We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of luck?”

Hostellerie des Clos
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Chablis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $101
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“out of luck?”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Old fashioned food badly executed (half-cooked rabbit, foie gras bathing in dull gelly...)
The worst of pseudo French Cuisine pretending to be something it doesn't understand.

Been there a year before, I had a mcuh better experience. I hadn't noticed how the dining room looked like just out of a a mid-1980's B-serie movie, though (it's a shame, because the breakfast area is much nicer). But you can't forgive that when the food is not good anymore.

Very disappointing.

Still, great wine list obviously.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cba8048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    93
    44
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

spectacular lobster sauce was off the charts - and beef cooked to perfection (the region is famous for charolais - white cows)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank love_travelling69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent range of choice and quality cuisine.”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Gourmand menu was truly delicious. Wine list was probably the most extensive I have seen outside an international wine merchant's!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank mike0542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
358 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“A memorable evening!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

For some reason we'd never found our way to Chablis until this year, but we began to make up for the oversight in May. After a dinner and night's stay at L'Hostellerie des Clos we are already scheming about finding a way to return. The establishment is off in a quiet corner of Chablis, easily accessible from the Autoroute; our room was small but clean and comfortable, and looked out over the hotel's inner courtyard, where we had drinks the afternoon we arrived and then a really enjoyable breakfast the next morning. Parking was available behind the hotel, internet was fast and free, and the staff seemed genuinely happy we were there and could not have been more friendly.

But the star of the show is the restaurant, and we found it stunning. Best be prepared to spend some money, but you'll be glad you did. We had one of the middling-priced menus (by comparison to the other options, that is -- I think it was somewhere north of E60-, which for us is quite an outlay!) and were treated to six courses, plus various _entremets_ and other delights, over a two-hour sitting. The time went by quickly, however, because each dish was *superb*, modest in size without being tiny, and served with impeccable timing. The wine list featured quite a few easily-affordable bottles, including a local chablis (surprise!) that we loved, which turned out to be from the vintner next door (William Fevre, I believe). In fact it is easy to ease the financial impact of the menus *somewhat* by ordering a less-expensive wine, yet still have a really excellent bottle. Dinner featured lamb, shrimp, and other seafood, and when my wife asked to make a substitution on one course that was done cheerfully and with great results.

We were both struck by the fact that the kitchen did not seem hung up on culinary pyrotechnics -- no "tall food", no edible sculpture, no courses that left us asking "what was that?". Instead, the emphasis was just *really excellent food*, imaginatively done to be sure but with the main goal being to put a delicious dinner on the table. And they knocked the ball out of the park. Even after six courses and two hours, we left satisfied but not stuffed, and impressed by the way such a complex menu seemed to be produced and served almost effortlessly.

Chablis itself is a wonderful town -- if you can stay there for a market day (we scheduled our visit to coincide with the Sunday morning street market) you will really enjoy that. The market area is just a three or four minute level walk from L'Hostellerie, and featured a little bit of everything. We hope to return for several nights, and if we can, I think we could only do the full dinner experience at L'Hostellerie just once (but of course would *not* miss that!). Then we'd take advantage of the numerous other restaurants in the town, some of them quite inexpensive, do more touring of the surrounding region, and so forth. One review mentions that the hotel may be scheduled for renovation; if so, then a fine place will only get better...

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel and restaurant”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

A lovely hotel with a lot of parking space! The restaurant is also great -very beautiful and the food is delicious.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank nivov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostellerie des Clos also viewed

 
Chablis, Yonne
 

Been to Hostellerie des Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing