We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel of its type”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Contest
Rouillac, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good hotel of its type”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel booked for one night via the internet with no problems. Arrived on a Sunday night at 2200 in January to be faced with a closed car park barrier. Assumed that the reservation code would open it , but no. Had to go to the external checkin machine and get the room code which opened the barrier. The room was fine, modern, clean and tidy. We tried the Ibis because of the rooms having private facilities (shower/toilet). Although the shower is a bit small it was not a problem at all for me (6ft plus) and worked very well. Our room apparently faced the Caen Periferique and there was some road noise but we did have the window ajar. It wasn’t a problem. Internet access was free and easy and a good connection. Breakfast was taken in the foyer area as is usual in these types of hotels. The range of breads, cereals and drinks was very good. We would recommend and use the Ibis Caen Nord Memorial again.

Room Tip: You dont have a choice unless you call the hotel. The hotel is on three floors so mobility impaired...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdn1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    151
    94
    29
    15
See reviews for
99
139
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Donington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent accommodation. Very clean and crisp white linen on the bed and possible to open the window at night with a secure lock.
Most helpful receptionist who went the extra mile to please. Always had a smile on her face and also spoke some English.
Good breakfast. Vending machines for food and drinks including coffee and hot chocolate. Free use of microwave too. Excellent parking which was secure at night.
Next to a large Carrefour supermarket.
We will definitely return there on our next visit to Caen. We would also recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank HuntersonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

The shower was too small for me. ALSO why shape the rooms like you did, it made them appear small... TIM.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmmplymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Access to the hotel not clearly signed. No gates locking the car park at night. Difficult entry through main door unclear which code to use to get in and badly signed door entry control. Room was musty, not properly aired. The bunk bed was not made up. There were many ladybirds (coccinelles) all over the ceiling - at least ten. The switch controlling the light in the bathroom is inconveniently placed (why not have an automatic light). The ventilator fan when activated was noisy. The ladder to the bunk bed when swung into place for access was noisy. The room electronic lock was not functioning and had to be accessed with a key. The decor was very tired looking. There were only two towels provided when the room was booked for 3 adults.

It was convenient for access to the peripherique and handy for our visit to the CHU.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Contest hotels

North East
Level Contributor
289 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Etap is real bargain basement, but it was clean, reasonably comfortable, and absolutely fine for an overnighter.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthEastMe999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

The only reason we stayed at this hotel was it belonging to a chain. We felt it it would be equal to a travel lodge. How wrong we were. The auto check in worked event though there was a member of staff behind the reception desk. The door handle to one of our room was loose but we got in first time. On return to the hotel after a meal in the town centre (3 miles away) we could not open the security gate with our room code. There was no one in reception to help.
After following another guest in to the car park we then could not open one of the rooms. After ringing the emergency button the lady from the reception desk appeared from a door by the reception desk ( why did she not come out when we shouted for help when we could not get in the car park).
Our room was by the wooden stair case which with the thin walls did not give us a good night sleep!! The beds were old and hard. As usual only one pillow and old fixtures and fittings made the stay poor.
I will not use Etap in France again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coxy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Contest
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Caen Memorial
B&B Hotel Caen Memorial
#3 of 5 in Saint-Contest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premiere Classe Caen Nord - Memorial
0.3 mi away
Ace Hotel Caen Nord MeMorial
Ace Hotel Caen Nord MeMorial
#2 of 5 in Saint-Contest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inter-hotel Otelinn
Inter-hotel Otelinn
#19 of 41 in Caen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fasthotel Caen Memorial
Fasthotel Caen Memorial
#5 of 5 in Saint-Contest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brit Hotel Caen Nord - Memorial
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial

Property: Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial
Address: rue du clos Barbey, 14280 Saint-Contest, France (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Saint-Contest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Saint-Contest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Caen Nord Memorial Normandy/Saint-Contest, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing