We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in delightful village”
Review of Le Petit Clos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Petit Clos
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spot in delightful village”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed 2 nights May 2013. Very friendly pleasant hosts, gave us good information about best route to take for our sightseeing. Homemade breakfasts wonderful, homemade jams for croissants and bread, real Canadian Maple Syrup for French Toast, fruit. A great start to the day. Village is very pretty and close enough to tourist sights but far enough away to enjoy local countryside. Hotel itself is very comfortable, clean, bathrooms excellent. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keiry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
87
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed one night on our way back to UK. Were welcomed with a drink and then helped to find a good restaurant for the evening, unfortunately none available in the village that night. Our room was great with good sized bed, shower/bath and every attention to detail.The dogs were lovely too.Breakfast was perfect to set us off and it was nice to sit with the other guests and chat ( unfortunately our french wasn't good so all spoke English). We usually stay in an Ibis but would recommend this as alternative.

Room Tip: The bath/shower was a bit of a clamber so make sure to choose easier one if that is an issue for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Old60timer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Feliu de Guixols, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Excellent stay in very cold weather. A warm welcome from Rene, lovely room with excellent bed and bedding. Lots of hot water.
Good little bistro round the corner. Breakfast was a treat with wonderful French Toast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueSparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A big "Thank you" to Thierry and René. Welcoming drinks and snacks in the garden when we arrived. Recommendations for local restaurants. Lovely, clean and comfortable bedroom. Large and delicious breakfast. A great place to stay, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EVB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family and I stayed at Le Petit Clos on our way home for 1 night and were made to feel so welcome the minute we arrived. Thierry and René (and the 3 dogs) made us feel at home and welcomed us into their lovely garden for drinks and snacks. They took the time to translate various menus from local restaurants for us and made a reservation at the one we chose. We had two adjoining rooms which were both charming and had everything you could wish for. Breakfast the next morning was delightful. We sat at our own table in the garden and Thierry served us with the most delicious fruit salad, pastries, bread, homemade jams, coffee/tea and fruit juice and René's amazing french toast with maple syrup. I had read all of the reviews before booking and it really does live up to expectations and we would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We chose Le Petit Clos as a stop off on our way further South. We wanted a change from the standard Novotel/ Ibis type stop. This was our first venture into Chambres d'hote. We were greeted warmly by Rene and shown to our room. It was comfortable with a charm all of its own and an excellent, recently refurbished bathroom. We ate in the only restaurant in Chaumont which is only 100m away. It is mid priced and mid quality. We spent a quiet night and enjoyed an excellent breakfast before moving on South. Breakfast is taken at a large table but to call it 'refectory' is disingenuous. Rather it is a chance to chat with fellow travellers. The food was excellent with the bread, croissants etc freshly baked that morning by the proprietors. Parking is either at the rear in an enclosed area or outside the premises in a four space village car park. I would be amazed if security were an issue. Thiery made us a flask of excellent coffee for our journey. If you want the anonymity of a chain hotel fine, if you are prepared to take a chance on a bit more of a human experience use Le Petit Clos and you will probably not be disappointed. It probably would help if you don't mind dogs because Thiery and Rene have three charming King Charles' Spaniels

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKRSuttonColdfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We found this online and decided to break our trip south to Barcelona somewhere south of Orleans.

After a long drive from Calais we wound up the lovely country road through the woods and came across the village, which is picture postcard perfect, the hotel is just off the centre and Renne gave us a warm welcome.

As the car was full of luggage, 3 kids and a dog , he offered to let us park in the secure courtyard - although the public parking is quite safe and 5 metres from the hotel. Our room was for 5, 2 smaller rooms with doorway and was quaintly excellent.

Renne invited us into the garden for a complimetary drink where the kids and dog could unwind then booked the only local restaurant for us and other guests. We unwound after a long days travel, had an excellent dinner, and a walk around the village and the kids played in the park.

All slept well, a relfection of the setting, and breakfast at the large shared table was a great way to chat to the other guests - not for some, but great for us - and the french toast cooked fresh from the kitchen was the best ever.

A perfect place to stay for a relaxing break after a long day, made even more special by the hosts.

Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: Only five rooms so little choice, its not a 5 star hotel, so quaint and quirky is what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaumont-sur-Tharonne
2.9 mi away
Auberge du Cheval Blanc
Auberge du Cheval Blanc
#1 of 1 in Yvoy le Marron
117 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hostellerie du Chateau Les Muids
Hostellerie du Chateau Les Muids
#1 of 2 in La Ferte-Saint-Aubin
184 reviews
14.3 mi away
Domaine de Valaudran
Domaine de Valaudran
#1 of 5 in Salbris
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Empreinte Hotel
Empreinte Hotel
#1 of 31 in Orleans
378 reviews
14.2 mi away
Novotel Orleans La Source
1.3 mi away
Center Parcs les Hauts de Bruyeres
Center Parcs les Hauts de Bruyer...
#1 of 2 in Chaumont-sur-Tharonne
5,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Clos

Property: Le Petit Clos
Address: 6 rue de la Folie, 41600 Chaumont-sur-Tharonne, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Chaumont-sur-Tharonne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Chaumont-sur-Tharonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Petit Clos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Petit Clos France/Chaumont-Sur-Tharonne, Centre-Val De Loire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing