We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating Troglodyte Room at Castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau de Chissay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Chissay
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fascinating Troglodyte Room at Castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our 6 and 7 y.o. daughters were very excited to stay at an actual castle. This place had a room that could fit all 5 of us (we also have a 7 y.o. boy), which is uncommon in the Loire. The staff at this beautiful little castle was friendly and professional, and the grounds were very nice. The room itself was separate from the castle, accessible through the dinning room. The room was called the trogand was a cave in the solid rock hillside. The main castle ground floor on one side was similarly built into the hillside as are many in this area. The room was very large with high, interestingly shaped ceilings. It was interestingly lighted and nicely appointed. It had a characteristic mineral smell from these stone enclosures, and was just a little damp. We all said wow when we stepped in. The grounds are attached to woods and a hill for fun exploring, a nice but chilly pool, and a terrific restaurant with a pleasant wine list. For food was excellent and the wait staff were pleasant enough. Their children's menu principal dish was Dorade fish with veggies, which was wonderful and to my surprise our sometimes picky eaters finished it off completely with joy. The chef came out to talk with each table which was a nice touch. Just about every day we had a new house full of bike tourists arriving/departing. I was disappointed in the lack of WiFi in the room and pretty much anywhere except right at the front desk. Overall it was a great experience but about 3 days is enough for staying in the cave.

Room Tip: We did not see the rooms in the castle itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    103
    31
    23
    20
See reviews for
57
210
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as part of a cycling holiday as a group of eight. The exterior is splendid and imposing. The rooms are mostly large with basic furnishing in a slightly tired style, this could be improved without losing the old world feel of the building. The food was excellent and the passion fruit soufflé to die for. The hotel needs bringing into the 21st century but is a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust2254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a marvellous chateau...one of many we have visited over the years. Our rooms were wonderfully spacious, and the staff most helpful.....but the house is crying out for some investment. Throughout our stay, we were cold, and, one evening even went to dinner in our overcoats. The chef tried hard to serve food to remember, but, in the end, it was over fussy.
Although this report seems critical, it must be seen in the light of the cost of staying at this chateau. A stay in a top class chateau would cost twice what we paid here. We so much wanted to love it....but, after a while, shabby corners, doors that don't shut, and heaters that fail, all combined to leave us disappointed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cricketmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

A bit of an indulgence. As you arrive in the very typically French village of Chissay-en-Touraine, the chateau is quite obvious. It's not quite Chenonceaux, but it is an impressive building. Reception is first class - very friendly and efficient with a receptionist speaking many languages fluently.
Our room was in the roof and so the area was a little restricted due to the ceiling being in the roof, but there was enough room. It was a little dated and although the bed was adequate, it wasn't the same as being at home! With the bathroom being the other side of a small hallway, it was more like a mini suite. Again, the bathroom was fine, but being traditionally French, taking a shower was difficult due to the lack of any screen or curtain and the subsequent risk of flooding the bathroom. Everything works, the water was hot, plenty of toiletries and towels. What else do you need, really for an overnight stop. No tv or radio in the room, but that didn't bother us

Then there is the restaurant. A traditional 4 course meal and great wine served in the proper French manner. Good food, well cooked and an extensive wine list. The service was very attentive even though the restaurant was nearly full and they also had a large party in for dinner. Dinner did take 3 hours, though from start to finish. Nothing else to do, so who cares?

Breakfast next morning was equally good - a large spread. Not cheap, but good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands GB
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Thank you for the fantastic service given by Alain and his team at this authentic hotel. Our fourth visit and we are always made to feel welcome. The catering is to a very high standard as is the service from well trained and attentive staff who are always seeking to meet customer expectations.

This hotel is an antidote to the stresses and strains of modern life. Thank you to Alain and your team for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yelverton
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times before and as this time have always enjoyed our stay,the only but being the fact that the food was not of the normal standard something the hotel should be aware of.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggjsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

When you view the chateau, you are at first really amazed that you would be so lucky to stay there. It's picturesque, and it is truly a chateau. The room we stayed in (#10) was quite large, but not incredibly comfortable. The bathroom has been updated, so it is modern and good. There was, however, a fantastically enormous spider on the wall in the morning that made me scream. The bed is very firm and the room is a bit drab but really large. We swam in the outdoor pool, but it is not heated, so it was a cold dip. Very nice, however. The restaurant was very good, but there was a hush-hush chi-chi nature to it, so expect this to be a very formal (maybe even a bit uptight) meal service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FabulousTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chissay-en-Touraine
3.3 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
8.3 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
10.5 mi away
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
Chateau de Perreux - Amboise
#1 of 2 in Nazelles-Negron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
1.5 mi away
Chateau de la Menaudiere
Chateau de la Menaudiere
#2 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
11.9 mi away
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Chissay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Chissay

Property: Chateau de Chissay
Address: Rue Paul Boncour, 41400 Chissay-en-Touraine, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Chissay-en-Touraine
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chissay-en-Touraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Chissay 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau de Chissay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Chissay Hotel Chissay-En-Touraine
Chateau De Chissay En Touraine
Chateau De Chissay France/Chissay-En-Touraine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing