We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you don't like harsh chemical smells, avoid this place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Can Xiquet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Can Xiquet
Ranked #1 of 1 Cantallops B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you don't like harsh chemical smells, avoid this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

As soon as we entered our room, the hotel employee let out an exclamation of disgust and pushed past us to flush the lavatory and throw open the bathroom window. Yes, it did smell of sewage. Worse, the overwhelming smell was the harsh chemical smell of air freshener. We tried to air it out...but throughout the night, it got stronger and stronger. Then we had to shut the window as a ferociously barking dog tried to climb in. We eventually discovered an exceptionally potent stick of freshener hidden under the bed. Rude, unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BritishWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    28
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
82
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

After two weeks driving around Spain, we were looking for a hotel close to the French border before the long drive up north. Found this one in the magazine "Room" which has been a good resource so far. Meals have been delicious and definitely a good deal (3 courses for EUR 25 excl drinks). The views are just breathtaking: mountains and coast in the distance. Delicious breakfast outside on the terrace with Nespresso coffee, buttery croissants and fresh fruit and juices. What else could you possibly want? It's a great place to come and unwind, rain or shine.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

Firstly, the location is nicely remote with wonderful views of uninterrupted countryside. There are good activities available if you have older children and for smaller kids, at least it is easy enough to relax on your private terrace whilst they sleep inside. The route to get to the hotel near the border with France takes you through where all the lorries park - not too enticing. However, I few turns up the country road and you are in a beautiful area. The hotel was a modern building and was spacious with a nice pool area. However, I thought the restaurant was really overpriced for what it was. They made no effort to serve breakfast outside on nice days as it was easier for staff to keep it indoors. Our first suite had a drain in the bathroom that really stank... we were moved after three days when we said we were leaving because of it. If paying E.310 for a night for a suite it should at least smell pleasant. I think the thing that let the place down most of all is that, perhaps because of its remoteness, alot of the staff were foreign. They were incapable of making good suggestions for places to visit or other places to dine. The only information they provided was a badly photocopied map of the area that was inreadable. I am sure the Costa Brava tourist office would happily provide them with the relevant material which would make a huge difference. Overall, nice enough but I would not return.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the bad drain smell
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LucyMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

We stayed here to have a little bit of luxury at the end of a long camping tour of Northern Spain. It was just what we needed - the spot is beautiful, you are surrounded by lush green countryside, mountains and can see all the way down to the Bay of Roses.

The hotel itself is intimate, with well designed sitting rooms and a library, and the guest rooms are well appointed, all with their own terrace and view. One nice touch which you don't often find in a hotel was the compliamentary mini-bar.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Liked — The room, the views, the common areas.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Emma212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2006

We stayed here for one night only on a walking trip through Northern Spain. You never knew what the hotel for the night would be like until you arrived. We were always pleased and in this case especially so. A really well appointed place with great large rooms, comfortable lounge and a restuarant well worth the trip alone. Sits above the local landsacpe with extensive views towards the coast. And brilliant staff who could not have been more helpful - they were a real credit to the place. Definitely a place that I have on my list for a return visit. You will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Large well appointed room and beautiful bathroom. Great food.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jimm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2006

This hotel is a gem! Beautifully appointed large rooms with great views, balconies, wonderful accommodating staff and a top notch restaurant. We left early on our last day and they opened the restaurant an hour early so that we could get breakfast. Can't say enough good things about Can Xiquet.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank utah42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cantallops
9.0 mi away
Hotel Peralada Wine Spa & Golf
2.3 mi away
Hotel Tramuntana
Hotel Tramuntana
#1 of 5 in La Jonquera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Jonquera Hotel
La Jonquera Hotel
#4 of 5 in La Jonquera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel de La Font
Hotel de La Font
#2 of 3 in Peralada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hotel Mas Lazuli
Hotel Mas Lazuli
#1 of 1 in Pau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Mas Renart
Hotel Mas Renart
#3 of 3 in Peralada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can Xiquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Xiquet

Property: Can Xiquet
Address: Afores s/n, 17708 Cantallops, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Cantallops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cantallops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Can Xiquet 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Can Xiquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing