We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff and excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Moulin du Gastronome
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly staff and excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stopped over here on our way down to the south of france. Rooms were very simple, but a good size, had a comfortable bed and were clean. Had a lovely surprise with the food, it was excellent. They offer a variety of menus to suit all budgets, with plenty of added extras and a great selection of wine. To top it all the owners were really friendly and made you feel very welcome. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    40
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
43
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Piemonte
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Made this the first stopover on a three-day drive from NW Italy to Southampton. Found the hotel easily thanks to GPS - first signpost we saw was no more than 200m from the entrance. The room was comfortable and very quiet, and there is secure parking. My wife's diet excludes not only gluten but also rice, potatoes, and sugar; so finding menu items she could eat was a challenge. The hotel rose to it, but we found the food underseasoned, and quite expensive by Italian standards. I had a deep cut on my finger, and when I asked for a plaster the hotel not only re-dressed the wound but gave us a spare in case the first one fell off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed solo first time -this time with husband on way back to England with 2 Harley's (very safe parking). Wonderful food especially the lobster with monkfish. Charming staff make such a difference. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopsueyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here on our way back from Italy at the end of the summer 2012. The hotel was clean, simple and dog friendly. We had a very nice meal in the restaurant, the wine list if very good, and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank actisup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimaud, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Small reasonably priced hotel with nice garden for dog to play in and a small pool. We were stunned by the high quality of the food and the very helpful, english speaking, owner and her chef husband who deserves a Michellin star or two. Did not want to leave!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurence737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charnay-les-Macon
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel D'Europe Et D'Angleterre
4.0 mi away
Chateau de la Barge
Chateau de la Barge
#2 of 3 in Charnay-les-Macon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Macon Sud
Ibis Macon Sud
#1 of 3 in Creches-sur-Saone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#11 of 29 in Macon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
4.5 mi away
Novotel Macon Nord
Novotel Macon Nord
#7 of 29 in Macon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Macon Bord de Saone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin du Gastronome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin du Gastronome

Property: Le Moulin du Gastronome
Address: 540 route de Cluny, 71850 Charnay-les-Macon, Macon, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Macon > Charnay-les-Macon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charnay-les-Macon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Moulin du Gastronome 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Moulin du Gastronome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing