We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax”
Review of Hotel L'Hippocampe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel L'Hippocampe
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Found this at the last minute when approaching Carnac.Good room with terrace and a very pleasant owner who tolerated my poor French with good humor made our two night stay a good experience. Take a picnic to the Stones at Carnac and visit the beaches and Prehistory Museum.A worthwhile travel experience.Restaurant Hippocampe is excellent also.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Europhile26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Hotel L'Hippocampe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

our family stayed in a quad room for three nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel owner is truly unforgettable; gracious, helpful, welcoming and happy doesn't quite describe her. I think she is THE happiest person I have ever met. Hotel is clean, room was comfortable with a loft sleeping area (full height) for the kids and a terrace, pool very nice, restaurant on the property nice and breakfast served with joy (really) by our hostess.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer-c-d-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in May (low season) to explore Carnac, Quiberon, the Bay of Morbihan, etc. The place seems to be in the middle of nowhere but is actually very central and convenient.

The owner is very friendly and welcomed us warmly, she had many suggestions of places to visit and things to do.

The room we had was large, modern and very clean, with lots of light and a great balcony (where we had dinner a few nights). The newly renovated bathroom was especially nice. We paid for a double room, but it has a large mezzanine with 3 extra beds so the room can easily host a family.

The only downsides were the breakfast, which was ok but not great (and a bit pricey at 10€), and the wifi in common areas but not in the rooms.

Overall, a great value for the price we paid, and we would definitely recommend it and stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank am7885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

The Hotel Hippocampe is located about half-way between Carnac and Plouharnel, off the main road connecting the two towns. The turn for the hotel is clearly marked, so it is easy to find. There is plenty of free parking out front. The situation of the hotel is not particularly beautiful, but the owners have done a great job landscaping, and there are lots of beautiful plantings, plus a pool and an ample pool lounge area, so it ends up being very attractive. We were welcomed warmly and shown the room that was assigned to us (this custom of showing you your room ahead of moving in seems to have stuck in smaller hotels in the provinces). It was an attractive room on the south side of the building with a view of the pool, but it was very hot even in an afternoon of mid-September. Since there is no air conditioning, I requested a room on the shady side of the building and was instantly obliged. We had an ample, modern room, attractively furnished with a private terrace with a table, two chairs, and a lounge chair. The view wasn't great on the north side of the building, but it was fantastic to have this private outside space. I spent a happy afternoon sitting by the pool and would have gone in had it been heated, as advertised, but the water was very cool. We walked the few steps to the restaurant, in a separate building. It had maybe a dozen tables, was pleasantly decorated. That night we were the only clients so had the full attention of the owner. We had oysters grown by the father of the hotel owner--delicious--and an excellent three-course meal with very good wines, plus a view of the full moon out the window. Breakfast was fine. This restful, pleasant hotel would be a good stopping place to visit the Quiberon peninsula and the megaliths in Carnac and Locmariaquer, but it is isolated. No shops or other restaurants nearby. However, I would happily return there for the comfortable accomodations, friendly reception, and good food.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed here in August with our baby. The lady manger (owener) went out of her way to make us feel comfortable and happy. For the duration of our stay she lent us her kettle and each morning she would come over and play with our baby so we could enjoy a relaxing cup of coffee over breakfast. The hotel and pool was very clean. Rooms basic but very clean and comfortable. We had a bath, shower, TV and terrace with sun lounges and tabel etc. Had a lovely meal at the restaurant next door - 3 courses for 3 different prices. The staff make this hotel, the manager (owner) is a delightful lady who will go out of her way to help you enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johannadavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

The owners were lovely and friendly and the room was spacious and clean. The pool was wonderful and really well looked after gardens.

Only drawbacks were :
No fridge in room and location a way from shops meant it was difficult to have a cold drink without spending a fortune.
Also breakfast at 10 Euro per person was an expensive option with a 4 and 6 year old.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisatrenoweth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

The owners of this hotel could not do enough for us, we spent a month in Europe, and this was the best hotel experience we had - the first time i have posted on trip advisor, we were so impressed that we would love to see this hotel do well. The room we had was great for a family and we were two adults, two teenagers and a six year old - a lovely balcony, clean pool, copious breakfast - and Madam actually brought breakfast to our room on a tray because she didn't want us to miss it the first morning, after a late arrival! If you are staying in this area, don't hesitate to book this hotel for value and personal care!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boudinblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plouharnel
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Carnac Lodge & Hotel
Carnac Lodge & Hotel
#1 of 1 in Plouharnel
271 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carnac Thalasso & Spa Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lann-Roz
Hotel Lann-Roz
#7 of 15 in Carnac
117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tumulus
Hotel Tumulus
#1 of 15 in Carnac
352 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Le Churchill
Hotel Le Churchill
#4 of 15 in Carnac
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Hippocampe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Hippocampe

Address: route de Carnac - Kerhueno, 56340 Plouharnel, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Plouharnel
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Plouharnel
Price Range: $67 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel L'Hippocampe 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel L'Hippocampe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Hippocampe Plouharnel, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing