We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a simple low budget room with excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Saint-Contest
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the service and room comfort. Room is efficiently laid out so that it very practical. The staff is very friendly and the wifi is very good as it should be. Really a good value for the price. Breakfast is good for the price you pay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 367 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

My first stay with this chain and I was pleasantly surprised. Austere, but I was on a tight budget and was not willing to pay for frills. Room was small but efficient and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Microwave in lobby allowed me to heat water for tea. Next door to a grocery store so I walked next door to get food so we could pack a lunch and snacks for our travels. We wanted to visit all 5 invasion beaches and it was easy to get to them from this location. Booking online from the US was easy. Parking is easy and free. One of the best values I have had traveling in a long time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is well located close to the main town. Easily accessable on a through route. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable for this level of budget hotel. Booking on line is easy and straightforward.
Very good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank martinobrien154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Taking into account the expectation that I had before coming, knowing the accorhotels lines, everything was as expected. The price / comfort ratio is very good, as well as the breakfast. I have nothing to complain.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank RazvanTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

OK, It's a budget hotel, so you expect a budget experience. The hotel is self-service, so make sure you have your reservation number with you. Car parking is on site and free, and you're within 100m of a fuel station and within 2km of the city centre of Caen. The "Memorial Caen" is nearby and there is bus service right outside the Memorial - about a 10 minute brisk walk away.

The hotel has been recently refurbished, so the rooms are decorated in the now familiar green. The bed is comfy and pillows fresh. The bathroom is in a corner, and probably needs ripping out, as it's clear it's a little dated. All the fittings in the bathroom were plastic, and the shower space was about half the size I've come to expect from the old étap brand.

The hotel is right on the edge of the Périphérique of Caen, so there is a bit of traffic noise, and the walls don't insulate this well. Good idea to ask for a room at the right hand side of the hotel away from this. The hotel seemed a little underused (I think I counted 3 other cars in the car park).

All in all - a pretty decent hotel and getting what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielH984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Next door talked loudly late at night for some time. They had their window one and smoked many cigarettes. Even though our windows was shut the smell of cigarettes was obvious. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rlmorris45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

First time we have stayed here but have used there hotels in other regions. Used room with my wife as a base stop for four nights whilst visiting Normandy beaches on our motorbikes. Rooms are small but big enough for our needs. Clean and tidy with fresh towels daily. Hotel is cheep but very good value of money. We will be using it again. very plesent stay with resturants and shop facilites on the door stop.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank waders8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Contest
0.3 mi away
Premiere Classe Caen Nord - Memorial
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Caen Memorial
B&B Hotel Caen Memorial
#4 of 6 in Saint-Contest
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balladins Caen Memorial
Hotel Balladins Caen Memorial
#3 of 6 in Saint-Contest
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Crocus
Hotel Crocus
#27 of 40 in Caen
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ace Hotel Caen Nord MeMorial
Ace Hotel Caen Nord MeMorial
#1 of 6 in Saint-Contest
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel hotelF1 Caen Nord Memorial
Hotel hotelF1 Caen Nord Memorial
#1 of 1 in Saint-Contest
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial

Address: rue du clos Barbey, 14280 Saint-Contest, France (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Saint-Contest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Saint-Contest
Price Range: $41 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Accorhotels.com so you can book your Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial Normandy/Saint-Contest, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing