We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous value”

Auberge de la Pigouliere
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brynmawr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous value”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great little restaurant, book ahead as its very popular. Based on 2012 prices, you can get a 3 course set lunch for €13 each, not a huge range on the menu but well cooked and service was excellent, highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    38
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good traditonal fare”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Having read that the restaurant was always busy we were rather put off to find it empty and we were the only diners there that evening. The place has a very traditional /formal feel to it, having said that, the waitress in charge was very polite and helpful and the food was very good. I had a smoked salmon starter and then beef Stroganoff. My husband had Spanish style prawns ( not quite sure what the Spanish bit was) and then a prawn and chicken dish. We felt that wine was overpriced - 18e for a basic bottle of red, but the complimentary appetisers were lovely! I think we would have felt more relaxed and enjoyed it more if there had been other people there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Popocatepetl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Probably the best restaurant in the area.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Le Pouldu is a most beautiful part of the world. The dune topwalk is my favourite and not far from this restaurant which opens after 7 pm. It seems to be always well attended, invariably a good sign. It is probably the best restaurant in the area and a little more sophisticated than the others. It does not have a scenic view but is a good place to eat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“if you are in the area you must eat here”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

fantatic value 3 course meal with wine for 11 euros

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SEALINE-ANTARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of choice and the locals eat here”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This restaurant is just across the street from the hotel where we stayed. It always looked as if it was deserted but the night we ate there, there were several parties in and the service was still excellent. The wine choice is good and the vegetables very imaginative so that the main course has lots of different flavours that you could mix with each mouthful. There is a wide range of set price menus and a la carte as well. Children were well catered for provided they were well behaved and enjoyed there food. No hamburger and chips here.

It was a little more expensive than anticipated because the extras added up. Having said that, the dining experience was extremely pleasant and relaxed and the cooking excellent.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PippaTWellingborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge de la Pigouliere also viewed

Clohars-Carnoet, Finistere
Doelan, Finistere
 
Clohars-Carnoet, Finistere
Clohars-Carnoet, Finistere
 
Moelan sur Mer, Finistere
Clohars-Carnoet, Finistere
 

Been to Auberge de la Pigouliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing