We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fregate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel La Fregate to your Saves list
Hotel La Fregate
32-34 avenue de l'Ocean | 33970 Cap Ferret, 33970 Cap-Ferret, Lege-Cap-Ferret, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cap-Ferret
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Having driven for a couple of hours down to Cap Ferret we were seeking a suitable venue for an overnight stay. The first two establishments we called at had no vacancies (one of them was not actually very appealing!). Fortunately we called at La Fregate and they were able to offer us a room. The location couldn't be better as it was handy for shops , restaurants and the Port. The room was basic and straight forward and breakfast was more than adequate. The hotel also has a pool area which was perfect for chilling out round.The beach is not far away either. A perfect spot for a short stay at the beautiful Cap Ferret.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at this perfectly located hotel for 4 nights in April and July. The best thing about the hotel is by far its location which is close to shops, the market, the beach and the Port. I wouldnt stay here is you are looking for a hotel to hang-out in but if you are looking for a good family location where you can base yourself over summer, this is the perfect spot. And most importantly, it's immaculately clean!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wroughton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed in Hotel La Fregate for 3 nights. It was not bad, but not great either.

Location wise, La Fregate is very convenient, only 15 minutes walk from the beach, and 5 minutes walk to the ferry pier, seafood restaurants, grocery store and some shops. The room was simple and basic, breakfast was fine but nothing interesting. We were surprised that housekeeping was always done during the time we had our breakfast. That was unbelievably quick. They've made the bed, changed the towels, tidied the bathroom, however never once did they clean the floor, so it was always sandy, and the garbage bin underneath the table was never emptied.

It's definitely not good value of money, but I supposed this is what people are expected to pay and get at cap-ferret in high season.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yvonne_Hoschopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

La Fregate is a very good place to stay in Cap Ferret. We stayed in the apartment room 33 with kitchen and it was great to be able to buy our own groceries and cook. Hotel had very odd pool hours and internet was spotty, but otherwise very good experience. Make sure to get a room with kitchen and cook for yourself! Food in Cap Ferret is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olavito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

A friend and I traveled to Cap-Ferret for a wedding, and we stayed at Hotel La Fregate from 9/3/08 through 9/7/08. When we initially checked in we were given a room with one double bed. The room was very small, and we barely had room to fit all of our luggage.

The next morning, we were able to move to a slightly larger room, with 2 twin beds. The furnishings were simple, and had a beachy feel. I would not call this a luxury hotel, but it was clean and comfortable. Also, the staff was very helpful and the breakfast was good. The hotel is located a short walk from the ferry, numerous cafes, and the Atlantic ocean.

The only complaint that I had is that the part of the hotel where our room was located was noisy in the morning. We heard other guests opening / closing their doors, which sounded like doors slamming.

I would definitely stay at Hotel La Fregate again, but I would book a deluxe room

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLTraveler1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

this is a fab hotel we have been going there on and off for many years now and it changed owners about 4 yrs ago. gradually being modernised though all rooms offer very comfortable accomodation. it is well placed for the bassin and the ocean and is in close proximity to local restaurants and shops. if you stay here you must have a bike there are fab cycle routes through the pine forrests along the coast and in land to bordeaux. the whole place is very french.. not sure they always appreciate the English contingent but the hotel is quietly friendly. we stayed in 1 of 2 appartments within the hotel as we are a family of 5. this gives you more space and a kitchen/ washing machine,

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank cambridgebadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bois Colombes, France
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2003

Le Cap Ferret is a great family-friendly location to go, only about 70 km from Bordeaux! We´ve stayed there 4 nights in late June '03 and had a very good time at the Fregate, a nice 2-star hotel run by a family. The hotel is 700 meters from the ocean and 400 meters to the bassin d'Arcachon. Our room was one of the cheapest within the hotel (58 EUR plus city tax, breakfast excluded), with simple comfort but it had everything we needed. Everything was spotless. The hotel has a nice swimming pool, which is a great plus.

Helpful?
17 Thank Hotelmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cap-Ferret
3.6 mi away
Hotel des Dunes
Hotel des Dunes
#1 of 4 in Cap-Ferret
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Domaine Du Ferret Balneo & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Cap
Hotel du Cap
#4 of 9 in Lege-Cap-Ferret
4.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Maison du Bassin
La Maison du Bassin
#3 of 4 in Cap-Ferret
3.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cote Sable
Hotel Cote Sable
#6 of 9 in Lege-Cap-Ferret
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
Hotel Le B d'Arcachon
#1 of 31 in Arcachon
4.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fregate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fregate

Address: 32-34 avenue de l'Ocean | 33970 Cap Ferret, 33970 Cap-Ferret, Lege-Cap-Ferret, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Lege-Cap-Ferret > Cap-Ferret
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cap-Ferret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Fregate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#