We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on a hillside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Grande do Bachao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Grande do Bachao
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fecha
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heaven on a hillside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Casa and I was in nearly in tears at the thought of leaving. The setting is idyllic and the building is gorgeous. Our room was a very good size and the bathroom one of the biggest I've seen in a hotel. We had the breakfast buffet 1 morning and the selection was great and well worth eur8. We also stayed for dinner on 2 nights, they normally alternate meat and fish but after I told them I only eat fish they made me a special meal on meat night. Dinner was very reasonably priced at eur18 for 3 courses, the food couldn't be faulted and the accompanying wine was also good value. There are several public rooms including a games room with honesty bar and a library with comfy sofas and mood lighting which we made use of after dinner each night. We are already planning our next trip and intend to explore the surrounding countryside hopefully accompanied by the very friendly house dogs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    18
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
153
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We will always remember this delightfully, atmospheric 'casa'! My husband and I spent two nights here and we wish we could have stayed longer. The welcome was friendly and the staff speak a little English which helped, as our Spanish is rather limited. Our bedroom was warm and comfortable, the public rooms are beautiful and the food is memorable. It is in a beautiful situation with lovely grounds and there are good walks to be taken from the door of the 'casa' without taking out the car. We look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twitcher36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

2nd time my husband and I have stayed here, the first time was three years ago....we actually had our wedding here. This time around we visited for three nights with our 11 month old child. Sevice and staff cant be faulted, and the food....worth every cent you spend on it. Would have to be the highlight of our spanish holidays.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachnrodnjacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

Casa Grande do Bachao was one of the most valuable experience we had in Spain: the amazing location, in the middle of the countryside - just 15 minutes from the cener of Santiago de Compostela, the perfect and warm service, the delicious meal and the unrivalled view from the dining room at sunset did make a great difference. The responsible person is very fluient in English and extremely kind and supportive. Definitely a must to go!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPonzecchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

The hotel is well off the beaten path. In fact, in conversation with another guest, we both had to thank the gas station attendant 4 km down the road, who ably guided us to the turnoff that we would have otherwise missed. The local road numbers don't seem to conform to my Michelin map, and my GPS was stumped trying to find this place. It is at the end of a twisting mainly one-lane road, well into a forest. Talk about seclusion! I still don’t know if I could find the correct road leading from town on a map.

We stayed two nights early in May, and had a lovely time here. I chose the hotel based on other reviews, and those reviews fairly reflected our stay. The rooms are pleasant, but not overly luxurious. The bathroom is fine, good shower, no complaints. The common rooms are wonderful, and would be particularly welcome in colder weather; in nicer weather, who wants to stay indoors? The beds were typical of what we found in Spain: hard. Some might say firm, but I call them hard. I prefer more give than a carpeted floor to sleep on, and found virtually every bed I slept on hard. There is a swimming pool, sauna and small gym on the property, plus a river down a winding path providing fishing opportunities. Staff is warm and welcoming, and a bit of familiarity with Spanish is helpful but not obligatory to make sure all sides understand each other.

One of the great pluses of our stay was the chance to have dinner in their beautiful dining room. We had a wonderful three course meal the first night (wine extra). The second night, after a full day in Santiago, I had no desire to travel the 25 mins back into town to find parking and a restaurant. My wife asked if we weren’t foolish to verify the price of the meal, since we had neglected to inquire on that the first night. At that point, I didn’t really care. Again, we had a lovely meal. When the bill came the next morning, I was beside myself. The cost of the dinners? Fifteen euros per person. For that price and quality, I would dine there every night and be thrilled to do so. The breakfast was a reasonable 8 or so euros, but we just had coffee in the morning.

One negative was the sound-proofing in the rooms. We had the ill fortune to be situated next to an infant who insisted on exercising her lungs until midnight; it was as if the child was in the room with us. The other guest we spoke to said the same thing about sound. Another issue I had was air circulation. I prefer cooler air to sleep at night, but the early spring air during our stay was hardly cool enough to satisfy, and there is no air conditioning. Lastly, this is not the most convenient place from which to visit Santiago. If you want to step out of your hotel and into the thick of town, look elsewhere. If, on the other hand, a relaxing respite from the city in beautiful surroundings with a wonderful meal to finish the day sounds good, then this is your place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertnNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2007

We loved everything about this place - the setting is stunning, the staff take great care, the whole atmosphere is tranquil, easy, hospitable. And only ten miles from Santiago. Very highly recommended. And a breakfast to die for

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2006

What an amazing experience it was to stay in this beautiful hotel. The scenery surrounding the hotel is stunning, and the rooms were comfortable, quiet, clean and very visually interesting. The thick granite walls and quaint wooden shutters, along with the wonderful hardwood floors made you feel like you had stepped back in time to an old farmhouse from Galicia, without having to sacrifice modern amenities. We were really impressed with the collection of glass balls and shperes in the upstairs salon, and the wonderful, light-filled dining hall was cozy, clean and inviting. The food was plentiful and delicious. To top it off, the staff was very friendly. I cannot heap enough praise on this lovely place!

  • Liked — Beauty
  • Disliked — pets
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ChechiStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fecha
6.7 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
6.8 mi away
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolicos
Parador Hostal Dos Reis Catolico...
#7 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
San Francisco Hotel Monumento
#4 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
6.3 mi away
NH Collection Santiago de Compostela
NH Collection Santiago de Compos...
#6 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
6.9 mi away
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario San Bieito
Smart Boutique Hotel Literario S...
#9 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Grande do Bachao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande do Bachao

Property: Casa Grande do Bachao
Address: Monte Bachao Santa Cristina de Fecha Santiago de Compostela, 15898 Fecha, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Santiago de Compostela > Fecha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fecha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Grande do Bachao 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Casa Grande do Bachao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing