We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Le Richebourg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Richebourg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vosne-Romanee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2010

a bit grey on the outside but excellent value on the inside.
No restaurant on sunday.
not many good restaurants open on sunday in Nuits Saint George

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 515 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2010

As we were getting towards the end of our time in France, we were keen to make the most of all that France does so well. A hotel on the edge of vineyards seemed a good idea and we were not disappointed. The restaurant served a wonderful meal with a great outlook. We enjoyed it and the wine so much, we unfortunately missed breakfast. A good nights sleep in a quiet location.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Have_Bag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We stayed the Le Richebourg for a night during easter for a stop over on a road trip from Northern Ireland to Switzerland. We wanted a break after about 5 hours driving from Calais, I like wine and am a wee bit of a francophile and Le Richebourg appeared to offer a good combination of location, it being close to the motorway, a great wine heritage and the simplicity of a modern hotel. I honestly believe that we chose very well and I would be happy to stay at Le Richebourg again.

The hotel is very modern, in stark contrast to the rest of the village of vosne romanee. We checked in easily and the english porter/barman (Andy) was very helpful and took our bags to our room on the second floor. The room was lovely, a large living area with a view that overlooked the gardens and vineyards behind the hotel. The bed was large and incredibly comfortable and the bathroom was very well appointed, the walk in shower was great and the towels, toiletries and bathrooms were of good quality. A nice touch was the separate wc, although it would have been nice to have a small hand basin in that room. The room was also equipped with a large flat screen tv with a range of channels.

We enquired about the restaurant and, as I had read on trip advisor, found that they did not serve food on a monday evening. They did suggest that they could make a reservation at a neighbouring restaurant - owned by the same people as Le Richebourg - and we agreed. So dinner was booked for us at La Petite Auberge and I will write a separate review for the restaurant, but the food was fantastic - I had snails and "trilogy of pig".

Before dinner we took a walk through the village to find the Romanee Conti vineyard. This walk of only 15 minutes was delightful taking us through the gold stoned village in the spring sun of the early evening. What did amuse/intrigue me was that Andy suggested that we take the walk, even though he had never walked up to it himself and then he gave us the wrong directions. This was one of the most interesting things about the hotel staff, not just Andy, for a hotel that is in one of the most important wine villages in France (the world?????) the staff appeared quite unkowledgeable about the wines or wine makes of the area. Indeed when we got back to the hotel and deceided to have a glass of wine in the bar they were only able to offer us two different red wines by the glass and neither came from Vosne Romanee. The next morning when I asked for a recommendation for a local wine maker for tasting and to buy half a dozen bottles it was suggested that we should go to the next village to a touristy wine museum. As it was we went back into the village and found an open wine cellar and very quickly ran away with the prerequisite wines. I didn't even get a tasting as we were obviously going to drive.

We didn't have breakfast and so I cannot comment on the food at the hotel at all.

My ambition, OK one of my ambitions, is to go back to Vosne Romanee with some friends, stay at Le Richebourg and take the time to enjoy walking through the village and going into the cellars and try the fantastic pinot noir wines that are made in this lovely village.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

....there was no phone number anywhere on the hotel's own website!

Sometimes I just want to talk direct to the hotel and find out about the availability of suites, occupancy levels of suites, availability of interconnecting rooms - especially relevent when travelling with young kids.

The abscence of a telephone number ANYWHERE on their website indicates either complete incompentence or a complete disregard for customer service.

Guess what? I've put my wallet away and will spend my hard earned money elsewhere.

Rant over!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonJohnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

To some this up in one sentence "Hotel great, restaurant/bar thoroughly average with not enough staff"

I'm a Brit who's lived in France for 10 years, we came over to Burgundy for an Easter family break and to find some wines to add to the collection. The hotel itself is very very good, the family suite good value for money for this area and certainly worth making this hotel your base if you are exploring the area. Unfortunately the restaurant didn't match up, understaffed and being a 4* hotel in the center of Burgundy the menu was void of some of the great 'recettes' of the region, and was a standard menu found in any good hotel anywhere in the world. The staff themselves were fantastic, but they are understaffed by at least 2 maybe 3 people for the bar and restaurant, and though I couldn't fault the staff in their manner and how they tried to make up the shortfall, it did end up giving overall slow service.

I would certainly use the hotel again, it's not somewhere to immerse yourselves into Burgundian culture, but would eat in Nuit St George, for example Cafe de Centre in the centre of town looks very rough n ready, but their cheap menu de jour served up far better local and better cooked cuisine than the hotel had to offer unfortunately, and you'll save yourself a packet to spend on more wine.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cuthbert01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Guided by the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, we booked this hotel for a stay on our way to Dijon, We got the junior suite and it's huge, clean and well-appointed. Location worked for us--we toured the Burgundy region for the three days we were there.
We planned to avoid the restaurant on the advice of the traveler from Germany, but icy rain and cold kept us in. What a great surprise! The food was some of the best of our trip. The service was a bit eccentric, but very good. We asked the waiter what was up with the bad reviews and were told that the former chef was let go about two months ago. The new chef makes his own sauces and keeps the menu simple and dishes beautifully seasoned.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JdeeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stayed there for one night and wished we could have booked another night, but they were full as it was a Saturday. The hotel is a true gem in the heart of beautiful Burgundy. It is completely updated, with a nice lobby and spacious rooms. The bathroom alone is worth staying there. It has a hug shower and double sinks with a separate toilet. The decor of the room is classic modern with air conditioning. We took advantage of the relaxing spa facilities. They have a somewhat small sauna/hot tub area. It gets crowded with more than 4 but if you get lucky you have the hot tub for yourself and can enjoy the starlights in the ceiling. Over all, this is one of the better places to stay in Burgundy (because there are a lot of dumps - such as the one we stayed in Beaune - called Hotel Bellevue, do NOT stay there!)
The only negative thing to say about Richebourg is their restaurant. It looked inivting to us so we had dinner there. But the quality of the food compared to their prices is not worth it. The service was poor (2 servers were "busy" with only 5 tables) and the food lacked flavor and excitement. We spent over EUR120 for two and we truly wished we went somewhere else. Otherwise, everything was great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GermanSFtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vosne-Romanee
1.6 mi away
Chateau de Gilly
Chateau de Gilly
#1 of 2 in Gilly-les-Citeaux
634 reviews
12.2 mi away
Vertigo Hotel & NUXE Spa
12.2 mi away
Hotel Oceania le Jura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25 mi away
Le Domaine des Pres Verts & Spa Vinesime
12.2 mi away
Grand Hotel La Cloche Dijon - MGallery Collection
10.8 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#3 of 62 in Beaune
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Richebourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Richebourg

Address: Ruelle du Pont | Vosne-Romanée, Côte-d’Or, 21700 Vosne-Romanee, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Vosne-Romanee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vosne-Romanee
Price Range: $128 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Richebourg 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Richebourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Richebourg Dijon
Le Richebourg Hotel Dijon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing