We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming, clean and reasonably priced, owner not so charming!”
Review of Hotel le Clos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel le Clos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here on the way home from Italy. It's a charming farmhouse which has been nicely renovated. We arrived without booking a room at around 6 pm and they had one double room (which was 2 single beds joined together) left but we needed a 'put up' bed for our 6 year old. However the owner told us that he couldn't give us one as he was on his own and she would have to sleep in our bed. I then asked if he could put out a bed whilst we were out having dinner and I would make it up on our return, as I realised that housekeeping had finished but he wasn't prepared to do that and told me that I should have booked in advance! Our daughter ended up sleeping in our bed, which wasn't ideal ! Breakfast was very nice and if the weather is nice, it is taken outside on the terrace. My husband especially liked the bread, however I also agree with another reviewer who mentioned that they were very frugal with the fruit platter. I really enjoy fresh fruit at breakfast but during my stay they literally cut 1 peach, 1 slice of melon which was cut into bite size pieces, 1/2 a banana and 1 kiwi on a small platter, which is barely enough for 1 person ! Considering fruit is fairly cheap in France it just seems a bit mean! Our room was large and very clean and the hotel was very quiet even though it was full. We went into Beaune during our stay which was very pretty and ate in a lovely restaurant called 'Le Gourmardin' which I would recommend. Apart from the unhelpful owner and lack of bed, it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaskiaSarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 333 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

If you plan to go there as a family and if you want value for money do not do so! The owner is very rude and unfriendly. Breakfast is being served very scarcely. There are 5 slices of MELON being served on the buffet at a time, and 5 mini croissants. They watch you take your food and only fill up the buffet every 20 minutes. It feels like eating with someone blowing air in your neck!!! This is NOT value for your money. Especially when you make a long trip you do need a nice and good breakfast without feeling guilty every time you serve yourself with food.... You are not allowed to eat or drink something in your room and this is not correct as the hotel does not have a restaurant. There is an unfriendly sign " do not picnic!" in the garden, and children cannot play in it. The rooms are very cold and unpersonal, it feels like staying in a museum. Definitely NOT a family hotel!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank belgium77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Montagny itself is without much interest but Le Clos, a B & B, has been delightfully converted from an old farmhouse with attention to detail however there was no shower screen. Good quality furniture and fittings, attractive rooms with comfortable beds and a delicious copious breakfast which can be taken out on the terrace in good weather. Very professionally run with pleasant, helpful staff. It is close to the lovely old villages of the Grand Cru wines in the hills behind Beaune.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are more expensive but all are attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeNW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I read with interest that the Hotel le Clos was recommended in the Sunday times on 24 June. We had a most enjoyable stay at this lovely elegant hotel set in a beautiful garden, just last week, where we had breakfast in the sunshine. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive and there was a terrific little restaurant just a stroll away. To be thoroughly recommended as a stopover or for a lovely peaceful base for touring the wonderful wine areas of Burgundy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have used this hotel a number of times since joining friends for breakfast. Beaune is roughly half-way to the South of France so a great place to break the journey and this hotel is just a few minutes off the motorway and yet is surprisingly quiet. The rooms are comfortable and I think it represents good value and the breakfast is very good. For dinner I reccommend La Garaudière in Levernois which is not far away but remember to book or you will be turned away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrickthehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We loved this boutique hotel, newly renovated, just outside of Beaune. The furnishings are top notch gorgeous while still retaining the feel for a country home or chalet. Our room, overlooking the back garden, was bright and airy with the typical French-style windows opening up to the garden. The linens were new and top notch and the bathroom, which included a large walk-in shower, sported fancy toiletries. We met the owners who were hospitable and warm. Our second day there we opted to some Belgian beers in the hotel's bar area overlooking the side garden/park. What a treat for the senses. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choices including fresh local fruits, breads, cheeses, jams, juice and, of course, great coffee. We spent 2 afternoons luxuriating in the hotel's side garden/park area replete with lounge chairs and cafe tables and chairs for sitting, picnicing, or just lounging around. You will need a car, as there is only 1 restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wetravellight11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

wonderful converted farmhouse. My room was large and quiet. The bathroom and shower were terrific. The bed was good, not great. (What can one expect for $130/night?)
Breakfast was terrific and overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: The owner was building a new room in a separate building in the courtyard. It will be a suite with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidw989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagny-les-Beaune
2.3 mi away
Abbaye de Maizieres
Abbaye de Maizieres
#17 of 62 in Beaune
400 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
890 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ermitage de Corton
Ermitage de Corton
#1 of 1 in Chorey Les Beaune
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
La Maison d'Olivier Leflaive
#2 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
344 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#4 of 62 in Beaune
681 reviews
5.5 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Clos

Address: 22 rue des Gravieres, 21200 Montagny-les-Beaune, Beaune, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Beaune > Montagny-les-Beaune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Montagny-les-Beaune
Price Range: $145 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Clos 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel le Clos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing