kept secret' (after the suprisingly brilliant restuarant experience) was the Botanical Garden just 1 km walk out of the village! For just 4E we spent 3 hours wandering around this amazing place, completely run by volunteers, savouring the sights of the beautiful plants and trees in this wonderful place. It is the only Botanical Garden in the Rioja Region and one of only twelve in the whole of Spain - and we chanced to come across it - it is well worth a visit - brilliantly clean, modern facilities, a shop, education centre and acres of amazing gardens, themed and set out so that you can walk around them barefoot on the softest grassy path ever! We are planning to return to the region soon as we didn't get to see as much as we would have liked, and we can't wait!

Room Tip: Our top floor room only had a velux window (before we asked to move to another room). If you are e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in May 2012 as part of a tour of the La Rioja area. It was much the worst hotel we chose, based on location, price and service. Azofra has nothing going for it. The Hotel room was cramped. There is no restaurant, and although the staff are nice people, after a long drive or walk being told to do a 20 mile round trip to Ezcary find decent food is not helpful. But, do not eat in Azofra! The hotel's recommendation is dire.
There were no other guests for our two nights. I fear this place will not last given the competition nearby is so good.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank linskitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_RCA, Director General at Real Casona de las Amas, responded to this review, August 21, 2015
Google Translation
Sentimos que su estancia con nosotros no fuera de su agrado. El departamento de recepción informa de todas las posibilidades y oferta gastronómica de la zona. En su caso se informó de la opción del pueblo para no coger vehículo y que ustedes rehusaron. Por nuestra parte siempre hay una atención personalizada. No entendemos su crítica ni estamos de acuerdo. Reciba un cordial saludo. Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azofra
7.9 mi away
Parador de Santo Domingo de la Calzada
Parador de Santo Domingo de la C...
#1 of 4 in Santo Domingo de la Calzada
578 reviews
16.1 mi away
La Antigua Ferreria Hotel Rural
7.5 mi away
Hosteria del Monasterio de San Millan
Hosteria del Monasterio de San M...
#1 of 1 in San Millan de la Cogolla
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel La Capellania
Hotel La Capellania
#2 of 2 in San Asensio
193 reviews
12.8 mi away
Palacio Azcarate
Palacio Azcarate
#4 of 6 in Ezcaray
72 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Viura
Hotel Viura
#1 of 1 in Villabuena de Alava
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Casona de las Amas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Casona de las Amas

Property: Real Casona de las Amas
Address: Calle Mayor 5, 26323 Azofra, Spain
Location: Spain > La Rioja > Azofra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Azofra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Real Casona de las Amas 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique hotel restored from a 17th century palace is considered by public authorities as a building of cultural interest. It retains the warmth of the past without giving up modern facilities in line with today standards. Its wonderful decoration offers diverse styles that evoke a sense of past times.Located in the town of Azofra, it has a strategic location in the heart of La Rioja Alta. The Rioja Region offers visitors a great many varied attractions and the region is of great cultural interest being the cradle of the Spanish language and traversed by Pilgrim’s Way to Santiago. It offers a wealth of wines and gastronomy, ancestral feasts and traditions, and a wide range of natural landscapes where its peoples are hearty and sociable.The communal areas are divided into three zones, a Florentine-Style Lobby, a lounge zone and a library. All of them offer a relaxed family atmosphere. The main hall is an inviting room both in winter, with its welcoming fireplace, and in summer, with its delightful natural illumination. The bar and second hall are two places to enjoy a cup of tea in the afternoon or an aperitif before supper. The original floorboards, large comfortable sofas, elegant antiques and the prevailing grey and reddish hues of the décor, invite one to read, rest or chat with friends after enjoying any of the numerous activities offered by La Rioja and its environments. In addition, you can connect to Internet by Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Casona de las Amas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Casona De Las Amas Azofra, La Rioja, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing