We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not 4 Star ...”
Review of Can Xiquet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Can Xiquet
Ranked #1 of 1 Cantallops B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We chose this hotel expecting a peaceful holiday with a restaurant to match its 4* rating . Unfortunately this was not the case. It has recently been taken over by the local butcher and his wife and it would appear that they are quickly learning by exprience how to run a hotel business . Our room "Genebre" had spectacular views but on the first night we were kept awake by a very noisy air conditioning unit that had not been serviced in a while . The following 4 nights we were awoken at various times by a loud banging noise coming from the roof above . After various assurances that the problem would be sorted we were eventually moved to another room . This was fine apart from the fact that it took upto 15 mins for the toilet to refill after flushing !
We met the owner who agreed they did not offer a 4* dining experience and you can find some wonderful local cuisine just down the road .
I was suprised that no compensation was offered after our 7 day stay and only after I complained was a nominal sum deducted from our bill .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 163 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

The Can Xiquet is a beautiful hotel in the countryside near the border with France, but only about 6km from the motorway. It is very quiet with a lovely pool and very friendly staff. Very high quality rooms and food.

It is a great place to stay if you want to stay somewhere away from the crowds...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pl_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

As soon as we entered our room, the hotel employee let out an exclamation of disgust and pushed past us to flush the lavatory and throw open the bathroom window. Yes, it did smell of sewage. Worse, the overwhelming smell was the harsh chemical smell of air freshener. We tried to air it out...but throughout the night, it got stronger and stronger. Then we had to shut the window as a ferociously barking dog tried to climb in. We eventually discovered an exceptionally potent stick of freshener hidden under the bed. Rude, unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BritishWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

After two weeks driving around Spain, we were looking for a hotel close to the French border before the long drive up north. Found this one in the magazine "Room" which has been a good resource so far. Meals have been delicious and definitely a good deal (3 courses for EUR 25 excl drinks). The views are just breathtaking: mountains and coast in the distance. Delicious breakfast outside on the terrace with Nespresso coffee, buttery croissants and fresh fruit and juices. What else could you possibly want? It's a great place to come and unwind, rain or shine.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Firstly, the location is nicely remote with wonderful views of uninterrupted countryside. There are good activities available if you have older children and for smaller kids, at least it is easy enough to relax on your private terrace whilst they sleep inside. The route to get to the hotel near the border with France takes you through where all the lorries park - not too enticing. However, I few turns up the country road and you are in a beautiful area. The hotel was a modern building and was spacious with a nice pool area. However, I thought the restaurant was really overpriced for what it was. They made no effort to serve breakfast outside on nice days as it was easier for staff to keep it indoors. Our first suite had a drain in the bathroom that really stank... we were moved after three days when we said we were leaving because of it. If paying E.310 for a night for a suite it should at least smell pleasant. I think the thing that let the place down most of all is that, perhaps because of its remoteness, alot of the staff were foreign. They were incapable of making good suggestions for places to visit or other places to dine. The only information they provided was a badly photocopied map of the area that was inreadable. I am sure the Costa Brava tourist office would happily provide them with the relevant material which would make a huge difference. Overall, nice enough but I would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LucyMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

We stayed here to have a little bit of luxury at the end of a long camping tour of Northern Spain. It was just what we needed - the spot is beautiful, you are surrounded by lush green countryside, mountains and can see all the way down to the Bay of Roses.

The hotel itself is intimate, with well designed sitting rooms and a library, and the guest rooms are well appointed, all with their own terrace and view. One nice touch which you don't often find in a hotel was the compliamentary mini-bar.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend. I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Emma212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

We stayed here for one night only on a walking trip through Northern Spain. You never knew what the hotel for the night would be like until you arrived. We were always pleased and in this case especially so. A really well appointed place with great large rooms, comfortable lounge and a restuarant well worth the trip alone. Sits above the local landsacpe with extensive views towards the coast. And brilliant staff who could not have been more helpful - they were a real credit to the place. Definitely a place that I have on my list for a return visit. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jimm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Can Xiquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Xiquet

Address: Afores s/n, 17708 Cantallops, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Cantallops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cantallops
Price Range: $151 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Can Xiquet 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Can Xiquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing