We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good spot to stop if touring, but not exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Logis Auberge du Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chitenay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Auberge is situated on the quiet road through Chitenay and its ivy covered frontage is very appealing. Across the road is a typical village bar, a good place to sit in the sun and watch the world go by. The Chateau is just down a long road and driveway(no access to cars) and can be glimpsed from the main gates, but is not otherwise accessible. There is a large well laid out garden at the back of the Auberge and ample parking spaces, neatly marked.
The room we were given was in an annex at the back of the main building and the reception staff took our(heavy) suitcases up the narrow staircase for us. The room was rather small and the shower did not work properly, but otherwise was adequate.
The evening meal was characterised by haphazard service although the restaurant was only half full. Requests were ignored or took time to be implemented. The food was OK. We probably would have enjoyed it more if the ambiance had been better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dav88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 184 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

On arrival we had just finished riding 40kms to get there and in the town where we were suppose to have lunch everything was closed. The owner then made us lunch (this was after 3) even though food wasn't normally served at that time, he baked rolls and threw in some strawberries and biscuits. It was very much appreciated!! We also had a spa in the room, which was great after a hard day riding. One thing I didn't like or found strange was no curtains or blinds. The room appeared to have curtains, but they didn't actually go across the window. They were just for looks. Maybe we missed something?...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraTAS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions over the years and have considered it a treat. However, this time will be the last. We booked ahead, and were given a room with three beds (there are only two of us!) instead of an (empty as we later discovered) room opposite with two - cheaper, of course. However, the room was comfortable, clean and quiet. Shower room good but small, and separate loo down three steep steps.
Our meal in the restaurant was not good. There appeared to be endless staff - a welcome from a person who we never saw again, a maitre d'hotel who insisted on talking to us in (terrible) English (we both speak good French) and who brought, unasked, menus in English. The bottle of wine we ordered was opened by a 'sommelier' who sniffed the cork, poured the wine for my husband to taste - it was corked, as she should have known. We think the chef must have been away, or he was having an off night. Our first course was all right, our main course - steak - was terrible. Over salted to the point of inedibility, and tough and fibrous meat, accompanied by incinerated potatoes. On complaining afterwards, we were brought a glass of sparkling wine as a gesture! Pudding was clumsily executed and a mess. Overall, an expensive mistake, not to be repeated.

Room Tip: Ask exactly for what you want, otherwise you will get what they want you to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzyCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this country hotel in Chitenay. We stayed here for two nights as part of our Loire Gastronomic Cycling Tour. The hotel is centrally located in Chitenay is an excellent option for visiting chateaus and other villages in the local area. Our room was spacious but not large, and was modestly appointed. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked the hotel's gardens. It was very peaceful. The pool was very refreshing.
While the food was well-presented and flavoursome, it was not one of the more memorable meals that we had during our six week European holiday. The outdoor dining option is pleasant in the warmer months. The breakfast room is in another part of the hotel and does not have the same charm as the main dining room.
Our bicycles were stored outside areas and could be secured in the racks provided. Given the many cyclists that were staying here, the area was packed with bicycles.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the hotel's gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have been stopping of at the Auberge du Centre on our way to South West France for longer than I care to remember. We have often arranged our travel plans so we can stay here. Each year the hotel improves, with the bedrooms being redecorated, air conditioning and now a pool. This is not a 5* chic Paris hotel but a welcoming, relaxing country hotel with a very good kitchen The welcome is always friendly, the owner is relaxed and welcoming, the rooms clean and relatively newly refurbished. The garden is a delight and on a hot summers day a lovely place to relax with a drink and a book. The restaurant is light and pleasant and often bustling, in the summer food is served on the terrace. As well as an a la carte menu there are a number of fixed price menus. The cooking is imaginative, sometimes a little over elaborate for my taste but always very good. There is a fine wine list featuring wines from the Loire valley. This is often the first overnight stay of our holiday and we always look forward to it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howie013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The auberge was a great stop on our bike trip. The rooms were pleasant, the food was great, and the staff were super friendly. If you are biking in the area, I would recommend this as a stop on the way. They have a shed to hold the bikes. After a hard ride, you can relax in the pool. No matter what the food at the end of the day will be enjoyed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pghprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Easy to find - set in a quiet village on the main road (Not a busy road); The warmest of welcomes greats you we were shown our room and the car park, swimming pool, restaurant/breakfast room & bar.
Car Park; secure parking to the rear of the building hotel complex; secure parking for Cars, Motorcycles or bicycles (They also hire bicycles).
Room - very large garden room (just of the very large garden at the rear of the main building); the room was great meeting all our needs having travelled all day to get there - Bath/shower, sitting area inside and out and a very large bed.
Garden & Swimming pool - large garden lots of seating areas for sunbathing / relaxing etc - big outdoor swimming pool with safety gate - very clean all around.
Restaurant - large outdoor area and ample indoor tables; very busy both nights with locals which was a good sign - the food was fantastic as was the choice offered. Wine choice also very good.
Breakfast - very good lots on offer
Bar - small bar area inside if its too hot for you outside!

Great area, great hotel in a beautiful village; lots to do and see within 10k or so.

Room Tip: The Garden Room - just fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chitenay
4.7 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
287 reviews
13.1 mi away
Relais du Silence Domaine des Thomeaux
3.1 mi away
Relais des Landes
Relais des Landes
#1 of 1 in Ouchamps
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
Relais des Trois Chateaux Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cour-Cheverny
443 reviews
15.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Saint Aignan
Grand Hotel Saint Aignan
#3 of 3 in Saint-Aignan
220 reviews
2 mi away
Chateau de La Rozelle
Chateau de La Rozelle
#1 of 1 in Cellettes
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Auberge du Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Auberge du Centre

Address: 34 Grande rue, 41120 Chitenay, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Chitenay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chitenay
Price Range: $113 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Auberge du Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Logis Auberge du Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Auberge Du Centre Hotel Chitenay
Logis Auberge Du Centre Centre-Val De Loire/Chitenay, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing